Skip to content

The Oak. Entire Home. 2 Double Bedrooms.

SuperhostElm Grove, Brighton, England
Entire house hosted by Maxine
4 guests2 bedrooms2 beds1 bathroom
Entire home
You’ll have the house to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This host committed to a rigorous cleaning protocol developed with leading health and hospitality experts. Learn more
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the lockbox.
Maxine is a Superhost
Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
Beautiful interior designer 2 bed house. Live like a local, just 17 mins walk to sea. Close to park, great views and pubs. You’ll love my place because of decor, ambiance and local feel. My peaceful home is great for couples, Brighton explorers and business travellers. It's not for party people. Parking permits on request for a small fee in zone S (which offers free parking at the weekend).

The space
The Oak. Enjoy your stay in my quirky home. My house is in the friendly area of Hanover in a little two bed colourful terrace house. If you are looking for a calm, peaceful space to rest your head at the end of a busy day exploring Brighton - then this is the spot for you.

My house is perfect for someone who is visiting for work or to see friends. Or for people looking for the 'real' experience of enjoying Brighton as if you are a local. Due to the residential area, my home is NOT suitable for party people, students or for loud groups. If you think you are going to be out late, hitting the dance floor or are planning a drinking session, then please book somewhere else as my home is not suitable.

There are two bedroom - one has a painted French double bed and the other an upholstered smaller double bed. Both with new memory foam mattresses. There are fresh clean towels and hooks to hang your clothes. There is hairdryer in each room. Each room is very cosy, warm and bright.

My home is an old Railway workers' cottage/terraced house and is made up of:
1 x large double bedroom with double bed
1 x smaller double bedroom with double bed with views onto garden
1 x bathroom (be aware of low ceiling)
1 x galley kitchen
1 x paved outdoor garden
Open plan living and dining space.
Hallway/entrance

I'm making my place homely, so every day something new is added or I change things around - most recently I've put in a new kitchen, new roll top bathroom, renovated the living/dining area, and redesigned the garden. I'm an interior stylist so I take pride in my home as you will tell.

Guest Access

There is a small garden where you can sit outside, a kitchen where you can make a cup of tea. A cosy living room, and then the dining room. There is wifi. On street free parking at the weekends.

Interaction with Guests

I'm from Brighton so I can help you explore the area in detail. I know lots of good pubs and walks in the area. This is my home and I only rent my place when I am away with work.

I'm happy for you to use the space as your own but use of the oven is on request and needs to be agreed in advance. But don't worry as Hanover has a huge choice of great local pubs.

I'm well travelled and love hosting. I'm a chatty person and know the area really well so can help you with your trip to Brighton.

The house is in walking distance to the hospital. And about 15 from the sea. Situated at the top of elm grove hill - you've gets some amazing views are you walk down into town. Staying here, you'll feel like a local :-

Check in is after 3pm and check out at 11am. If you need to come earlier or leave later - just ask.

I'm really proud that my guests have given me 5 star reviews and will do my best to make sure you have a 5 star stay.

The Neighbourhood

Ideally situated for the hospital and university, my houses is Hanover (also know as Muesli Hill) which is a very friendly area of Brighton, full of back-to-back houses all painted in different shades. The area has a host of local pubs on every corner - very unusual these days.

10 mins walk from the trendy & hip London Road. 15 mins walk from cool area of Kemp Town with great cocktail bars. There is a big park, Queen's Park, nearby which Teddy & I love to go for a walk in.

Getting Around

There are buses into town but you will find it just as quick to walk. Hanover is an area on a hill - just to warn you - it will make you fit. There is free parking outside the front of the house. There are buses to the sea too. And a taxi from the station costs about £7.
House quirks to note

* The house is slowly been done up, so the photos might not be bang up to date (the house is getting better and better each week).

* Guests who are 6' + tall may find the shower a tad low and you might need to duck a bit to wash. It was the only way I could fit a shower in the bathroom. I'm 5'8" and it has never been an issue and there is a big roll top bath if you need a deep soak.

* This is my full time home not a holiday house so my personal possessions are dotted around the place. That's kinda the point of air bnb though!

* The locks on the bathroom door is tricky to lock.

* There are hooks everywhere for you to hang your clothes or pop in the wardrobe where I'll have left you space.

* This is a no-shoe house. Don't worry, I have underfloor heating.

* Brand new carpets upstairs = no food or drinks in the bedrooms.

* My home is renovated 1890s railway workers terrace cottage (I know all the history). The nature of these house in the area, you may hear some noises from neighbours in the kitchen where the walls are made from Banagoush - this always stops after 8pm. But be aware that they can hear you too. Please be respectful of noise.

* I've updated the manual with house rules which is in my house about noise, breakages, permission to cook etc please take the time out to read it before you stay, and feel free to ask any questions.

That's it! Any questions, please message me.

Guest access
I rent out the space as a whole (The Oak) or just as a single room, sharing the space with myself (Little Acorn ) https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/5443042)

Other things to note
Noise:
You will note how quiet my road is (it is a cul de sac) as a consequence noise does travel. As my home is in a residential area and there have been some issues with noisy guests in the past disturbing my neighbours, I ask you kindly to:
* Close the front door quietly
* Not stand outside front of the house or in the garden chatting past 10:30pm
* Be respectful of my neighbours when coming and going
* If you are coming late at night in a taxi, please get it to drop you off at the top of the road and walk down.
* Turn down music in the house after 10:30pm
Above is all common sense when considering the age and area of my property.

** Parties or loud groups are strictly not permitted on the property. Guests found breaking this rule will be charged and asked to leave the property immediately without further notice and without a refund. **

* Any missing items from the house will be noted and you will be charged *

* If the property is left in an unacceptable state, you will be charged an additional cleaning fee. Please return my home as you found it *

* No extra guests allowed outside of the air bnb booking, And no overnight visitors to the property allowed.*
Beautiful interior designer 2 bed house. Live like a local, just 17 mins walk to sea. Close to park, great views and pubs. You’ll love my place because of decor, ambiance and local feel. My peaceful home is great for couples, Brighton explorers and business travellers. It's not for party people. Parking permits on request for a small fee in zone S (which offers free parking at the weekend).

The spac…

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed

Amenities

Kitchen
Wifi
Breakfast
Indoor fireplace
Dryer
Laptop-friendly workspace
TV
Washing machine
Iron
Hair dryer

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing

4.89 out of 5 stars from 83 reviews
4.89 (83 reviews)

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

Location

Elm Grove, Brighton, England

Hanover is just lovely. Such a quiet area. Great pubs, Great food. Free Parking on the streets on weekends and I can arrange a permit for during the week. You will love your time here.

Hosted by Maxine

Joined in March 2011
  • 139 Reviews
  • Verified
  • Superhost
Hello there Hope you love my home as much as me. I'm an interior designer by trade, working for magazines and tv. You may have spotted the house in a few pages of interior magazines over the years. I love Brighton. It is the perfect mix of vintage shopping (I spent my life savings in the charity shops here), and a lively music and arts scene. During the Summer you'll find live music festivals, real ale fairs. The beach is a great place to hang out. Many a weekend has been spend cycling along the sea front, walking my dog or enjoying a beach BBQ in the evening with friends. I'm into yoga and cycling (I own two vintage bikes!). I'm a walk down to the London Road - which is described as the 'shoreditch' of Brighton - with great food, indoor market, bars and nightlife. I'm also near a great skate park - and the Level. In the other direction is Queens Park (great for dogs) and Kemp Town with cocktail bars, food and most importantly the sea with our very own wheel. I'm from the area so I can help you plan the perfect weekend away. I can help you with local transport (although it is pretty easy), sorting out day trips, where to go for good seafood, and let you know if there is something happening at the weekend (there usually is something going on). I spent two months of the year working and travelling abroad. I'm a little bit of a backpacker addict and love the lifestyle. This year I went to Morocco, Spain, Croatia, Lombok the year before Colombia, and the year before Mymar. I'm now thinking about the next trip (so many places to visit!). I'm slowly filling up my home with bits picked up on my adventures. Anything you need to know. Please get in touch. I'd love to hear from you. Maxine
Hello there Hope you love my home as much as me. I'm an interior designer by trade, working for magazines and tv. You may have spotted the house in a few pages of interior magazine…
During your stay
There will always be someone on the end of the phone to help you if you get stuck.
Maxine is a Superhost
Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
  • Language: English
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within a few hours
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules
Check-in: After 15:00
Check out: 11:00
Self check-in with lockbox
Not suitable for infants (under 2 years)
No smoking
No pets
Health & safety
Committed to enhanced cleaning protocol. Learn more
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm
Security Deposit – if you damage the home, you may be charged up to £300