Adorable 1806 Tavern House @ Forest Retreat

Entire home/flat

6 guests

3 bedrooms

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This adorable Tavern house at Forest Retreat sleeps 6 with 3 bedrooms, 2 queens and 2 twins, 1 1/2 baths, and fully stocked kitchen is perfect for weekend getaways, ladies retreats, bridal/baby showers. Built as a travelers home in 1806, an astounding 211 years worth of charm with some quirky unique features!


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

The space
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 4
Check In: 4PM - 6PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee £46
Security Deposit £381
Weekly Discount: 25%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Given the Historic nature of the property and the large amount of antiquities located on the property we hope that you will cherish and treat the home with respect to its heritage but make yourself at home. We have a full time private renter located on the property as well as groundskeepers who come and go from the property daily to monitor for unusual activity for your safety and ours. Our home is protected by ADT. The information binder for the ins and outs, emergency procedures and phone numbers is located in the kitchen for your convenience


We are child/infant friendly in that you may bring children to stay, we do not have special equipment available on site, that would be the responsibility of the renter but we certainly welcome families of all shapes and sizes however we are not a child proof home but can gladly assist in making any arrangements needed to make your stay more child friendly

Parties/Events allowed with prior approval from Host, additional fees may apply

Absolutely no smoking in our home due to the Historic nature and need for continued preservation of it, you may smoke outside away from any flammable materials and dispose of ash and butts properly

We also have a strict no pet policy due to the historic nature of the property and preservation of the antiquities


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jen User Profile
June 2017
The host canceled this reservation 22 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Dawnn User Profile
May 2017
This 1806 historic home is absolutely fantastic when wanting to escape the chaos of city life. There is a reason why the pursuit of joy and happiness is so important and these owners have found it. You will travel through miles of beautiful, winding horse country lined here and there by centuries-old stone walls and road borders. There are few stores dotted around - no malls, shopping centers, or large grocery chains. The beauty of the land is amazing. The home is actually across the street from the main bed & breakfast along with the original travelers' stone horse stable still used today. Allysha met us and was so gracious & told us the full history of the home which is extremely well restored. The entryway is fantastic with original small steps leading upstairs (our favorite part - not for elderly but there is a handrail). The doors are also beautifully original hearkening back to colonial days (don't forget to duck if you're tall). Beds were comfortable & house is very clean. Just remember, it is a 200 year old home with wood interiors so things do creak & stick now & then expectedly. We loved all the antiques & furnishings. A fresh basket of eggs, bacon, snacks & Kentuckey made drinks provided. We loved it. Don't worry - no ghosts. They have set up wi-fi so we were able to connect to our netfliks account for family movie night. Allysha told us of the Blue Lick State Park just a few minutes down the road with a full buffet, walking trails & more historic signs & tales. That was the perfect dinner recommendation!

Melany User Profile
May 2017
This 200 years old house is really charming. It's like traveling into the past. My girls were a bit scared at the beginning but enjoyed at the end discovering all little things in the house. This house is not for young children. Far from the city you will enjoy the scenic road to go there. Allysha was very available and did a tour of the house with us when we arrived. We felt very welcomed. She even invited us to see more of the property, unfortunately we were on a busy schedule. My girls woke up and ran to see the horses. The kitchen is fully furnished and allysha even let us some attention in the fridge. If you have allergies this house is not for you.
Allysha User Profile
Response from Allysha:
So sorry you had allergy problems while you were here, springtime in Kentucky is definitely hard on those with allergies, the staircase is steep and not recommended for the Very old or young, Thank you guys so much for staying with us!
May 2017

Melinda User Profile
May 2017
Very unique house in the country. Views behind the house and across the road are pretty. A lot of very interesting history surround the property. Alyssha was available at check in and responded very quickly to any of our requests. It is fairly close to the road, but traffic noise not loud inside. Due to the house being over 200 years old, there are a few quirks, but nothing that we couldn't work with.

Kareen User Profile
November 2016
The Tavern at Forest Retreat is a quaint and cozy place to stay if you are visiting northern KY. Perfect for our family of 4 with plenty of room to spread out across 3 bedrooms. From the authentic 200 yr old house, the thoughtful decor and antiques and well equipped kitchen, you won't be disappointed. Our host made us feel right at home leaving snacks, breakfast makings and baked goods for us in the kitchen when we arrived which was a really nice touch. The beds are super comfortable too. There is a nice fenced in yard overlooking a beautiful green hill. This is a great place for a getaway and to explore this historic part of the state. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for an alternate to a chain motel.
Allysha User Profile
Response from Allysha:
Thank you so much, so glad you enjoyed it as much as we do!
November 2016

This host has 6 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ewing, Kentucky, United StatesJoined in September 2015
Allysha User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Similar listings