Comfortable for 1 or 2 people, short or long stay.Dream destinations!
Comfortable Bedroom in Observatory - 1 or 2 people

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our high-ceiling bedroom in the trendy Observatory neighborhood in Cape Town has wooden floors and is very cosy and comfortable. You have access to the kitchen and dining room which lead out onto a leafy courtyard. There is a brick barbeque (braai) and a view of Devil's Peak, and the side of Table Mountain. Wifi and laundry included. Meals can be arranged at an additional fee. There are also many restaurants, bars and entertainment within a few minutes from our home. Very safe and secure.

The space

The bedroom is most comfortable for 1 person who wishes to stay short or long term and best for accommodating 2 people for shorter stays. There is a queen-sized bed with a firm orthopedic mattress for individuals weighing up to 150 kg. You will share our recently renovated home, including the spacious bathroom, with two professional people. The bathroom has a bath and big double shower with hand shower. There are many windows looking out to the blue skies outside, trees and leafy hedge.

Our home is clean and neat and our domestic lady, Monica is very reliable, trustworthy and thorough. We will gladly do reasonable amounts of washing and ironing, included in the price. For longer stays a housekeeping fee will be charged. Please request a safe for locking away valuables should you need one.

We can discuss food sharing, contributions, cooking and arrangements upon your arrival.

Guest access

All rooms except the office and our bedroom.

Interaction with guests

We are available at any time. Please feel free chat to us about anything. We love people so often invite our guests to share a meal.

Other things to note

We have 3 cats. Please note this is a smoking house. We make fires in summer and winter to cook food on or to warm the house :-)
There are CCTV cameras outside our house and security fencing. The house is very safe and the CCTV is non-intrusive. We are signed up with an armed response security company (ADT) that monitors the house alarm and will respond in case of emergency. For the duration of your stay, you will be supplied with a set of keys and a panic button.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 4PM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Free parking on premise
Smoking Allowed
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people £17 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £6
Security Deposit £144
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

No official rules. We believe in mutual respect and consideration. The only thing we ask, because we are sharing a space, is that you leave an area clean after use.


Cancellations

Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

13 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kate User Profile
March 2017
I stayed at Alison's for a month, while setting into the city for research. The house is wonderful, the room comfortable, and the hosts (including three adorable cats) are attentive and hospitable. Alison and Lenita are very kind and friendly, welcoming you into their home, and taking the time to get to know you. We had a few dinners together, and regularly caught up over coffee or a glass of wine. Likewise, the neighbourhood is very nice and close to Observatory's shops and restaurants, the park along the Liesbeek, and Observatory swimming pool. It's easy to get around too - you can walk during the day, but the train, taxis, and Uber are also easily accessible. Highly recommend if you're looking for a home away from home. Thanks both!

Sheu User Profile
February 2017
Alison and Lenita are awesome hosts! After having spent a week at their home, I extended my stay again! They are very communicative, always fun to chat with, give lots of advice and made me fe really at home after having moved to CPT for work! Having been the first time I ever came to CPT, they certainly helped me adjust! I'm really glad I stayed with them and will definitely book again!

Sheu User Profile
February 2017
Alison and Lenita were amazing hosts! Always there, very communicative, showed me around, full of advice and awesome conversations. The room was great, the food was amazing and our outing was super! I felt at home, even though I just moved to Cape Town to start a new job. They were both very supportive towards me and the new pressures from my new workplace. They were basically family I met only now that I moved to Cape Town. Although I am getting my apartment now, I will still book just to join them for some time again. Thank you so much for everything! You guys rock!

Stephan User Profile
January 2017
Great host! Friendly lady. Comfy stay. Loved the food.

Caroline User Profile
January 2017
Would give more than five stars! The house is very cozy. It has a large guest room and a spacious bathroom. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and there is a small garden with a BBQ place. There is a lively area nearby where you can grab something to eat (5 minutes by car). Despite having cats their house is very clean. Alison and Lenita are the most wonderful hosts we have had the pleasure to stay with so far. When we stayed over New Years Eve they were quick to invite us to their party which was such an amazing experience. Their steaks are nothing short of mouth-watering and extremely delicious. Coming home after a long day of sightseeing and having a beer (or tea :)) with them is a relaxing and fun way to end the evening. You can reach most of town easily. Uber works very reliably and the red hop-on-hop-off buses are worth using of you want to get around the different sights easily (you can also get a ticket for tabletop mountain at the bus office for the same price as at the cable car station, saving yourself one queue).

Karl User Profile
December 2016
A stylish and comfortable room in a peaceful area

Roger User Profile
October 2016
I only spent one night with Alison, but was made to feel very welcome. Alison was very quick to reply to communication from me and her house is in a nice quiet neighborhood. The room was clean and homely. I was even lucky enough to be treated to a delicious home cooked meal and glass of wine shortly after my arrival! I would definitely recommend Alison's house to any other travellers to Cape Town.

Cape Town, South AfricaJoined in December 2015
Alison User Profile

We are a laid back couple who would like to welcome you into our home, which we share with 3 beautiful and well-loved cats. Coffee is at the top of the drinks menu and you'll be sharing in the joy first thing every morning. Cooking is one of our pleasures with pickings from our mini herb garden and organic veggies from our favourite grocer. We often start a fire for a braai in the middle of the week, weather permitting. One of our regular outings is a drive to Kalk Bay harbour for fresh wild caught fish. Sushi is another favourite which we order in at least twice a month.

We love traveling but we love our country too so we mostly plan trips within SA. We'll have lots of tips and recommendations for you as well as a slideshow if you like. Photography is Lenita's great passion and part-time income from Weddings, product shoots, etc.

Please note that we are smokers. We occasionally invite friends over for a dinner or birthday party and/or a few drinks. We love music and hope you do too!

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings