Full KitchenLiving Area, extra pull out couch


Private room

2 guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Cozy room in a historic 1920's home. Lots of character and charm. Amazing location. One block from the bay with beautiful sunsets. And just a few miles to the beach and downtown. Clean, comfy queen size bed and a welcoming host. ** Please Read Full Detailed Description before booking.

The space

I want to let you know FIRST this room is on the second floor (see photo's). You will need to be able to walk up one short flight of stairs in the house to arrive at your room. The room is lovely, quiet and has your own temperature control. Hardwood floors throughout the house. This is also a shared bathroom only. Bathroom on the first floor. As well as a full use private outdoor shower area. You will have full privacy, with a lock on the door. The house is often empty and quiet many days and evenings. But also I do live here in a 5 bedroom house with my Son Brady. We love meeting new people and travelers:) The house is only a few years shy of 100 years old. It is not perfect but has lots of charm and character. Some things in the house look a bit old and worn (bathroom needs a little updating) but everything in house works perfect, is cleaned daily and your room will be immaculate.
We are a TV free household.

Guest access

You are welcome to use the kitchen, livingroom, front porch and backyard. This is shared, community spaces. Street parking (free). Make yourself some espresso and soak in the sun. We also have a fire-pit and outdoor shower . You will be very close to Ringling Museum, Jungle Gardens, Airport, Beaches and downtown. This house is on the west side of the trail in the lovely Indian Beach, museum neighborhood. Please note you will be sharing this house with myself and my wonderful 17 year old son, Brady. Occasionally my daughter Sierra who lives nearby as well. We do both work, school and travel frequently. . We are both laid back and enjoy meeting new people.

Interaction with guests

We live separate lives but love socializing as well. We can interact as much or as little as you like and we respect personal boundaries. We will leave a key for you to come and go as you please.
**Do not book if you expect a Ritz Carlton quality house. This house is 100 years old and has not had a lot of modern updates. It is NOT perfect and has a bit of a bohemian and old Florida feel to it. It is not up to Bed & Breakfast standards, but almost:) Also please do not book if you absolutely can not be around a cat. We have an outdoor cat, with a cat door and NO litter box in the house. She is super quiet and sleeps almost always.

Other things to note

I am a 20 yr local residents with a wealth of info regarding Sarasota restaurants, nightlife, adventures. The property has many fruit trees: award winning starfruit tree.
We are a TV free household, but we can set you up with Netflix while you are here for any mobile device.

*Regarding check in and check-out: I have it listed as "flexible". I still require that you communicate with me your needs and I will try to accommodate depending on current guests. I try to aim for checkout between 11 and 12 and check-in between 2-3 OR at your leisure after that. But please check in with me and I will try to accommodate needs.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £4 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £4
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

We really want you to make yourself at home. You have full use of the house and we want you to take advantage of that if you like. Quiet time by 10-11 pm most evenings. Smoking outside only. Also, please try and let us know the time of your arrival when you know. And we also appreciate a 30 minute warning of your arrival by airbnb messages or text directly.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

84 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katie User Profile
May 2017
Sheila was truly a wonderful host and her home was very clean and quiet. Her location for what I was looking for was spot on, she's only a few miles to St Armand's Circle and Lido beach and 20min to Siesta key. She was very helpful in recommendations on places to visit, restaurants to eat at and her opinion of the beaches were pretty much spot on. Had a wonderful time at her place and would highly recommend her home to anyone! :)

Rachel User Profile
May 2017
Great location for the wedding we attended at Powell c Crosley estate. A.C. in our room was a plus. Comfortable bed. Family is very friendly!

Bolin User Profile
May 2017
wonderful

Brook User Profile
April 2017
Super clean house! Close to all the best beaches (siesta key), shopping, and restaurants. The host was friendly and accommodating. The room was small, but had a closest, shelving, and large comfortable bed with extra blankets. The small room still fit our son's play yard. I would absolutely stay here again.

Ryan User Profile
April 2017
Good bang for the buck!

James User Profile
April 2017
Sheila and her young adult children are very kind & helpful. We were welcomed warmly and treated with respect. She gave us several touring tips and noted things to see and do. Her home has "old charm" that is very cozy.

Laura User Profile
March 2017
Great

This host has 112 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Sarasota, Florida, United States · Joined in May 2011
Sheila User Profile

Full time Professional photographer and artist, Mother of two amazing intelligent teenagers.
We love to read, travel and exercise and we are all shutterbugs:)

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour