view to the kitchen from the bedroomLounge with TV/DVD and music amp (guitar optional :-)
luxury bed and breakfast in Leith


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Hi all, I charge £35 a night, £45 for 2 people. I can do cheaper rates for long term. I provide a breakfast of cereals/muesli/porridge/toast/jam and fruit. Coffee and Tea are free. Approx 15 mins by bus to town, 15 mins walk to the Shore area. You can catch any of three buses within 2 mins of my flat. they are very regular fare £1.60p £4 for a day ticket. I am in a second floor flat only 20 steps. Wifi, towels, hairdryer.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £10 / night after the first guest
Weekend Price: £35 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

A lovely double room, just decorated with new bed. Full use of all the flat amenities. Only me in the flat and usually out working or walking. A classic Victorian apartment with a sunny kitchen diner and separate luxury double mixer shower room and toilet. 15 minutes walk to Leith and Newhaven harbours as well as local cycle paths and the Water of Leith riverside walk. Easy access to city centre within 15 minutes by bus about 30 mins walk to Princes st. Top floor of only 2 floors (20 steps takes a minute to climb).

Breakfast is organic muesli or porridge + fruit and yoghurt, egg//marmalade and toast, with fresh coffee or tea.

DISCOUNTS CAN BE NEGOTIATED FOR LONG TERM STAYS

The whole flat is also available for some weeks during the summer on enquiry. Situated at the junction of Leith, Trinity, Newhaven and Bonnington and within easy walking of the Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith dock and the Shore area which has great pubs and the best dining in Edinburgh including lovely places to walk by the river.

There are 3 buses all within 2 mins walk that take you to all parts of Edinburgh. Local shops, chemist, post office with Chinese take away and fish n chips only 5 mins walk away. Victoria park nearby. Cycle/walking paths that were old railway lines that you can use to walk all the way into town (30 mins) or down the water of Leith either direction (lovely, I take this route to work all the way over to Haymarket).

Street parking is free on the side streets, (I can always park).

EXTRAS:
Towels, provided. Cable TV and 30MEG wireless broadband. Smart 42 inch TV/DVD player (plus good selection of movies); ipod docking station and DAB radio in flat. Central heating and double sized luxury mixer shower;

Guest access

whole flat except my bedroom

Interaction with guests

as much as they like. Happy to be a guide or leave them in peace :-)

The neighbourhood

The convenience of the buses and the close proximity of the cycle ways and the Shore area of Leith. The Chinese take away and chip shop :-)

Getting around

see above..access to all areas from just 2 mins from the flat.

Other things to note

Hair dryer in the room


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

No smoking,
please take your shoes off in the flat
no pets..Cheers.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

52 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Charla User Profile
May 2017
Simon was a very nice host, knowledgeable and easy-going. We didn't spend so much time at the flat, but it was comfy and in a great location for buses into town and to/from the airport.

莹 User Profile
October 2016
A good experience

Zahra User Profile
October 2016
I highly recommend this place. The location is perfect and Simon was wonderful. I would stay here again.

Zibi User Profile
September 2016
We had a wonderful stay at Simon's place. He was an incredibly friendly, welcoming, and generous host. On arrival, Simon gave us a brief history of the geography of Edinburgh, and the local area which was really helpful and also suggested places to go for great food. Again, his recommendations were spot on and made our time in Edinburgh feel complete. If you are looking for a clean, welcoming, laid-back, and warm place to stay, with an accommodating host, then this is the place for you.
Simon User Profile
Response from Simon:
aww shucks Zibi..av gone all red! Cheers :-)
September 2016

Zoe User Profile
September 2016
It's a great experience to live in Simon's flat!!!

Corentin User Profile
August 2016
I had a lovely stay at Simon's flat. He provided everything we needed, gave us some maps and advices to discover this amazing city! I highly recommend Simon as host !

Frank User Profile
July 2016
Simons accommodation is perfect for someone who wants a convenient place to explore Edinburgh. The accommodation consists of a bedroom with all other facilities are shared, so its pretty Spartan. However if like us you are only needing a place to sleep, and intend to spend your days out exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding countryside, its perfect. Simon did his best to assist in helping us to know how to get around Edinburgh and also suggested day drives to explore Scotland's countryside. We used this information to jam pack our few days in Scotland and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However if you are expecting a full B&B service you will be disappointed and will have to expect to pay a lot more for your accommodation elsewhere. For us it was just what we required.

This host has 4 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Edinburgh, United Kingdom · Joined in April 2013
Simon User Profile

Originally from Lancashire I now work for the Scottish Government. Like to travel, walk the hills, and spend time with my now grown up kids, I read lots from Patrick O'Brien, thru Christopher Hitchins to sci fi or historical stuff. I love a good conversation on politics, history, birdwatching, rugby, football (soccer), movies and nice places to retire :-) Enjoy conversing with all nationalities and enjoy good food and drink!! :-). The pic of me with the stone is on the Isle of Lewis on the outer (URL HIDDEN) the Callanish Stones..(SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) it amazing place. Cheers!
Divorced, have 2 great kids.
I am an easy going, easy to be with chap, who will either help and chat or give you your space. Cheers!

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour