The living/sewing/working/music/napping room.The whole living room. I rearrange the furniture a lot, so I can't promise it will be exactly the same, but I can promise it will be cozy and rustic. There are lots of footstools, side tables and floor cushions, so you can even re-arrange it yourself, if you like.
Rustic Retreat in Trendy North End
Rustic Retreat in Trendy North End

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

** NEW AND IMPROVED!**
You'll feel like you've stepped back in time in this charming, rustic character home. It's like a little cottage in the city, with its antique furniture, wide pine flooring and quirky decor.

Now the room has a brand new (as of March) Queen size, latex mattress, with brand new organic cotton sheets, and the living room has been re-arranged to be more spacious, and includes a cushy "nap station."

The space

This cozy home was built in 1860. With wide pine floorboards, two woodstoves, bedrooms with sloped ceilings and Scottish dormers, it has a lot of character, reminiscent of a farmhouse. One friend described it like "being on the set of Little Women."

Your private room includes the amenities to make coffee and tea, a SmartTV with Netflix (no cable), and a mini fridge. The Queen bed has a latex mattress, and organic cotton sheets and pillows. I use unscented laundry detergent for those with scent sensitivities.

A self-serve, plant-based breakfast of homemade granola, coconut yogurt and fruit is offered. Your room has a kettle and coffee and tea. I buy organic and/or local food when possible.

The backyard features a steambath business run by a friend of mine. If you would like to enjoy a steam, you can book a private session that includes guided steaming-cooling cycles and natural healing therapies from sauna cultures around the world. Let me know in advance of you're interested and I'll put you in touch with my friend who can give you more information.

Check out my Instagram for a better sense of the place: @standground

Guest access

Some things you might enjoy:

• read or meditate in the book nook
• watch Netflix on the flatscreen in your room
• use the high-speed internet
• relax in a rocking chair by the roaring fire
• play board games in the living room (I'm looking to expand my collection, so if you have a favourite game, let me know before you arrive and I will consider adding it)
• there is also a Spanish guitar for you to play (if you can tune it because I'm clueless about it)

Interaction with guests

I may not be around all the time you're here, but am happy to interact as much or as little as you like. I will be nearby, though, so anything you need, just ask!

Other things to note

Please note that there is one gentle, snuggly cat in the house. Also, the bedroom and bathroom are up one flight of stairs so this house is not suitable for those with mobility issues.
The house is on a bustling street. Many guests are not bothered by it, but some find it noisy, particularly on Friday and Saturday nights.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 11PM

House Rules
Check-in/check-out time is flexible, but I ask for a one hour window for planning purposes.

This is a cozy old home with a farmhouse vibe. She was built in 1860, and is not as vigorous as she once was, so please treat her gently like the respectable elder she is. Too much excitement rattles her dishes.

The house boasts two wood stoves, one in the kitchen and one in the living room. I am happy to have them blazing to make your stay nice and cozy, but please allow me to light them for you.

The front door is a bit finicky and has been known to pop open unexpectedly. To avoid this mishap, please keep it locked at all times.

Dinah, the cat, is an indoor kitty. Please don’t let her out. She may demand a treat when you enter (because I have trained her to do so). You may give her a treat if you wish; they are inside the terra cotta thing on the radiator.

Whilst I do a thorough clean between each guest stay, I kindly ask that prior to leaving, you put any dirty linens and towels in the hamper. It helps me get through the cleaning process quicker and allows me to keep cleaning costs down for you and future guests.

This is a vegetarian household. You are welcome to bring non-vegetarian take-out foods in, but please do not prepare meat in the kitchen. If you are using the kitchen, please clean up after yourself. You may leave clean dishes in the drying rack, and I will put them away for you.

To ensure we keep the floors clean for our guests' enjoyment, please do not wear shoes upstairs or in the living room.

Please report any spills or damage immediately; I understand that accidents happen, but I would like to assist you with cleanup if necessary.

What you do in your personal time is entirely up to you, but when staying at my place, please restrict your use of recreational substances to caffeine and alcohol.

To keep costs down (and pass those savings on to our guests) I kindly ask that you switch off lights when it’s not in use or leaving the house. You room is equipped with an electric radiator with a dedicated thermostat. Please do not turn it higher than 22c, and please turn it down to 15 if you are leaving for the day. Mother nature thanks you, too.

You may entertain up to two more guests during waking hours. If you have more friends in town, please discuss with me first before inviting additional people.

The small room off of the kitchen, and the back entryway are off limits (except as an emergency exit).

This is a smoke-free home.
Emergencies

There are two fire extinguishers:
behind the fridge
just inside the living room on the wall

There is a smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector as well, so if you hear loud noises, run outside. Don’t forget to bring the cat. Thanks.

In case of emergency, the front door is your best bet, as the back exit has two doors and one or the other is often partially obstructed.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

95 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sanjeev User Profile
August 2017
Carolyn is a wonderful host. Her conversations are a delight and she has so many unique things in her house. Her house is located within short walk to many of the trendy restaurants and breweries. This neighborhood never gets boring.

Mariana User Profile
August 2017
Carolyn is a great host. She had a delicious granola and blueberries every morning for breakfast. The place has a lot of character and the room was cozy and spacious. The house has many restaurants around and is at walking distance from downtown. A very convenient location. We will definitely come here in the future

Sarah User Profile
July 2017
This is the second time I've stayed with Carolyn and everything was as great as the first. Carolyn's home is beautiful and located in a very trendy area of the city. The room is very cosy, comfortable, and well equipped. Dinah the cat adds some very friendly charm to the place too :) I will definitely return the next time I am in town!

Yvonne User Profile
July 2017
Carolyn's place is charming and rustic. She is a very communicative host and is warm and welcoming. The location is great, there are lots of gems for low-key hangs and it's a quick 20-30 minute walk from the downtown/harbour things.

Rebecca User Profile
July 2017
Carolyn was welcoming and nice, she had a wonderful fluffy cat that was just so cute! My friend and I found that the location was very convenient, located in a slightly more residential area but still with all the cool and trendy restaurants near by. Downtown is only about 20 minutes away by walk, and usually just ended walking there although bus routes are also convenient and close by. We found our room really cozy and welcoming, we felt like we had everything we needed and more! Overall it was a lovely rustic charming house and loved staying there!

Jenica User Profile
July 2017
Great stay in Carolyn's cozy home. The granola breakfast was delicious! Loved getting a chance to explore the north end of Halifax, and downtown and the harbour was still easily accessible by walking.

Ditte User Profile
July 2017
The place was easy to find and in a nice neighbor. Not too far from downtown. The house had charm of age and of Carolyn's decor!

This host has 16 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Halifax, CanadaJoined in February 2016
Carolyn User Profile

I'm a granola-type person who likes reading, crafting, getting outside, and all things holistic and sustainable. I run a small business making and applying all-natural, non-toxic interior wall finishes. I have a Master of Architecture, used to be a swing dance teacher, and I've just joined Search and Rescue.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Carolyn’s place.
Carolyn
Leeanne helps host.
Leeanne
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings