View of garden and area from the top bedroomThe local farmers market on a Sunday
Summer in the city-park,pool,garden!
Hosted by Flora
Flora is the host.
6 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Great comfy house within easy reach of town - 30 mins door to Oxford Street, yet with beautiful park on doorstep and wonderful swimming pool 351 steps away!!!!!
Come and enjoy!

The space

A beautiful family home. 3 minutes to the park and 30 minutes to the centre of London.

A comfortable base where you might not need to go as far as you thought. Beautiful things right on the doorstep. With train, tube or bus to central London.

Great family house in great area of London. The park and the Lido are just round the corner, incredible markets and shops close by, and Tube or Train 15 mins into central London. Big eat in kitchen, 3 bedrooms and one comfortable and easy to use double sofa bed in sittingroom, 3 bathrooms, garden to sit out in.

The house has a well equipped kitchen and larder as we are both keen cooks, and a big selection of recipe books should you not be dining in town (recommendations available!). The adjoined dining room has a table that can seat eight comfortably. Its a sunny room for breakfast or great to cosy up in front of the fire in the evening. There is a stereo in here and radios around the house.
The sitting room TV has all the usual channels, watch again facility, and DVD player. There is wireless broadband throughout the house.
The bedrooms are as follows:
- cosy master bedroom with large comfy double bed. This room overlooks the cherry tree in the road.
-2 kids rooms - one with adult size comfy single bed, one with top bunk bed and pull out futon sleeper below (very well equipped with books, toys, and art stuff for boys and girls, mainly 9 year olds, travel cot and chair available).
-1 double sofa bed in sittingroom - this is top of the range, designed to be used often and is very easy to set up and put away.
All the beds have duvets and a mixture of feather or foam pillows, and there is spare linen/ blankets/ hot water bottles/ electric blanket available.
The master bathroom is really spacious and you can choose between a bath with a view or a large power shower. There are lots of spare towels in the large airing cupboard in here. There are other toilets on each floor. There is a Medicine cabinet in here too with all the usual stuff you might need.

There is a separate utility room with washing machine and a good space to store extra boots/ coats etc. The garden and garage have many ball games and there are 4 bikes (2 adults, 2x6 year old, with locks, helmets, lights).
Our car is parked on the road outside - if we have not taken it with us you would be welcome to use it. Should you want to bring your own car we can arrange parking permits (about £20 for a week).

Whole house and garden.

We will not be present but will be contactable and have local people who can help with anything if needed.

Our house is a beautiful 3 storey Victorian building that we have recently turned into a comfortable family home.
It is in a fantastic spot because.....:
- its really easy to get into all parts of central London on Tube or Overland (e.g.30 mins door to Oxford Circus or to Tate Modern on the South Bank)
- we are 10 mins walk to Brixton for great restaurants in Brixton Village - the new and eclectic part of the market, cafes, cinema, clubs and music.
- the more tranquil life of Herne Hill is on your door step with Brockwell Park to stroll in and view London from the top of the hill, state of the art new huge playground, the Lido for outdoor swimming and fantastic cafe overlooking the water, tennis courts, BMX bike track, Sunday farmers market, independent book shops - one recently won Best Bookshop for Children in London, great bakery, and more.

Brilliant connections for the centre of town!
Brixton Tube station 10 minutes walk.
Bus stop 3 minutes.
Brixton overland trains 10 minutes
Herne Hill overland trains 5 minutes

Guest access

Pretty much everywhere!

Interaction with guests

Always available promptly when needed and have family nearby who can help too.


Amenities
Cable TV
TV

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £60
Security Deposit £250
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Self check-in with lockbox

As you would it your own home.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

17 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lorraine User Profile
August 2016
Beautiful and eclectic family home in peaceful Herne Hill with great transport links to central London and beyond, and a short walk from Brockwell Park & Lido. Flora was the perfect host, with nothing too much trouble, and her home spotless and inspirational.
Flora User Profile
Response from Flora:
Congratulations! What a pleasure it was to host such perfect guests for such a special occasion and to come home to a little bit of wedding magic hung on our front door. All very best
August 2016

Gonzalo User Profile
August 2015
Great host and beautiful home. Flora was very helpful and communicative at all stages. I attended a wedding in Brixton and the house was perfectly located for the occasion. I would definitely stay there again.

Tony User Profile
August 2014
Fantastic qwerky house that was perfect for our stay in London. Great location next to Brockwell park where we went for a picnic. Easy to walk into vibrant Brixton and to get into the heart of London. Easy to find and Flora was very helpful and easy to deal with. Very quick at answering all our questions. Thank you.

Hollie User Profile
May 2014
My super last minute booking with Flora was great. She replied quickly and was really friendly. When we arrived everything was easy to follow. The house is lovely (and clean), as you can see from the photos. Some great retro features and fab decor. Flora left us some fresh bread, jam and marmite (for the adventurous). I wanted to show some of my extended family, who were visiting from South Korea for the first time, what it is like to live in England. Flora's house has some great homely charm, and gave them all a great experience (One person was so happy she literally jumped up and down). Flora was kind enough to grant my telephone request and let us leave our luggage in the house until later on the check out day. THANK YOU Flora, and your family, for letting us stay in your lovely home! I definitely recommend you and your place.

Alex User Profile
August 2017
We had an amazing 2 weeks at Flora's lovely house in Herne Hill/Brixton. The house itself is vey spacious and we were happy to see some toys had been provided for our kids (3 and 5) who really enjoyed the bedroom and bunk bed. All rooms very well provided for, TV with Netflix's for rainy nights on the sofa, well equipped kitchen for family meals, lovely garden for sunny breakfasts etc. The area is one of our favourite in London. You have Brixton and it's amazing range of places to eat down the road, charming Herne Hill the other way and Brockwell Park with the lido, great children's playground and lovely walled garden just round the corner. Very quiet street. Easy transport to London from multiple trains and tube lines plus buses. I would thoroughly recommend this house to anyone who wants to spend some time in London, especially those with families. Will definitely consider this place next time I am in town.

Daryl User Profile
April 2017
Flora's house was the perfect base for our family visit to London. Poet's Corner is an amazing part of London, with gorgeous Brockwell Park a 5-minute walk away, featuring an amazing playground and historic Lido. Florence's house is large and cozy, and we felt right at home making family dinner in their well-equipped kitchen. She was a thoughtful host who was quick to reply to any queries and generous about offering advice about the local area. This was comparatively great value for money, and I would highly recommend this spot for families visiting SW London.
Flora User Profile
Response from Flora:
Thank you for lovely review. Good luck with move. Really hope to meet you when you are settled in.
April 2017

Emma User Profile
August 2016
We loved staying in this house as it has such an individual style and great spaces for socialising. The house was very clean when we arrived and the garden had been newly landscaped, which was a nice surprise. The area is fantastic as you are walking distance to Brixton, Brockwell Park and Herne Hill. You can see The Gherkin and The Shard from the park but the area has the feel of a village. Thank you Flora for a wonderful stay in your home.
Flora User Profile
Response from Flora:
Thanks Emma - (sorry, just saw this!). Glad you enjoyed your holiday and thanks for watering the garden.
August 2016

London, United KingdomJoined in June 2012
Flora User Profile

We are from South East London, we are a family of 4.
I am a teacher and my husband set up Farmdrop.
We like good food, swimming, art, good places.............

Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings