Sunny corner to write your postcards, catch up on e mails or have a cup of tea.
The Workshop, heart of the old town
Hosted by Bidi
Bidi is the host.Bidi is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

A lovely light and airy double bedroom with a private shower room. The Workshop is tucked away in one of the traditional yards in the centre of the old town. A hop and a skip from great restaurants, bars, beaches, cliff walk and the ancient Abbey.

The space

Our lovely room has views both up and down the yard. It's decorated in a fresh, light style but also has original big beams. There's ample wardrobe space and handpainted furniture and enough room for a table and chairs where you can just sit and read the papers, write your postcards, plan your visit or have a cup of tea or coffee. We've left you a few books about the local area and other bits and bobs you might like to read. There is also a shower room next door for your private use. There are tea and coffee making things for you too and a tv.

Guest access

We will give you a key to the house and a key to your room and to the garage. You will have sole use of a lovely double bedroom and separate shower room off your own landing. Please help yourself to breakfast downstairs at the kitchen table. There will be a selection of cereals, bread, home made jams and fresh tea or coffee. If you fancy a take away (there are great fish n chips nearby and a pie n mash shop too) we are happy for you to bring it home to eat at the kitchen table.
There is garage space for one small car or motorbikes or bicycles. Please note the entrance to the yard is narrow (6 foot 6 inches/1.9 metres wide) but we will be there to guide you up. Alternatively there is a public car park close by (£7.50 per day). If you are staying a few days we will try and arrange reduced parking nearby.
There is also a bijou yard with a small table & chairs where you are welcome to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of morning coffee.

Interaction with guests

When Dave moved into the yard he was the youngest resident....now he's just about the eldest so he knows lots about the local area and characters. We love living here so will be only to glad to share what we love with you and hear what you discover on your stay too. On the other hand if you want a quiet time we are happy to leave you to your own devices. We're happy to help with any queries and recommendations for local music, food, walks, trips.
We'd like to be good hosts to you in our home so please tell us a bit about yourselves when you book.

Other things to note

This is our home and we like to know a little about our guests so when you request a booking with us please tell us something about yourself.....what you do, your likes, hobbies etc.
We are also supportive solo travellers so that's why our starting price is for one guest.
Access to all the bedrooms is up a handmade wooden spiral staircase.
We are a vegetarian friendly household.


Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet
Breakfast

Prices
Extra people £15 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price £65 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM

No smoking please.
Shoes off upstairs please.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

43 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Claire User Profile
August 2017
Bidi is a bundle of positive energy and her husband is one very cool dude. She made us very welcome straight away into her beautiful home. It is impeccably clean but you still felt that you could relax. Every ingredient from the tea to the continental breakfast with home made jams and locally made bread was of a very high quality. ( I recommend the goose gog jelly personally!) Just a heads up, the alleyway to get to the house is a little bit tight. Dedinitely keeps you on your toes! Highly highly recommend

Liz User Profile
August 2017
Bidi and Dave were lovely hosts. Very thoughtful and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Very comfortable bed

Nick User Profile
July 2017
Biddi and Dave were so welcoming ! They have a wonderful home in a great location , Highly Recommended!
Bidi User ProfileBidi is a superhost.
Response from Bidi:
It was great to meet you both!
July 2017

Jiani User Profile
June 2017
The location is very close to the center and just few minutes walking can go to the coast
Bidi User ProfileBidi is a superhost.
Response from Bidi:
It was a delight to have you as our guests.
June 2017

Richard User Profile
May 2017
Absolutely fantastic all round, great location (maybe 5 minutes walk from the train station), gorgeous room, and an extremely welcoming and accommodating host!

Andrew User Profile
May 2017
Bidi and Dave were lovely, welcoming hosts who I really enjoyed meeting. Their place is on a quiet courtyard right in the centre of Whitby, which is a fantastic town to visit. Already planning my next trip back.

Jeff User Profile
May 2017
Spent a lovely couple of nights with Bidi and Dave. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, roomy and charming. Bidi and Dave are very helpful and friendly and made us feel right at home. Breakfast is lovely bread, jams and cereals which we both enjoyed. The location was perfect for us, right in the old part of town. Perfect!

Whitby, United KingdomJoined in January 2016
Bidi User ProfileBidi is a superhost.

Hi. We love living in Whitby by the seaside and the River Esk. One of my favourite things to do is to set off upstream in my Canadian canoe and paddle along enjoying the wildlife. I work in theatre and community arts and my Dave is a joiner and boat man; he loves sailing and building boats and he has a host of stories about his adventures. We have enjoyed travelling ourselves, in particular Bali, trekking in Thailand and exploring Northern Territories and the Barrier Reef in Australia. Now we spend more time at home I grow veg and enjoy making jams, jellies and chutneys from what I grow or find in the hedgerows. We love music and I've just joined a new choir!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings