Bathroom with electric shower over bathBedroom, book case against wall
Bungalow with retro charm

Entire home/flat

3 guests

2 bedrooms

3 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Set in the Tywi Valley, convenient for fisherfolk and exploring the beauties of South West Wales. The house is fairly basic but should have everything neccesary and has a certain charm. Breakfast is available and other meals too if wanted. It is on a bus route and parking is available also.
The bungalow is not homes and gardens but it is quite sweet and I think has the necessities for a comfortable stay.

The space

I will leave basics in the fridge for your arrival, it is grim to arrive and find nothing! Bread, milk, butter, there are some bits and pieces in the cupboards too, mostly left by previous guests, spices, salt and so on. If you would like to have breakfast cooked for you, a good Welsh breakfast, let me know (we live over the road), if you want to try laverbread, ditto, there is a charge of £5.00 per person, but I can't provide it on Sundays. I can also provide meals if you don't feel like cooking. I can either drop something homemade over to you or you can come and eat with us. The charge depends either upon what we are having or what you would like delivered. I have been cooking for parties and freezers for many years. I like cooking mediterranean and middle eastern food, we lived in Turkey for a while. I can do Indian and Chinese also (Ken Hom style!).

Guest access

If the weather is good and you want to barbecue, depending upon what we are doing it might be possible to use our garden, we have a large garden behind trees, we also have lots of bee hives! In the Autumn we have apples, and of course there are masses of blackberries around, if you want to come and gather, let me know and a time can be arranged.

Interaction with guests

If you would like any advice on the locality, please do ask. My husband was born here and his family have farmed in the area for hundreds of years. My family (except me) are all Welsh speaking.

Other things to note

It is on the main A40, this can be busy. The cottage has double glazing but I am afraid this is not the silent countryside.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Doorman

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

It is semi-detached, so if you could be considerate regarding noise and the neighbours that would be very kind, the neighbour also parks his car in the bay, there is room for two, and he tends to be quite territorial about having the place next to the hedge!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

31 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nicola User Profile
August 2017
Be aware that you need to cross a busy road from where you park. I am disabled and found it hard to cross quickly. Easy access to Camarthan as on main road to there. Have been made aware bed replacements are in progress and making it more comfortable. If you only want a base its ok.

Bruce User Profile
August 2017
Simple accommodation but with everything we needed. Some refreshingly old fashioned furniture/equipment but everything does its job and works well. Excellent communications with owner and easy check-in. No TV reception due to location, but good WiFi (so bring a laptop and HDMI cable if you want TV). Central heating/hot water looked like it had recently been installed and was very efficient. Great location for exploring South West Wales. Great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.
Frances User Profile
Response from Frances:
Dear Bruce, Many thanks for your kind feedback and giving it privately, I will look into more dinner plates and a baking tray. All best wishes, Frances
August 2017

Renee User Profile
July 2017
Great hosts we had a lovely stay there and the house was perfect for what we needed it for. I would for sure stay there again.

Beverly User Profile
July 2017
This is basic, value for money accommodation for anyone wanting to explore the surrounding areas and dog friendly which is often hard to find. Frances was really good at communicating and left us to our own devices - which we prefer. Be aware there is noise from the busy road outside, nevertheless an enjoyable stay.

Helen User Profile
July 2017
Property is clean and comfortable and ideal for our weekend stay.

Alasdair User Profile
June 2017
House is good value for money. Kitchen is well equipped with cooker, microwave, toaster and kettle. There is hot water all day long for the kitchen, bathroom and shower. We took took with us coal and wood to light in the open fireplace in the living room which made it homely to relax and read in. About 2 miles along the road to Carmarthen is a petrol station and shop where you can buy any essentials which you may have forgotten. We slept well in bedrooms, one at front of house and other at back. We met neighbour in shared parking area and she was pleasant.

Jacqueline User Profile
June 2017
Lovely stay in a clean no nonsense comfortable bungalow. Host - Frances was extremely helpful and friendly.

Nantgaredig, United KingdomJoined in January 2016
Frances User Profile

Cooking, I love everything about it, except the washing up! I think I have a strong hunter/gatherer extinct. I am gregarious by nature and generally optimistic. Embrace the opportunities that life offers.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings