Front of houseLiving room.  My mother's needlepoint on the walls. My wife's grandmother's cabinet.
Lovely house in the country by sea


Entire home/flat

4 Guests

2 Bedrooms

4 Beds


Entire home/flat

4 Guests

2 Bedrooms

4 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: £18
Security Deposit: £136
Weekly Discount: 38%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

Welcome to our lovely house in the country side. The house was built in 1939 by my grandparents and still has the original wood floors. It is cozy and has some antique furniture that we are adding to bit by bit.

In the master bedroom you have a queen size antique bed that belonged to my wife's great grandmother. There is also a beauty desk. There are two comforters and pillows.

The living room has a pull out sofa bed large enough for two, a SMART TV with access to Netflix and the internet, and board games. Two comforters for the sofa bed and pillows.

In the smaller bedroom there is a family bunk bed, children's toys and and lots of books on Iceland. There are comforters and pillows for the bunkbed.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The table is for six to eight people and the view to the north from the kitchen window is fantastic, especially when the sun sets in the summer time.

The bathroom has a small bathtub, a shower and washing machine and dryer that you are welcome to use.

If you plan on staying in our house you will be able to enjoy the peace and quiet, a beautiful view, a 10 minute walk to the ocean and if you are interested in meeting Icelandic cows that may be arranged :) as the house sits on my brother's farm and he has plenty of cows!

The house is approximately a 15 minute drive from Staðarskáli (where the bus stops (fast food restaurant)), 60 minutes from Hólmavík (another bus stop, fast food and restaurants) and 45 minutes from Búðardalur (yet another bus stop and fast food restaurant). It is by route 68, approximately 200 meters away from the route.

If you type "Hlaðhamar 1" into your search engine you can get interesting information on a map.

There are a lot of tourist attractions in the area such as beautiful nature, churches, museums, country museums, historical places, etc.

northwest
selasetur (you can go watch seals in their natural environment)
type "hvítserkur" it is an amazing rock formation close by

eiriksstadir (a replica of a farm where the vikings lived. In fact it is a replica of where Leif Eriksson (viking who discovered America) lived.

erpsstadir is a farm where you can buy home made ice cream, chocolates and more. Approximately 50 minutes away.

If you want more information on tourist attractions we are happy to be of help and we have several brochures in the living room for you to browse.

________
Updates to renovations:
2013 - Painted living room, bathroom and hallway. Put up blinds. Oiled floors in bathroom, kitchen and hallway. New rug in living room.

2014 - Painted small bedroom. New kitchen chairs. Added an antique cabinet in living room. Painted entryway. Oiled floors in bathroom, kitchen and hallway. Had door to living room renovated. Painted and remodeled pantry cupboard. New bed linens. Closed off area under bathtub.

2015 - Painted master bedroom. Had door to kitchen renovated. Bathroom door renovated. Added a new bunk-bed to small bedroom with a new mattress in lower bunk. Added a wireless internet router. Added a barbeque grill for charcoals. Sofabed deep cleaned.

2016 - New washer and dryer in bathroom. New showerhead. New antique sofabed and two chairs in living room. New SMART TV in living room. Finished renovating doors in the house. Started working on floor in living room.

Guest access

The house has a basement that is locked off. We are still working on it but plan to have it available to guests in 2017.

Interaction with guests

We are not on the premises but are only a phonecall away. My brother and sister-in-law live on the farm and are available should you have any questions or problems with the house.

The neighbourhood

The house is close to the sea and if you take the time for a short walk you can walk down to the shore, look at the birds, pick up a few shells, perhaps spot a few seals and enjoy the view. The house is approximately 50 minutes from the Seal Center in Hvammstangi, and other tourist attractions. You will find brochures in the living room with information on attractions.


House Rules
Check-in is after 3PM

We kindly ask that you take off your shoes and leave them in the entrance where you can hang your coats.

We ask you to not smoke in our house.

You need to put bedding on the beds you use and we ask that you please remove the bedding when you leave and place in the laundry bin next to the washing machine.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Jul 1 - 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

116 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Susanne User Profile
October 2016
Overall the place is average, with some issues on our arrival. The main issue is the house was not clean before our arrival, the toilet is dirty and the room is messy. Additional issue is the lack of amenities such as towel wasn't enough although we have booked the house for 4 person. However, the issue was solve few hours after we contacted the host. We were quite frustrated with the cleaning issue as we were charged with the cleaning fee and we expecting a clean place when we arrive, after a long journey in Iceland. However, it is still a warm house located at a quiet place. The host is very responsive when we contacted him on the issue.

동진 User Profile
October 2016
thats great house this house is better than photos. also very cozy and comfortable house.

태한 User Profile
October 2016
Good place for seeing aurora if the weather is good. And also cosy house. We saw so beautiful aurora near this house. Nice scenery bcz here is sea side We're satisfied with this house. Thank you a lot for this house

Jeffrey User Profile
October 2016
This is a really great cottage. It was spacious, very comfortable bed, has a TV, and great Wifi. It has a nice kitchen, bathroom, and washer/dryer. The views from the place was also amazing as you see mountains and you also look over a fjord. This was one of the best places we stayed at in Iceland. Just be aware that you are on a farm so there may be some work going on around you sometimes.

Barbara User Profile
October 2016
It is an old farm house. For me it is a bit old but still I can see improvements are in progresss like new washing and drying machine, new kitchen cabinet. A good location to stop by if you are travelling to north-western part of Iceland. We can see aurora just outside the house.

Fiona User Profile
October 2016
Wonderful stay at Jon's house. Peaceful location and well equipped accommodation with a lovely mix of old and new. Particular highlights for my boys were Netflix and the small dishwasher.

Min User Profile
October 2016
Jon's house was homey and cosy. We stayed for a night while we made our way around the ring road. We liked that it was far enough from town to catch the aurora. Jon was responsive and helpful and his instructions to the house made it easy to find. I definitely recommend his place if you're exploring the westfjords or northwest iceland.

Reykjavík, Iceland · Joined in April 2013
Jon User Profile

I was raised in Hladhamar in Iceland,
Me and my wife have 3 kids, two girls and one boy.
I love to spend time with my family.
I like the outdoors, traveling and eating good food.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a day