Rustic Cottage in da Jungle +Kayaks
Hosted by Oscar
Oscar is the host.
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
2 baths
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

CASA MARTINEZ is built w7precious woods on all windows, tables, doors and chairs. It has 1 bed, and 3 sofa beds, it´s all an open space, equipped kitchen, mosquito nets, 2 bathrooms, few steps to the Lagoon, clean spacious, good size balcony & Kayaks

The space

House surrounded by a protected Jungle reserve. Secluded. Open. Spacious. Rustic. Apart from noise. Easy to disconnect from the World.

Guest access

Lagoon. Jungle. Public lagoon club. Kayaks.

Interaction with guests

If we are close by we can chat with guest if not we just talk with them by airbnb chat.

Free parking on premise
Wheelchair accessible

Extra people £4 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee £16
Security Deposit £117
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed
Common spaces
1 queen bed, 2 sofa beds, 1 couch

House Rules
No parties or events

This is not a sophisticated place i.e. it is not on the city the modern World is way apart from here. We do our best to have the place in the best shape possible. The Mayans that helped us do not have a clue of the expectations of guests. They are not aware of the modernity of things.
NO SMOKE in the house.
No abuses. Please take care of the water pump. Heater. And gas.


Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

10 Reviews

Check In
Kendra User Profile
December 2016
We showed up in Buenavista and were instructed "to ask around town for a gentleman who will give you the keys and show you to the house" At first this seemed charming and fun, driving around town asking people in my poor spanish for this person. We found him and he showed us the house - he does not speak English. The house is incredible. Unfortunately, it has clearly sat in the jungle without any love or care for some time. Simple things needed attention- new shower curtains, actual plates and silver ware, one of the pillows intended for us to use was COVERED in mold both sides. The water went out for a night and the next day which was obviously frustrating. The lack of wifi is due to neglect, you can see a radio tower from the house. All around an amazing house with a neglectful owner or manager. MAJOR thing however is the lack of lake front access. It is not on the lake so the kayaks, tho fun, do not have a direct path. It is posted to make you believe it is remote- it is not. Neighbors very close. This would be a great place for a quarter of the listed price ($250 nightly when I booked). In the more than 50 AirBnB I have stayed in around the world, this one was hands down the most disappointing and over-priced. Despite, we still love Mexico and plan to visit Lake Bacalar and stay in an ACCURATE lodging. Would not recommend.
Oscar User Profile
Response from Oscar:
First of all we are sorry about you left feeling that way Kendra we did our best effort to have you happy. We advertise a RUSTIC COTTAGE IN THE JUNGLE and not a luxurious property, and we make clear there is not wi-fi provider in the area. I messaged her making sure she was aware on amenities of the listing and asked her what can we have or buy to make her stay better. She is confused about the price she mentioned of $250 per night, for $180USD per night this house is amazing. To enjoy this house first you need to enjoy yourself.
December 2016

Kenneth User Profile
July 2016
Truly a hidden gem! If you are looking for a place where you can relax in peace, this is it! The house is equipped with everything you can expect, including two bathrooms, a complete kitchen and some lounging areas. To top it off, the house contains a crow's nest from where you get a great view of Lake Bacalar. Furthermore, Oscar is very accommodating and quickly responded to our inquiries. Two things to keep in mind: Buenavista is a very small town and does not contain many restaurants or supermarkets. I would also recommend having a car if you want to stay here as the cottage can only be accessed by a dirt road through the jungle. All in all I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to relax in the Lake Bacalar area!

Luisma User Profile
July 2016
The host canceled this reservation 9 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Risto User Profile
July 2016
Unique place for adventurous traveller. Jungle location next to sea has always mosquitos, yet the indoors was well protected and we didn't have any problems inside the house. Clear communications, interesting location.

Adriana User Profile
June 2016
The house was magnificent and unique, of course being in the middle of the jungle it was a little hard to get to but perfect if you truly want to disconnect from the world. Oscar was a great host always kept in contact to make sure everything was perfect. Thank you!

Amber User Profile
March 2016
We loved our stay at he house. For us being backpackers it was very hard to find because we did not have phone service and we were relying on wifi to contact the host. Be sure to make plans for transportation in advanced if you do not have a car. The house was beautiful and so interesting. It is very close to the beach and we would definitely recommend it to other guests. Our host made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The view from the crows nest was breath taking.
Oscar User Profile
Response from Oscar:
Thank you so much Amber.
March 2016

Caro User Profile
April 2017
La cabaña es muy bonita y tiene una buena vista pero el acceso es muy dificil porque esta en medio de la selva perdida en un pueblito que no es Bacalar precisamente, esta a media hora de la parte donde hay actividades. La cabaña es tal cual se ve en las fotos, el problema es el contexto, no hay señal de celular y mucho menos wifi. Si bien esta cerca de la laguna (hay 2 caminos) uno es privado y nos corrieron cuando quisimos pasar y el otro practicamente no existe, es muy dificil llegar y perdimos mucho tiempo por las malas indicaciones del dueño, cuando por fin dimos con la persona de las llaves nos hizo esperar porque no las tenia con el, por esta razon ese dia no pudimos hacer las actividades que teniamos planeadas que eran ir a dar un recorrido en lancha por la laguna y nos quedamos un dia mas pero con la sorpresa de que el segundo dia ya no teniamos agua, ni en los baños, ni en la cocina por lo que practicamente nos fuimos corriendo en la mañana sin desayunar, no nos pudimos bañar ni usar los baños, en el pueblo de Bacalar habian pocos mosquitos pero al llegar ahi nos atacaban, era practicamente imposible estar fuera de la cabaña.

Playa del Carmen, MexicoJoined in December 2014
Oscar User Profile

Enjoying so far.. hosting guests with airbnb technology I do my best to have my guest comfortable and happy. I always review with 5 starts to any of my guests. Anything you need please let me know.... I post different listings.

Sports just in case:

Golf (10hp) , tennis (b), Kitesurfing, Scuba diving, SUP, Open Water Swimming, Chess (1700), Yoga, Meditation, Blackjack, Roullete, Motorcycling, Boats. Wine tasting.

Travel safe, good things happend.


Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings