Stay in comfort & walk UVA-DT
Hosted by Oliver
Oliver is the host.
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Enjoy the comfort of a thoroughly renovated apartment & local flair of an historic Charlottesville neighborhood. One block from West Main street and it's restaurants and markets. Sunny, open floor plan, one bedroom, dining and living room, well-appointed kitchen.

The space

Come stay in our comfortable, clean and well-appointed apartment in our lovingly renovated house. Enjoy the open floor plan, ideal location in Fifeville, a nationally designated historic neighborhood, and the ambiance of an artfully appointed city apartment. The apartment has many wonderful attributes that we hope you enjoy as much as we do!

SLEEPING SPACE

This apartment is ideal for 2 people, but can sleep up to 4 with the futon in the common space. Please note that we charge for dogs like extra people at $25/night.

-one bedroom with queen sized bed
-full-sized futon in common space

KITCHEN

We love cooking, so you will be in great shape if you want to eat in. Our kitchen is a full kitchen with gas stove equipped with pots, pans, mixing bowls. We provide coffee, tea, olive oil, salt and pepper. If there are specific things you need, we're just upstairs and will help if we can!

BATH
There is one bathroom with antique claw foot tub and shower. We have provided a little step stool for those who want more support getting in and out of the tub.

OUTDOOR FEATURES

We are very proud of our garden and are happy to have people enjoy it during their stay.

-outdoor table in the vegetable garden for alfresco dining
-outdoor lounge furniture

Location

Our house is perfectly situated in a lively neighborhood where folks stop to talk on the street and walking/biking is the norm. We are just three blocks from West Main Street (by the Main Street Market), a 10 minute walk to the Downtown Mall, and a 15 minute walk to UVA and the Corner. Walk to Amtrak and Greyhound. Right by the free trolley line. Fifeville is a diverse neighborhood and more urban than other Charlottesville neighborhoods, please note if you are particularly noise and light sensitive.

Please be aware that you are staying in a house that is over 100 years old and it does not have the same sound proofing as modern houses. The floor boards creak and sound carries, which is why we ask people to remove shoes in the house and keep the partying to the bars.

Pets
We love animals and understand that you want to bring yours with you, but are also aware of the impact that animals have on a house. To help accommodate your pet we are willing to consider dogs for a $25/night pet fee, depending on the length of stay. Please inquire about specifics.

Laundry
We have a washer and dryer available for your use.

Restaurants (Main Street - within 5 minute walk)

*Oakhart Social--our current favorite, excellent food and cocktails, you'll need reservations...
*Blue Moon Diner - Hip little diner around the corner on Main
*Continental Divide - Further up main towards UVA . .mex-usa. Highly recommended for casual dining and margaritas
*Orzo - Lovely food in the mainstreet market
*Maya - On main street across from 7th . .
*Bellas - Nextdoor to Maya, fantastic Italian family style
*3 Penny Cafe-good brunch option

Shops (Main Street Market) -- within 5 minute walk)
*Albemarle Baking Company (best bread and desserts)
*Feast (high end grocery)
*Organic Butcher
*Seafood @ West Main

*Cherry Ave Exxon-Excellent beer selection, has wine also, 5 minute walk (turn right on Cherry Ave if you are coming from the house)

About Us
I grew up in Charlottesville and Natasha and I together have called Charlottesville home since 2004. We have a semi-nomadic tendencies and enjoy hosting visitors in the neighborhood we call home. In 2014-2015 we quit our day jobs to travel in South and Central America starting with the World Cup in Brazil. In December of 2015 we had a baby girl Ursula. We know all the ins and outs of town and the surroundings and should be around (we live in the upstairs apartment) to answer your questions.

Guest access

You will have access to the full apartment and outdoor space. The outside yard space is common space shared with us, we live in the upstairs apartment. There is a front porch that you are welcome to use!

Interaction with guests

We will be interacting primarily by text/e-mail although typically we are able to meet guests if preferred. We are setup to maximize your privacy during your stay. We live upstairs so it should be easy to find us, unless we are out of town.

We know tons about the area and are completely available to answer any questions or help you plan your stay.

Other things to note

The driveway holds two cars. We have one parking space off-street available for your use. Please park so another car can also park in the drive. Street parking is available, just please be sensitive to neighbors who need convenient parking and consider parking extra cars on Dice Street. Carpooling is encouraged.

This is not the best house for people who are super noise sensitive. The house that was built 100 years ago so it is a bit creaky. Our neighborhood bustles on the weekends when there is warm weather.

Because we are in an urban neighborhood and the bedroom is street facing, we have provided a noise machine for people who like a little background noise when they sleep.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

Please read through the house rules in their entirety BEFORE booking so you know what to expect! By booking, you are confirming that you have read and agree to the house rules.

Generally the ethic is to leave things as tidy as you found them and to treat our things as if they were your own. This means doing any dishes and cleaning up any messes created by your group and respecting our personal property. If something gets broken, it is generally not a big deal, but we would appreciate being informed.

No unregistered guests or animals. If the size of your party changes, that is generally no problem, please let us know and we can adjust the reservation accordingly. We love dogs. We understand that people want to bring their dogs with them when they travel and want to accommodate them. Dogs do have an impact on a property and as such we treat dogs as an extra person ($25/night). Dogs are welcome as long as they are well behaved and do not bark incessantly. We also ask that dogs are kept off the furniture. We cannot accept cats because of a cat allergy.

We live upstairs and had a baby girl in December 2015. She is a complete cherub, but she sometimes cries because she is a baby. Our house is a neighborhood surrounded by families (and our friends). We expect our guests to be respectful and quiet in the evenings (no loud music and high volume activities after 10:00) and keep the partying to the bars, etc. We also ask that people REMOVE THEIR SHOES while inside the house. This is especially important when coming home late.

Children are welcomed. We generally charge for them like extra people. We do have a pack and play that we are happy to make available and other baby stuff upon request.

We do encourage folks to use our kitchen and enjoy a dinner with friends around our large dinning room table.

Please dispose of all your trash in the trash bin outside and recycling in the recycling bin upon departure. We appreciate it if you can strip the beds and start a load of laundry, but it is not necessary, just really helpful!

Please no smoking in the house, but you are welcome to smoke on the porch. We just ask that you dispose of your butts properly. Thanks!


Cancellations

43 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Zwelli User Profile
September 2017
The pictures do not do this lovely little place justice. Would definitely stay again.

David User Profile
July 2016
This is a great place to stay in Charlottesville, Virginia! Well situated - almost equidistant between the University of Virginia and the 'old' part of the town and pedestrian mall. It is also on the 'right' side of town for the drive to Montecello - a 'must visit' for anyone coming to Charlottesville. The appartment is spacious and well equiped. Oliver is a very good host: relaxed and approachable but very welcoming and helpful with information.

Jean User Profile
October 2017
Great location for where we wanted to go. Easy communications from owner so we knew how to access property upfront. Would definitely recommend!

Chris User Profile
October 2017
Great stay, cool book collection in a neighborhood close to everything!

Marcy User Profile
September 2017
My mom, 2 dogs and I stayed at Oliver's for 2 nights. What a great place. There is a lovely park about a block away that my dogs loved. Montecillo was a 5 minute drive. Tons of food options in walking distance. Oliver's instructions are VERY clear. The neighborhood can be a little off-puting at first glance but I found everyone to be very friendly. Oliver's home has everything yoh would need, very clean. The bed is super comfy - sheets are so soft!!! The place is a real bargain!

Molly User Profile
September 2017
Succeed my expectations- so spacious and amazing light! Clean, quaint, and an easy walk to the downtown mall. The books and food in the fridge show that the owners care about your experience. Will 100% stay here next time I'm in Charlottesville.

Nick User Profile
September 2017
Responsive host. Accurate listing. First time using AirBnB. Unsure if I'd use AirBnB again because host has zero recourse against the people he rented to upstairs. Folks upstairs were pretty much having a house party. Hotels have immediate recourse against inconsiderate customers. They also can protect guests by anonymizing complaints. Not so much with AirBnB. Unsure if I'd use this app again.

Charlottesville, Virginia, United StatesJoined in September 2011
Oliver User Profile
I grew up in Charlottesville, Virginia and live here with my wife, Natasha, and our daughter Ursula. We have had many amazing experiences both as hosts and guests on airbnb and are always excited to host fellow travelers. We have both recently transitioned to working for ou…
Languages: English, Español, Português, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings