Breakfast guests. They love your toast and bread scrapsComfy lounges, Books, games, PS3, DVD player
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1 bath
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Converted Secluded Space - set amongst the gum trees. Warm wood heater, comfy lounges, high speed wifi, playstation 3, games, DVD player. Easy access. Well behaved pets and children welcome! It is normally available late June through to September. Other times - please contact us.

The space

Gumnut Cottage is a converted space offering a private, peaceful retreat for couples, groups of friends, as an artistic retreat for an intimate group or for families.

The kitchen has an electric oven, griller with a ceramic cooktop stove. There is a microwave, a refrigerator and a stand up freezer outside.

There is a variety of cookware and utensils provided so guests have everything they need to prepare and cook meals . Basic kitchen utensils, cutlery, plates etc, toaster, juicer, blender, coffee machine are here.

The converted cottage space has very high ceilings, freshly painted and is tiled throughout to give a spacious feeling.

The dining table inside seats six, but can be extended to seat 8. There is a sunny outside settee for smokers and garden settings out under the trees for a more peaceful escape.

We have a small firepit outside the patio area surrounded by rough sawn logs to sit round the warm coals and toast marshmallows after a busy day at the wineries or bushwalking.

Please note, that sufficient firepit wood will be supplied for an ambient, marshmallows toasting fire to chat round for one evening. Should you want to cook over it or have a larger fire or a fire every night of your stay, extra wood will need to be purchased or brought. Our local IGA has wood for this purpose.

The "Base Pricing" is for two people (adults or children) accommodated in the King Sized room - Grevillea. The other rooms will be closed off, unless extra people are booked in. In your message to us, please specify which bedding configuration is required - Warratah Room ( 2 bunk beds beds which are suitable for adults to sleep in ) and / or Banksia Room ( Double Bed).

Total bedding configuration is strictly for 8 people ( adults or children) and extra bedding or beds is, unfortunately, not possible. Our bunk beds, though comply with Australian Standards, come with the advice that children under 10 should not be allowed to sleep in the top bunk beds.

There is no charge for well behaved pets who bring their own bedding.

We have four Angus cows, four chickens and three geese on the property. Though they won't be in a space directly accessible to the cottage, those with sensitivities and allergies may need to know this. Please also note that our cottage welcomes pets inside and though cleaned thoroughly after each guest leaves, those with sensitivities and allergies to pets may need to take this into account before booking.

Guests are welcome to hand feed the cows and chickens at feeding times. Please pre-arrange this for your visit.

Gumnut Cottage is easily located as we are just off the highway and although the traffic can be heard during the daytime, our buffer of trees and native shrubs buffers the noise and during the evening, there is very little traffic on the roads.

We welcome well behaved pets both inside and outside the cottage. However, please note that there is livestock in adjoining paddocks, so pets must be on a lead or tied up at all times and must not be allowed to wander. Pets must not be allowed to sit or sleep on lounges, chairs or beds.

Parents are reminded that there are large dams close by and although separated by barbed wire fences, they are urged to ensure they supervise children at all times.

Guests are asked to take into account that the cottage is located in the countryside and as such, our animal visitors will, from time to time, leave their unique calling cards on the patio, and though these are cleaned up regularly, that guests may encounter these 'gifts' on their shoes. Also, though regularly spiderwebs are taken down from walls and ceilings and these arachnid families are lovingly encouraged to live elsewhere, our spiders are extremely resilient, hardworking and diligent and like to show their appreciation of co-habiting with guests. They particularly love to hang out on the patio. Eviction notices don't seem to be quite cutting it with them at the moment.

Guest access

Stand alone self contained cottage is 200 metres from the main house. Guests are kindly asked to park in the signed area near the cottage

We can be flexible with check in and check out times, depending on our bookings, so please ask, so we can attempt to accomodate your needs.

Interaction with guests

We are generally available, but respect guests privacy and have set the cottage up so that check in and check out is smooth with no real need for us to bother our guests.

Our intention is for guests to check in, come and go and check out with the most privacy as possible.

Annie is more than happy to lend her local knowledge of the surrounding wineries and attractions to allow you to have a wonderful break away, so please contact her if you need anything.

Other things to note

We don't charge a cleaning fee, nor do we have a security bond as we trust in the community spirit and intentions of AirBnB. Taking this into account, guests are asked to leave the cottage in a tidy manner. Our cottage is not intended to be represented or compared to commercial bed and breakfasts, hotel, motel or resort rooms and the prices reflect this. Prospective guests who are expecting commercial grade facilities perhaps may be best served by searching mainstream and commercial listings.

Please note that we run on tank water and reliant on the rainfall to fill them. We have installed water saving devices and the shower has a 5 min water timer, which gives very loud warning signals as the time approaches so that you can finish your shower off.

We are pet and child friendly but remind guests that there are large dams and livestock in adjacent paddocks ( barbed wire fences) so care must be taken with both children and animals. All dogs must be kept on a lead and must not be allowed to wander.

The Granite Belt is 2 hours drive from Brisbane and is Queensland's Wine Country, with wonderful wineries, breweries, sample some fantastic fresh fruit and veg, gourmet delis and cafes in area. There is excellent bushwalking within nearby National Parks with plenty of natural beauty. Queen Mary Falls is also a great attraction for locals and visitors alike.

Annie is happy to help you plan your larger trip around Australia with some great tips as she loves to exchange travel suggestions and ideas.


Extra people £9 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price £74 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
2 bunk beds

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM
Check out by 10AM

Our cottage is not intended to be represented or compared to commercial bed and breakfasts, hotel, motel or resort rooms and the prices reflect this. It is in the countryside, there will be spiders, their webs, dust and other countryside environmental factors. Though these will be cleaned and tidied and managed to our best ability, there will be the possibility of guests encountering "the countryside".

No smoking within the cottage, but it is allowed outside on the outside setting near the firepit (so long as butts are placed in bins)

Please take short showers and be mindful of water usage as our source is tank water. We have water saving devices as well as a timer on the shower installed.

Please don't move inside furniture or chairs outside.

Please don't wear the fluffy dressing gowns outside the cottage ( they collect dirt, sticks and are then really hard to clean!)

We ask you tidy and respect the space as though it were your own. (On check out, put all rubbish in bins, wipe surfaces, clear up messes, wash up dishes. Appreciated too, is if sheets and pillow cases are stripped from beds and placed on floor with used towels)

Please only use the fire wood provided. Logs and firewood for the inside woodheater is stacked neatly at the side of the patio. This is only to be used inside. Rougher bushcuts will be stacked near the firepit to be used only in the fire pit. We respectful ask guests not to collect their own wood from our property.

We welcome well behaved pets who bring their own bedding and leads ( no pets on our lounges or in our beds please.)

We don't charge a cleaning fee, nor do we have a security bond as we trust in the community spirit and intentions of AirBnB. Taking this into account, guests are asked to leave the cottage in a tidy manner.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - cows, chickens, horses


Safety features
Smoke detector

The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

24 Reviews

Check In
Charles User Profile
August 2017
Had a lovely couple of nights at Gumnut Cottage. Annie was so helpful with information and ensuring we had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as can be. The cottage had all the things we needed to self cater. Unfortunately, we didn't get around to using the outside fire pit as we were too tired after one too many bush walks during the day, so in the evening we chose to enjoy the inside wood burner instead! Next time!
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
Thank you so much Charles and family. I'm so delighted you found some of our natural gems and were able to stuff in so much bushwalking. You most def are welcome back ANYTIME as your whole delightful family were so polite, so tidy and so undemanding. I'll stack up some marshmellows ready for your next visit.
August 2017

Hannah User Profile
August 2017
My girlfriends and I stayed at gumnut cottage for a weekend away with a wine tour. Our stay was perfect the scenery is picturesque and peaceful the cottage was immaculate with dressing gowns and marshmallows. Everything you could need. Annie and Michael were extremely helpful and communicative leading up to our stay. Would highly recommend nothing beats sitting around a fire having some drinks with your mates. Thanks for an incredible stay guys, would love to come back day! Would absolutely Recommend.

Chantal User Profile
July 2017
Good value accommodation in a lovely country setting. Although there was a wood heater we happened to stay over a few very cold nights and found it a little chilly as the cottage is all tiled and there are limited proper window coverings to help keep the heat in. Dressing gowns and chocolate biscuits were provided which was a nice extra touch. The stove didn't work very well, but otherwise we had a pleasant stay.
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
Oh no! I'm sorry you had problems with the stove - its temperamental - but easily worked around when you read the cottage manual and follow the steps in the section headed "Stove and Oven"... and a shame you didn't message me as I could have easily and quickly popped down and shown you as well. I'm glad you indulged in the dressing gowns and lazy nights in sipping wine - bliss!
July 2017

Geordie User Profile
July 2017
Very comfortable and spacious and extremely clean and tidy. We loved the thoughtful extras included to make us feel welcome - like the super soft oversized dressing gowns, the hot water bottles, Tim Tams, and the enormous marshmallows to toast over the fire. The cottage is close to everything you want to see on the Granite Belt, quiet and private. The cottage is always warm with the fire going inside. Great value. Great hosts who are willing to help out with travel plans and tips.
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
Thanks so much again for choosing to stay. We are glad you loved the cosy atmosphere and had a chance to enjoy our cottage. Hope to see you again soon.
July 2017

Emma User Profile
July 2017
Annie was very helpful with information prior to our stay, which was really appreciated. Unfortunately there is a 3 minute timer on the shower which I unfortunately found out whilst trying to wash my hair. I understand water conservation is important but that is just way too little and there are no signs in the bathroom warning of the limit which I would expect (rather than having to read through the entire house manual). Also, be warned that the bathroom is merely partitioned (albeit with a proper wall) with a very large gap at the top allowing the sound of any bathroom activities to travel very well across the tiled accomodation. If you're going with a group I would feel very awkward. The batteries were missing from the dvd remote and there were also no fire starters left in the indoor fire container. Not huge things but at all added up. We had an okay stay, but will go elsewhere next time.
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
I'm sorry to discover only through the review - and not via a message while the guests were here - that there were no batteries in the remote or that the firestarters had been used up - this could have been swiftly remedied with no problems at all - especially as the guests had messaged us early in their stay asking for advice on another matter, which was answered immediately. Yes, we have been forced to put water savers and timers in as water is extremely scarce with most visitors not respecting this fact. Its set at 5 mins not 3 mins. The timer has a very loud warning at 30 second intervals and you have 2 mins from the first warning to finish your shower. We respect guests privacy and time, so don't labour the rules and guidelines, thus the house manual is clearly set out for reference.
July 2017

Erin User Profile
July 2017
A lovely place to stay! Just out of stanthorpe but super close to heaps of things to do in the region. Ample room, comfy beds and the fireplace and fire pit were fantastic! Definitely value for money! Annie and Michael are super friendly and accommodating.
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
Thanks so much for staying with us Erin - your lovely group are always welcome. We enjoyed hearing everyone there singing and laughing round the campfire - just what the countryside is all about!
July 2017

Tammy User Profile
July 2017
Great base for exploring the Granite Belt. Annie provided lots of information which was very useful. We loved Donnelly's Castle and also the old rail tunnel at Dalveen which we wouldn't have found without Annie's local knowledge. The accommodation was very spacious and beds comfy (better than many hotels). Outdoor fire pit was a big hit with our teenage boys.
Annie And Michael User Profile
Response from Annie And Michael:
So glad you enjoyed everything the district had to offer. Yes! that firepit gets a real working out over the winter months - I'd hate to think how many marshmellows are consumed there!
July 2017

Dalveen, AustraliaJoined in February 2013
Annie And Michael User Profile

We are Aussies on walkabout, having lived and worked in a number of countries.
Annie is a writer, Special Needs Teacher, Mum of 2, artist, and creator of fun.
Michael works in hospitality, loves deep conversations and is a great cook.
Morgan is a bookworm who loves to sketch.
Lilly embraces creative arts and infuses her love of life in everything she does.
Both kids are mature beyond their years.

Our little family love to experience new cultures, foods and people. We love to explore nature, learn about the culture and history as well as to ease into the backstreets of local life. We are easy going but organised, tidy and grateful guests.

I blog about our travels - so pop on over and see where we've been/ where we are! http://

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings