Surrounded by nothing but native Hawaiian forest, peace, and quiet.Private guest room has queen bed, shelves, closet
Peaceful & Private Room in Native Forest Cabin

Private room

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Way more than just a place to rest your head! Private room in a cedar cabin on quiet acreage in the native forest. Between Hilo and Volcano with a friendly host who grew up on the island and is happy to 'talk story' about your trip. Simple breakfast provided daily. Lots of fun extras including an outdoor shower, large porch, beach gear, and more. Co-hosted by a cat & dogs, so animal-lovers a must! Check in and out time is flexible, message me to plan your perfect trip! Share pics - #kendrakabin

The space

The room has two big windows, a big closet with hangers, bedside tables with lamps, a ceiling fan, a queen bed, and built in shelves. Various Hawaiiana books and informational pamphlets are available for you to read, along with a binder of my personal tips and favorite things to see, eat, or do, along with household information. Power strip and outlets to charge all your devices, too.
Comfortable Queen size futon available in the living room for additional guests.

Guest access

Yard: One landscaped acre fenced in with gated driveway. Surrounded by acres of native rain forest. Guests will need to open and close, as well as lock and unlock, the gate as they come and go. Lots of native plants and some fruit including pineapple, papaya, passion fruit, mulberry, tangerine, orange, lime, and sweet potato. A selection of orchids are by the outdoor shower, and wild tropical flowers are found throughout the property.
Porch: Large back porch with chairs and picnic table looking out on native forest. Perfect for yoga, meditation, relaxing, studying, socializing, or a cigarette.
Outside space/carport: Outdoor shower, washing machine, clothesline. Trash and recycling are stored outside, along with beach chairs available for your use.
Kitchen: Large full kitchen with everything you need to cook - and then some. Designated pantry and refrigerator space for guests. Cookware, utensils, and dishes available for guest use. In a pinch for a forgotten ingredient? Just ask! I love to cook and have all kinds of equipment and tools.
Living/Dining Room: Large dining table with chairs, living room with lounge chairs, sofa, coffee table, game closet, and lots of books. Large flat screen TV with Netflix, YouTube, and digital cable.
Shared Bathroom: Large bathroom with custom walk-in glass block and tile shower. Towels and toiletries provided.
Private Bedroom: Private bedroom with two large windows, ceiling fan, closet, shelving, queen bed, side tables, and reading lamps. Linens and lots of pillows provided. Power strip and outlets available for device charging.

Interaction with guests

I work at home full-time so am home a lot, and available for all times of check-in. I grew up on-island and know the area very well and am happy to chat and provide advice for your trip. I'll have a simple breakfast available for you daily, including coffee, fresh muffins, and a selection of teas. My schedule and contact information will be provided. Guests may come and go at their leisure - no curfew.

LGBT and Nudists welcome! House is private and your host is non-judgmental.

Check-In and Out is FLEXIBLE!!! Dependent upon incoming guests. Just message me to arrange a time that works for you.

Share your pics with other guests! #kendrakabin

Other things to note

There are pets here! Large outdoor dogs and the friendliest indoor cat you've ever met. All are healthy and friendly. Cat is kept out of the bedroom.

Drinking water is hauled in by host - do not drink tap water!
On-demand propane water heater can only power one thing at a time - so, one shower or kitchen sink with hot water only. Directions for switching tanks will be provided, and is very easy if I'm not home to do it.

Though I offer my room at a very cheap rate, Hawaii is expensive! Car rentals, food, fuel, etc might give you 'sticker shock!' Please take your time in researching and planning, especially if you are moving here or visiting long-term.

This is the wet side of the island - Hawaii is in the tropics and it does rain a lot! Plan and pack accordingly. Also, bugs and mosquitoes are a part of life. Be prepared for the tropics!


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Smoking Allowed
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people £8 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £19
Security Deposit £153
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 5PM

No illegal drugs, and I need guests to be mindful of excessive noise when I am working (hours will be posted). This just means no very loud music, etc., normal sounds are perfectly fine.
Smoking OUTSIDE only.

Parties and events considered - just message me and ask!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

66 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alina User Profile
September 2017
Kendra is a really friendly and authentic person. Her secluded place was amazing, very (but very) clean, surrounded by nature and beautiful nature sounds. She has a cat also that is suuuper lovely (Mushi). It is a place away from the crowds, but really close to downtown (URL HIDDEN) is just a perfect place and location when visiting Hilo and Volcano Area. P.S: Kendra, I love you decor!!

Angela User Profile
August 2017
Great host, beautiful location and authentic island experience!

Davina User Profile
August 2017
A great authentic experience to stay with Kendra in this super green part of the island. You get a different perspective on live on the island and Kendra and Al have lots of insights and tips to share!

Elora User Profile
August 2017
We stayed there 3 nights and everything was perfect. Kendra's house and the room are very cosy and close to Volcano. This is a good location to explore the east side of the island. Kendra herself is very kind, we felt at home as soon as we arrived, and her pets are very friendly ! We recommand without a doubt !

Ashley User Profile
July 2017
This was our first Airbnb experience, and it couldn't have been better. Kendra is amazing! She offered a beautiful guide to the island, and she was always available to give us advice and suggestions to navigate the island. With this stay, not only do we feel like we got a true Hawaiian experience, but also we genuinely feel like we made a new friend. We immediately felt at home at Kendra's, and wefeel in love with her, her boyfriend, and her pets! Mahalo, Kendra and Al, for your warmth and generosity!!

Adam User Profile
June 2017
Location is great and only 20 minute drive to volcano visitor center. Queen bedroom was nice but futon was broken. Kendra let us check in very late and always responded to messages right away.

Jen User Profile
June 2017
Kendra and Al were fantastic hosts. Kendra's home was cozy and clean and her pets were such a joy to play with. Kendra and Al went out of their way to make us feel at home, cooking for us and giving us tons of advice about the area. I would recommend a stay with Kendra to anyone who wants to have an authentic Hawaiian experience with some wonderful people!

Pāhoa, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in January 2016
Kendra User Profile

My name is Kendra, and I grew up on the Big Island of Hawaii. I'm very easy-going, laid-back, and down-to-earth - like the Big Island and many of it's locals! We're all on "Hawaiian Time" which means things get done... well, when they get done!
I know the Big Island very well and love meeting people from different places with different stories and interesting lives. I also love to travel so I understand the excitement of visiting a new place.

5 things I can't live without: Animals (I have pets, and work with horses), time in some kind of body of water, some quiet in my life, baked treats, and good books.

Favorite travel destinations: Italy!!! I love Europe in general but little Italian villages are my absolute favorite.

Favorite books: Anything by Haruki Murakami. I like a lot of non-fiction as well, especially Michael Pollan. The A Song of Ice and Fire Series. And a lot of classics.

Favorite movies: The Matrix, Snatch, anything by Wes Anderson or Quentin Tarantino or Hayao Miyazaki, The Crow, Lucky Number Slevin, The Jackal, Pretty Woman, Amelie, Closer, and a lot more.

Favorite shows: Game of Thrones, House of Cards, Orange is the New Black, Sex and the City, Seinfeld, Friends, The Simpsons, Rick and Morty, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Modern Family, and more.

Favorite music: Literally a ton. Grew up as a metalhead (Korn, NIN, Tool, Deftones, Marilyn Manson), raised by classic rock-loving parents (Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, The Who), but now love it all, including a lot of pop, techno, country, hip-hop, rap, and more.

Favorite food: Mexican is #1 but I also love Filipino, Vietnamese, Thai, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, and French.

My travel style: Laid-back and easy-going. I'd much rather feel like a local, and myself, than rush around and try to do and see it all. Living in a place that is dominated by tourism, I understand the feeling of sharing your special home with outsiders, and the important balance that requires.

My host style: I want people to feel comfortable and like they're at home. Like they have a little safe haven where they can catch their breath. I'll show you the true meaning of the Aloha state! My generosity knows no ends!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings