Skip to content
Abercorn, Georgian, quirky and beautiful, 5 bedrooms, 3 to let.Our small city garden, a work in progress!
Abercorn-beautiful, house & garden
Abercorn-beautiful, house & garden
1 guest
1 bedroom
3 beds
2 baths
1 guest
1 bedroom
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Quirky, comfortable and welcoming house, built 1780s, in private road, quiet neighbourhood 20 minutes from city centre, on good public transport links, including night buses. Close to Queen's Park, Portobello Beach. Near supermarkets, bank, library.

The space

We have a 2-storey Georgian townhouse to share, 3 bedrooms to let, one kingsize with room for a third person if required, one double, one single. The house is very old with original features-beautiful large windows and high ceilings,working fireplaces, window shutters, wooden and flagstone floors. We try to make our rooms welcoming and comfortable and provide high quality bed-linens and towels. For longterm guests we have a 'your room, your responsibility' policy. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned before you arrive and after departure too. In order to minimise cleaning fees to you, it is up to you to keep your bedroom clean, to change your bedlinen/towels and wash them. All the rooms have extra linens provided but please do not leave them for us to launder. If you do not wish to care for your room, an additional charge will be applied, and we can bring in a cleaner as mutually agreed.

Guest access

As well as your bedroom, there is a shared bathroom/shower for guests and use of our lovely bespoke dining-kitchen, as well as the garden if you can cope with out Scottish climate! The sitting room is for family use only.

Interaction with guests

We are Scottish, friendly and helpful but also have busy lives so ideally wish to share with people who are friendly but independent too. Of course we will be available to help and guide you and hope to make your visit happy and comfortable too. Do remember this is a two-way process though-we are very amenable but do run this house as a business.

Other things to note

We have 2 cats who are friendly but reserved unless you offer them encouragement! Please do not feed the cats, allow them on the kitchen table/surfaces and in bedrooms as this encourages them and then they will get into bad habits! Please don't invite extra guests into our house without prior consent-this is a security issue for our home and other guests too.

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Internet
Family/Kid Friendly
Kitchen
Prices
Cleaning Fee £20
Weekly Discount: 8%
Weekend Price £28 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

Please remove outdoor shoes at front door. Please leave kitchen clean and tidy, including washing and putting dishes away after use. Wipe out bathroom basin and tub after use too-there are cleaning materials in the mirrored cupboard as well as a mop should the floor get wet. Thank you!

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door
Availability
1 night minimum stay

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Cara User Profile
October 2017
Maggie and Mick have a beautiful home, they have everything you could need for a short or long stay, an excellently equipped kitchen and lovely bathrooms and bedrooms. Very comfortable and accommodating. Great transport links into and out of town very convenient. Surrounded by good shops and restaurants, and a large supermarket only two minutes away, would recommend.

Kate User Profile
July 2016
This old house has a magical atmosphere. Maggie is a wonderful, charming and very helpful person. Around cool pubs and shops (Morrisons). Good communication throughout the city. It's my nicest memories of Edinburgh. It is an extraordinary place! I would recommend!

Damien User Profile
Damien
October 2017
nice stay

Catherine User Profile
May 2017
Maggie and Mick are great hosts and were lovely, interesting and very helpful. Also, the house is full of character and just a short, easy bus-ride from the centre of town.

Ingrid User Profile
April 2017
The host canceled this reservation 76 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Tom User Profile
April 2017
I would highly recommend anyone looking for a place to stay to look check in with Maggie. She was the kindest, most helpful caring person. They went out of their way to make my stay very wonderful and enjoyable for the whole 9 days that I spent at their home. Great job Maggie!!!

Anne User Profile
July 2016
I enjoyed my stay at Maggie's home. The room was very spacious, the kitchen was also a very pleasant space. The location is midway between Edinburgh and Portabello, making each place easily accessible by frequent bus or a pleasant half hour or so walk. There is a large grocery store nearby for shopping and I even had something dry cleaned! I would definitely recommend the place and would return if visiting Edinburgh again. Thank you Maggie for being such a welcoming host.

Edinburgh, United KingdomJoined in July 2015
Maggie User Profile

Hi I am a social anthropologist, interested in issues of gender, migration, childhood, and more widely social justice and the environment. My home is very important to me, as a nurturing place and I share it with my partner and sometimes my younger adult soon, who is a musician, furniture-maker and brilliant chef, as well as two cats. I love to cook, to dance, to socialise but also to spend quiet time in reflection. I practice pilates regularly, swim-I am a water-baby- and love to be in nature and love the sun and light. I also love to travel and my academic work has created the opportunity to live elsewhere, in the U.S. (California) and also South Asia (Bangladesh) where my Doctoral research was situated. We are Scottish, very welcoming and helpful but also have busy lives so welcome people who are friendly but also independent. We like our home to reflect the diversity within the world we all share so wish to host people who are tolerant and accepting, so we may live together harmoniously within the space.....

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings