Living spaceAn enclosed balcony for brekky on a sunny morning or drinks in the evening.
Sunny Garden Apartment Hawthorn
Sunny Garden Apartment Hawthorn
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Located in the leafy suburb of Hawthorn East. Modern 1 bedroom unit with fully equipped kitchen, bathroom & laundry. Set in beautiful garden surrounds. Easy access to transport. 9km to CBD.

Please contact me to check availability before sending a request. I will answer as soon as possible.

The space

This lovely, light filled, ground floor, modern unit is connected to the back of the main residence of the property. The entrance is separate. There is a small deck overlooking the shared garden, where you can sit and watch the birds during the day, and listen to the frogs at night. There is a medium-sized, friendly dog, called Ched, who spends most of his time indoors.

I live on the adjacent property with my husband and children. There is a low fence in between. We have chickens, a rabbit, and a cat, but they are contained on our side of the garden.

Bedroom: Built in robes, double bed, with space for cot or single mattress on floor, which are available on request. If required a double mattress can be provided for the living room floor, depending on the number of guests. There is a column heater and a floor fan for the bedroom.

Bathroom: Toilet, bath, separate shower and basin. Hand holds and sitting bench for the less mobile.

Laundry: New top loader washing machine, and new drier. Linen and towels supplied. There is a clothes line outside.

Open plan dining and living space: Views over the garden, large dining table that seats six, couch, easy chair, and digital TV. There is an in-built work desk. Reverse cycle air conditioner and ceiling fan.

Kitchen: Open plan and equipped with almost all the utensils you would ever need. Fridge/freezer, microwave, electric oven, gas stove, dishwasher, coffee machine and toaster. Lovely view over the garden from the sink!

Balcony looking over the lawn and the rose garden.

Toys: We have plenty of toys for children to play with, including a splash pool for hot days, if you wish to borrow them.

Guest access

Guests have access to the unit by walking down the driveway to the back of the property. The path to the flat is wide and quite smooth, and there are no steps. There is a large lovely garden surrounding the unit. There is a trampoline, cubby and slide for kids to play on.

Interaction with guests

I live next door and can help with planning your stay in Melbourne, and with any issues that might arise. My father-in-law lives in the main house to which the unit is attached.

Your privacy will be respected. However, as the garden is shared, there will be people walking past the unit from time to time. Most of the windows into the unit are shielded with well-planted bushes, and there are venetian or roller blinds on all windows internally.

Other things to note

There is on street parking available, but you will need to use the parking permit, which is on the desk in the apartment.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £24
Security Deposit £92
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 crib
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

No smoking at any time, anywhere on the property.

This is a residential area with many young children close by, so please be considerate and keep noise to a minimum. No parties at any time.

We do not charge a cleaning fee for the apartment to keep the cost down, so please leave it as you found it. Greatly appreciated!

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Magdalena User Profile
June 2017
Our second stay at this lovely retreat. Can't fault it. Thank you Eva and family! We'll be back.

Ann User Profile
May 2017
A very quiet and very comfortable home away from home. Everything was as described and more. A beautiful garden to relax in and very lovely park over the road. Close to transport so an easy walk to the train, Everything I needed to cook and even supplies in the cupboard. Parking for my car over the road with a permit. Warm and toasty on a cold night... Would highly recommend and when I'm back again would stay again. Thanks for a lovely stay...

Magdalena User Profile
May 2017
We really liked this well equipped 1- bedroom granny flat set in a garden setting at the back of main house. It felt very much like an oasis in the city. Friendly hosts, easy to get in touch with. Recommend.

Casey&Maria User Profile
April 2017
The Garden House is a beautiful retreat within the city of Melbourne. Located in a very good area for young families with kids. Close to a Park where kids can run around with city views, quite spectacular! The Garden House is also a home away from home! a little cottage with a beautiful garden all around with roses and lemon/lime trees, just heaven! it is also perfect for a few nights stay or long term as it has all the conveniences a house needs, clean and very private, with its own private entrance. Thank you Eva and her family! for being great hosts, will definitely recommend to our friends and family! Maria, Casey & baby-Isabella :)

Britta User Profile
April 2017
What a lovely place! A beautiful, quiet, comfortable, clean spot close to Melbourne's city. The kitchen is very well equipped. We stayed here 10 days with two little kids and really enjoyed it. Eva is an amazing host and provided us with many extras for the toddlers. We definitely would stay here again.

Cliff User Profile
November 2016
The host met us at the front gate and showed us into the apartment she also explained the apartment to us and was very welcoming.
Eva User Profile
Response from Eva:
Thanks for your lovely review, Cliff. We did have a queen bed in there, but because of the layout of the room, it was then very hard to put a single mattress on the floor next to the bed, or have a cot in there. I have written in the description that there is double bed, not a queen bed there, but I might try to make that clearer, so that guests know exactly what to expect. Thanks for the feedback!! Kind regards, Eva
November 2016

Keith And Bridget User Profile
September 2016
Our stay at Eva's place was fantastic. Right from the moment of booking she was attentive and a great host. We were moving from the UK with a 6 month old so Eva arranged a cot, highchair and some toys. The kitchen is well equipped and it's a great little flat. The view over the garden is very tranquil. Shopping Centre and a few cafes are only a short walk away so great location.

AustraliaJoined in February 2012
Eva User Profile

Hi,
We're a family of 5 who live in Australia:
Eva - Norwegian, veterinarian.
Gavin - Australian, doctor.
3 kids.

We have used AirBnB ourselves in many places, including one bad stay, so we know what not to do! We have a unit to rent in between the times that my Mum comes from Norway to stay with us.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Norsk, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings