The house is set within a landscaped development on the site of an old convent gardens. Resident cats Rolo and Mickey will greet you on arrival!


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A beautiful double room with a huge bed and guest bathroom in a large, comfortable home. A peaceful haven in an exclusive gated courtyard development in Whalley Range, 2 miles to the city centre, close to the lively areas of Chorlton & Didsbury.


Amenities

Prices
Security Deposit: £100
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: £55 / night

Description

The space

The guest bedroom is on the top floor of this three-storey townhouse. There is a separate bathroom on this floor, your own smart TV in the bedroom, free WiFi, plenty of wardrobe space and facilities to make hot drinks.

The house is situated in an exclusive gated courtyard development in the lovely conservation area in Whalley Range and so is private and secure. There is a parking space for guests on the drive.

The house belongs to Georgia, who lives there and will make you feel comfortable during your stay. Bookings are managed by me (Helen) and I help out with guests when Georgia is busy with work. Also resident at the house are Oh, an art student from South Korea who lodges with Georgia and the two cats Mickey and Rolo - both are very sweet and friendly but please be aware of them if you are allergic to cats.

The house is spacious and comfortable. Georgia loves to create an environment in which people can relax and unwind. There is pretty much everything you’ll need whether you want to work, rest or explore Manchester. You are welcome to use the kitchen, dining room and living room. Georgia is sociable and friendly, so if you want some company when she's around, you are very welcome to hang out and chat.

Breakfast is included, with a choice of juice, cereal, toast, fruit and yoghurt. You’ll find everything for breakfast in the guest cupboard and fridge in the kitchen. There is always something gluten-free available too, as well as goat's milk and almond milk. Please let me know if you have any particular requirements for breakfast.

Guest access

You'll have use of the guest bedroom with its superking-size bed, leather chaise, smart TV and ample storage space. Extra pillows & blankets are available to make sure you are comfortable.

There are facilities for making tea, coffee & hot chocolate on the landing, so you can help yourself whenever you want.

You'll also have use of the top floor bathroom, which is only shared with Oh, the lodger. Oh speaks excellent English and loves to meet people but is usually busy with her studies.

The bathroom has a bath and a shower and there's always plenty of hot water and provide big fluffy towels. Help yourself to candles and bubble bath if you fancy a soak!

You are also welcome to use the kitchen. There is a separate cupboard and fridge for guests, containing a full set of crockery, cutlery and glassware for you to use - plus bread, milk, butter, yoghurt and fruit in the guest fridge.
If you wish to cook a meal for yourself, that's fine too

You are welcome to relax in the living room, which has a huge comfy sofa with electric recliners, a smart TV and a wood-burning stove which keeps the room cosy on a chilly evenings.

You can use either the kitchen or dining tables for desk space if you want to get some work done.

In the summer months, you might also like to spend time in the gardens, which are private, peaceful and a haven for birds. There is a bench outside the front of the house that catches the best of the evening sun!

Georgia works from home, so she may be here during the day and guests are therefore asked to respect her private space on the first floor (office, bedroom & bathroom).

Interaction with guests

Georgia loves her home and to share it with guests. The house feels luxurious, comfortable and peaceful, a real haven where you can relax and sleep soundly. The experience she offers is a retreat from the hustle & bustle of the city, but with all its facilities within easy reach.

Georgia prefers guests who have a mature outlook on life and appreciate being in a home that has been created with love and care. This isn’t a party house! Guests are very welcome to hang out and socialise with Georgia, or relax in private as they choose.

Georgia and I are both happy to help as much as we can with local information, recommendations for places to eat, how to get around in the city and you’ll find a lot of that in a guest book in the room when you get here.

The neighbourhood

Whalley Range is a lovely, mature neighbourhood with beautiful old villas and tree-lined streets, just two miles (3km) from the city centre. There is a Co-op grocery and a Tesco just a few minutes' walk from the house, a post office and plenty of local takeaways.

Alexandra Park, only a minute’s walk away, is a great place for a stroll, to feed the ducks or a safe place for a run during daylight hours.

The lively areas of Chorlton & Didsbury are also just a quick drive away with their characterful restaurants, bars & independent shops.

Getting around

The fast & frequent No.85 bus service can take you directly into the city centre, or the university district, in about 15 minutes. Manchester has an excellent bus and tram network, so it's also easy to get to nearby Old Trafford, Salford Quays and the Trafford Centre.

The airport is around 20 minutes away by car - just ask if you would like to arrange to be picked up/dropped off, for an additional £20 cash fee.

Other things to note

The house is in a private gated development with secure parking.

There is good, fast WiFi coverage throughout the house and garden, which you are welcome to use free of charge.

The smart TV in the guest bedroom is set up for all the normal on-demand services including Netflix, as is the TV in the living room.

Breakfast is included and you’ll find everything you need in the guest cupboard and fridge in the kitchen. There’s a selection of cereals, toast, jams, juice, fruit and yoghurt. Help yourself to teas, coffee and hot chocolate on the top floor.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Please respect that this beautiful home is also Georgia's office so she values a calm, quiet environment most of the time. When she's not working, she is very sociable and happy to chat!

Please don’t smoke in the house. There are seating areas in the garden you can use instead.

This is a 'shoes off' house so I would recommend bringing a pair of slippers with you!

Please eat at the kitchen table or in the dining room - food isn't allowed in the bedroom.

Please leave the kitchen clean and tidy after you've used it, and wash up your plates etc. There is a dishwasher you can use.

Just ask if you would like to use the washing machine, tumble dryer, ironing board or hair dryer.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

39 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Hazel User Profile
April 2017
Your home is such an oasis. Just what I need after a long day traveling up from the South, or a day full of meetings in the city. There's everything I need. And it's always a treat if you are there Georgia. And now that I've won the commission I hope to continue seeing you regularly. Thanks so much, Hazel : )

Jonathan User Profile
April 2017
Highly recommend if looking for a room in Manchester.

Mathew User Profile
March 2017
Beautiful home, amazing host, very comfy room and bed, a fantastic place to stay! Thank you x

Hazel User Profile
March 2017
So lovely to see you when I got out of the station - just what I needed when I arrived after a long day. Thanks so much for your hospitality. I now consider this my second home! The room is so comfy, I sleep so well, that it was the perfect setting for a frenetic few days of meetings and interviews. You are always both grounding and inspiring. Looking forward to seeing you the next time! Hazel : )

Aligi User Profile
February 2017
Hello ! Our stay at Georgia's house was fabulous, very nice, clean and comfortable.

Carina User Profile
January 2017
Totally recommend this to everybody. Everything was great!!

Alison User Profile
December 2016
Nice house and handy location for our visit to Manchester.

This host has 285 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Manchester, United Kingdom · Joined in July 2012
Helen User Profile

Friendly 40-something, living in Manchester's coolest neighbourhood!

I came to Manchester for university and liked it so much I've stayed for over twenty years. I know a fair bit about the local history of Manchester, I enjoy cooking and entertaining, knitting, theatre and music, and especially singing with my acappella choir!

I'm gay (so no homophobes please!) a bit 'leftie' and fond of wine & cats.

I've had guests staying from all over the world and enjoy helping people discover Manchester, which is a great city to live in with something interesting going on all through the year.

I currently host in my own home in Chorlton, and I also manage the bookings for a guest room in a large & beautiful house in Whalley Range. Georgia is the homeowner there and lives in the property - I will deal with your enquiries and booking arrangements, but during your stay you'll be sharing the space with Georgia and her friendly cats.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour