Skip to content
dining room/kitchen with living room in the back. Windows room
Save this listing.
Entire flat

House w/ garden on canal (centre)

Stacey User Profile

House w/ garden on canal (centre)

4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath

The space

We love our two bedroom ground floor house in the centrally located Jordaan district. Built at the turn of the last century and overlooking a canal with house boats, it offers a real Amsterdam experience. And with a 50m2 private garden and large BBQ its perfect for enjoying dinner outside.
Our house is bright and comfortable, filled with a mix of (custom-built) designer furniture and vintage pieces, artwork and lots of books to enjoy during your stay. The high ceilings and windows and original architectural details combined with oak wooden floors assure a relaxing and authentic experience. The house comes with fast wifi, flat screen television, a (wireless) stereo system, private laundry machine and dryer and a full kitchen with all amenities including a dish washer. The large en-suite living room and dining room with open kitchen have large windows to the front and opening french doors to the back deck and yard. The main bedroom is on the ground level and has a queen size bed. It connects directly to the bathroom, dining/living room and the back deck and yard. The second bedroom (below the main bedroom) is used as our daughters' room and decorated as such, but also has a new fold-out bed that can sleep an additional two adults. It is possible for a fifth child or adult to sleep in the living room; the original glass-stained french doors between the living room and dining room/kitchen can be closed for privacy. Although we don't have any pets we are open to pets staying in the house and there are plenty of dog-walking parks in the vicinity.
Despite the true downtown location our house (and yard especially) offer a surprisingly tranquil and relaxing environment to enjoy a (bbq) dinner, read a book or take a mid-day nap. The neighbors are quiet and friendly and range from young students to elderly couples and everything in between.

We are located in the Jordaan neighbourhood (city centre) of Amsterdam, which is undoubtedly one the most sung about and romanticized district of the Netherlands. This area is full of nothing but highlights. Maze-like streets offer hidden courtyards, cafés (both traditional and trendy), art galleries and pleasantly nosy neighbours. There are hundreds of restaurants within walking distance, from cheap take-away options to the best restaurants in town. One also has access to some of the more scenic outdoor markets in the country. In particular, Noordermarkt has a flea market on Monday mornings and an organic farmers' market on Saturdays.

We are within a short walk, bike or tram ride to everything this amazing city has to offer. We're less than a 10 minute walk to the Anne Frank house, 15 minutes walking to the museum district with the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and the van Goghmuseum as well as the Vondelpark. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Dam and 'the 9 streets'; Amsterdam's most popular boutique district and so much more. The best night-live places are also within walking distance. Of course, by bike you can get anywhere in the city within minutes. If you'd like to roam a bit out of the downtown numerous tram and bus stops are just a minute's walk away and Amsterdam Central Station is only 3 tram stops away. By car it's about a 10-15 minute drive to get to the city-ring highway from where you can take of the Netherlands' main highways into the country or the beach. The closest beaches (Zandvoort and Bloemendaal) are about a 30 minute drive away. The Hague is about 45 minutes by train or car, Rotterdam about an hour.


Wireless Internet
Cable TV
Unavailable: Smoke detector
Unavailable: Carbon monoxide detector
The host hasn't reported smoke or carbon monoxide detectors on the property.


1 Review

Hosted by Stacey

Amsterdam, NetherlandsJoined in July 2011
Stacey User Profile
4 Reviews
We are a couple in our mid 30's with a 3 year old daughter. Peter is Dutch and Stacey is Canadian and we have lived in numerous cities around the world. We've been living in Amsterdam for the past 5 years and we both work in the fashion industry. If you'd like more details, I can…
Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood