Showing TV installed in MayThe desk opened out ready for work!  The TV has since been moved next to it - see previous picture.
Ensuite dble room own kitchen quiet yet central
Ensuite dble room own kitchen quiet yet central


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Equivalent of a one bed flat. Well furnished double bedroom with ensuite bathroom with large shower in stylish bathroom. Your own kitchenette with microwave, hot plate, dishwasher and fridge. The house is on a highly sought after estate within a short walking distance of Newbury town centre. Very convenient for Vodafone. It is a 6 minute drive or 24 minute walk. There are also Vodafone buses from the centre of Newbury which is only a few minutes walk from my house.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £5 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £20
Weekend Price: £50 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

The ground floor is mostly self contained. You have an en suite modern private bathroom with toilet and large shower. There is an additional toilet along the corridor. There is also a kitchenette cum day room which is light, modern and airy. There are two tables, one for me for my occasional art work and a smaller one for light meals.

Guest access

The whole of the ground floor which includes bedroom, ensuite, hallway, separate toilet, kitchenette cum day room and small garden. The clothes drier is in the garage in the garden. The kitchenette is suitable for making light meals. I provide a starter pack of milk, sugar, tea and instant coffee. There is an electric hob and Bosch microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge. The garden room is used by me as an art studio and a few times per week by my daughter who tutors students (one at a time) in there. The tutoring is normally only once per week for a few hours and my artwork is not a daily occurrence. In summer it is nice to have breakfast in the garden. The garden is shared with the host. There is a TV in the bedroom with Freeview.

Interaction with guests

I live
on the top two floors and usually I will be available to help my guests get the best out of the area. I provide a booklet with useful details, safety, and an idea of what to see out of the many exciting places to see and things to do. If you are arriving late at night and want me to buy some basic food items, please email me and pay cash against the receipt.

The neighbourhood

The Old College estate is a safe and sought after location in Newbury with trees, lawns and gardens which are well kept. It is a very short walk the Waitrose supermarket and the centre of the market town. Newbury is situated in an Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). My house is a very short drive to the famous Watermill Theatre, Newbury Racecourse, Arlington Arts, Highclere Castle, Kennet and Avon canal, Oxford, Reading and Heathrow Airport. London Paddington is one hour on the train or car.

Getting around

My house, although in a quiet location, is five minutes walk into the centre of town and a 20 mins walk to Newbury railway station, 30 mins drive to Oxford, about one mile from Newbury Racecourse and 40 - 50 mins drive to Heathrow airport. There are direct trains to London's Paddington station. There are plenty of taxis for short and longer journeys. I am also not far from the Vodaphone world wide headquarters. It is very central for actors and crew working at The Corn Exchange, Watermill and Arlington Arts.

Other things to note

My cat is fed in the kitchenette but he does everything else outside. When I am away, my neighbours come in and feed him with their own key twice per day. The house is not suitable for children.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

Sorry but smoking and drug taking is not welcome. Please no pets. This estate does not allow parking for any vehicle other than a normal car and parking is limited. Vans, camper vans and caravans are not allowed or any commercial vehicle. My cleaner usually comes in one morning per week and at this time the washing machine cannot be used. Couples should either eat out at one of dozens of local restaurants or pubs or cook light meals only and consume them either in the kitchenette or the garden where there is a heater and electric canopy.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

51 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
John User Profile
May 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Helen's and would highly recommend staying there. Ideal location, close to town centre and located in a picturesque community. Would positively stay again if the opportunity arises.

Tony User Profile
April 2017
This is a top-class facility. Helen deserves 5 star ratings in all categories - location (easy walking distance of town centre & Waitrose within 3 mins), and a very nice bedroom & en-suite bathroom. Washing/drying facilities were very convenient. All the information provided was excellent.
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.
Response from Helen:
Hello Tony, Thank you for such a very nice recommendation. It is really appreciated and I do hope you will stay again.
April 2017

Nicole User Profile
April 2017
Spent my 3rd week here with Helen, again another great stay, If I come up to Newbury again for business I will stay here
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.
Response from Helen:
I do hope you will visit again.
April 2017

Mark User Profile
April 2017
A very pleasant stay - good location and value
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.
Response from Helen:
It was good to meet you. Come back soon. Best wishes Helen
April 2017

Nicole User Profile
April 2017
Another great stay at Helens, lovely place to be, quiet, private, looking forward to my final week
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.
Response from Helen:
So nice to have you stay.
April 2017

Nicole User Profile
April 2017
Brilliant stay, am staying again for 2 more weeks, would definitely recommend
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.
Response from Helen:
Nicole, thank you. I am happy to have you here for two more weeks.
April 2017

Osman User Profile
March 2017
Really great place to stay , lovely location and friendly host.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Newbury, United Kingdom · Joined in September 2015
Helen User ProfileHelen is a superhost.

I'm a retired businesswoman who has lived in Newbury for many years. I have many interests including horses, racing, art, football and visiting my apartment in Andalucia, Spain.

A keen skier (ex monitrice) and horse rider (and Arsenal supporter), I also have good connections with the racing and art scene. My house contains many examples of my evolving fascination with painting in watercolour and pastels.

I hold a first Class Swiss diploma "Certificat de Capacite" for restaurants and also for another first class for hotel management from the Canton du Valais, Switzerland.

I speak French fluently and a little Spanish.

I love travelling myself and I know that one of the best things is to have a comfortable bed and endless hot water in a good bathroom. My daughter and I are going to India in December as it is one of the few places on earth where neither of us has visited.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour