A 2-years old IKEA full size bed for 1-2 guests.Good privacy - door has lock.
Nice Private-Room 1Bed-Apt @ Columbia University!
Nice Private-Room 1Bed-Apt @ Columbia University!
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Hello everyone! I offer you a nice, very clean and comfortable private room in a 1bed-1bath apartment @Columbia University (1 block away!). You will have the bedroom and I sleep in the living room. A clean bathroom is shared between you and me! Very safe and quiet neighborhood in the Morningside Heights. Convenient location - numerous restaurants, bars, groceries, shops and supermarkets nearby. Easy access to public transportation (#1 subway @ 110th/Cathedral Parkway). Meet you guys very soon!

The space

The apt has a huge living room with a super high ceiling and a full-size kitchen for regular cooking and dining. The smaller bedroom will be your private room. There is a bathroom with toilet in the apt that will be shared between you and me. I am at home that much due to my busy work schedule, so the apt will be yours for most of the time.

The private room has a full-size bed with a good and comfy IKEA mattress that will be good for a person or two. There is also a desk and office chair in the room that will allow you to work or study during your trip. I provide clean towels, water and snacks for all my guests without extra charge. The private room also has a TV with several TV channels including ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC. Both rooms in the apt are equipped with a window AC system. Feel free to use the AC at your own convenience (please make sure to turn the AC off when you leave the apt for a long time). In winter, the heater works really well so it is super warm in the apt (sometimes it is too warm so I leave the windows open a bit).

Guest access

I'm available to check you in (in person or self-check-in) anytime after 2:00 PM. My place is usually booked every day so I need to clean up the private room after guests leave, before I can let you checking-in.

You are also welcome to drop off your bag in the morning (9 AM-) when you arrive before 2:00 pm. Also, I'm always cool with guests keeping their luggage in the apt after they have checked-out (check-out is 12pm / noon). Please note that I will not be responsible for any loss or damage to your luggage.

The neighborhood is usually very friendly and calm. Exceptions are Game Days (Columbia Football) or when fraternity or sorority houses in the neighborhood have a party during the weekend.

Interaction with guests

I am rarely at home due to my busy work schedule. You can contact me anytime on my cell or email for assistance or concerns.

When you prefer to meet me at check-in: I'll meet you in person in the apt and walk you through the apt while pointing out a few things that might be useful for your stay. I'll also give you your own set of keys.

Other things to note

You can email, text or call me anytime if you need anything during the day. I'm very responsive to all contacts during the day (and also at night ~12 AM). I'll be right there to help you, as I'm at work near the apt (~ 5 min walk) during the day/night.

Also, I come back very late from work (after midnight) and wake up for work quite late (8 - 9 AM). If you are a morning person you might find me sleeping in the living room. I don't mind if you have started doing 'things' in the living room/kitchen.

In addition, I really don't mind if you come home later than I do. I have a deep sleep. Feel free to come back or leave the apt anytime you want!


Amenities
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

1) Please no loud music/conversation at night (11:00 pm - 8:00 am).
2) Please clean after yourself.
3) Please no outdoor shoes inside the apt (I have slippers/flip-flops).
4) Please turn off lights when you leave the apt or go to bed.
5) Please lock the apt door when you enter or leave the apt.
6) Please no parties and illegal activities!
7) Please treat the apartment as it would be yours, use common sense.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - A quick climb from street level to first floor. My apt is located on the first floor.
Some spaces are shared - toilet, bath and kitchen.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

119 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kristin User Profile
October 2017
Great location, super convenient to Columbia, and for a Columbia parent! No hassle, can come and go, John makes the stay super easy. Very genial host. Guest stay in the bedroom, John stays in the living space, which includes the kitchen. Some may find this arrangement not the most comfortable, as you have to pass this room to get to the bathroom, but was not an issue for me. Provides toiletries, if you forget. One block from Columbia.

Nanju User Profile
October 2017
We are glad for his hospitality and generosity. He did not only regard of our comfort in his home but also out of home such as convenience public transportation or good restaurant while we were staying in New York. We appreciate all he has done.

Natasha User Profile
September 2017
John was a great host and very friendly. Though we came in early on our check in date and left pretty early on our check out date, John was very considerate about our timings and we had no problems coordinating with him. The house was neat and well organized with towels and cold water provided to us.

Thanakrit User Profile
September 2017
John is a super good man. He will give a bedroom for us so he sleeps in livingroom. He go to work in the morning and come back from work so late(2-3AM) so it is so private. the laundry is outside and he takes my clothes to go to the laundry. Those are reasons why he is a good host.

Isaac User Profile
September 2017
John is a wonderful host. His place is very clean and the check in process and communication is outstanding. The apartment is practically around the corner from Columbia University and within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and coffee shops on Broadway. John is by far on of the best hosts I've ever encountered. I highly recommend his place as I will definitely stay there again in the future.

Alyssa User Profile
September 2017
We stayed for two nights at John's place, it was as expected and also very clean! It is a great spot to stay in if you want to see Columbia and NYC.

Qiuran User Profile
September 2017
It's our third time to live at John's place. John is definitely an awesome host and trustworthy friend. If you are looking for a place close to CU, safe, clean and quite, you must choose his place. If I still have chance to explore the city, I would 100% come back!

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in November 2015
John User ProfileJohn is a superhost.

Hello everyone!

I'm John, a postdoctoral research scientist (a chemist on training to become a faculty member after finishing 6-years graduate school at Kansas State Univ.) at Columbia University. I love doing research/experiments in the labs but also enjoy doing sports (go to gym, running and cycling), watching movies and TV shows (Games of Thrones, Breaking Bad and Walking Dead), exploring the new places/cities/food and spending time with friends but in particular with my wife Hannah and our little daughter Hayden. Unfortunately, my family cannot be in NYC with me (due to work conflicts) but luckily we have facetime so we I get to see each other every day on the phone :).

Before moving to NYC, I've been living in Kansas (KS) for over 6 years so I still call KS 'home' because I like the people there and also the endless Kansan prairie (very good for long walks/hikes). But actually, my other 'home' is in Germany where I grew up after emigrating to GER from Vietnam when I was 7 years old. My friends told me that I am a world traveler and this is maybe true. I hope that I can stay in NYC for a while before I have to move again^^.

After 6 months of hosting at Airbnd, my experiences have been awesome so far. I've met so many wonderful individuals from the US and abroad. It was very fun talking to them, cooking and sharing foods, a drink or a nice story. All of my guests have been awesome so far. I'm very looking forward to meeting many of you in the near future!

Cheers!

John

Languages: Deutsch, English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings