Spacious double bedroom - standard set up without the additional single bedLarge sitting room with dining table and lovely views of Welsh hills
Large ensuite with sitting room-Family friendlyB&B
Large ensuite with sitting room-Family friendlyB&B

Private room

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A warm welcome to 3 big rooms (sitting room, bathroom & bedroom) for your own use. Ensuite has bath & separate shower. It's great for families or two friends with an extra single put-up bed in the large double room.
Cooked breakfast served in a sitting room with doors to the terrace & views of Welsh hills.
Our pleasant home is 12min walk to the centre of the historic market town of Abergavenny. It's a great place for a walking, cycling, castle or food holiday. Private parking in our driveway.

The space

Enjoy the sunny terrace, eat a yummy cooked breakfast, relax in the sitting room and sleep comfortably in our home! It is Wales, so we cannot guarantee the sun and sometimes our views of the hills are shrouded in cloud, but there is always the pleasant sitting room where you can unwind.

Second bed: Our home is perfect for families as there is plenty of space with three large rooms (bedroom, ensuite bathroom and sitting room) for your sole use. There is a single bed available that we put up in the bedroom when needed. This bed is 5ft10 / 177cm long and so slightly smaller than a standard single. The bed works well for a child or a small-to-medium height adult. The single bed does not live in the bedroom but it always put up when a third guest is booked. If two guests are staying and they would like the use of the single bed in addition to the double bed, please let us know you would like this in advance. There is also a cot available that you can use, although please tell us in advance. The bedroom is above the sitting room, and so is ideal if your child has gone to sleep, and you want to relax downstairs on the sofas.

Bedroom: The standard set up of our large and light bedroom is with the comfortable double bed alone. There are bedside tables, a wardrobe and a dressing table. The bedroom has tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities. There is a small fridge. Wifi is also available.

Bathroom: The ensuite bathroom is spacious and has both a bath and separate electric shower. Hot water is always available. The bathroom is equipped with bubble bath, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Freshly washed towels are provided.

Private sitting room: There are comfortable sofas, a dining table, and a full bookcase in a very large sitting room. This is where a cooked breakfast is served. There is a lovely view of the Blorenge mountain. There are doors that open onto the terrace.

Guest access

-Downstairs, you have the sole use of a very large sitting room.
-There is a stairgate at the top of the stairs.
-Upstairs is the double bedroom and ensuite bathroom.

-Guests are welcome to use our south facing terrace and garden (with a fine view of the Blorenge mountain), but you will be sharing this with our family and two friendly dogs.
-Bicycles can be stored in the garage.
-Private parking is available on our driveway.

Interaction with guests

It is our home and we love it, so we will most likely be present during your stay. We are very happy to help with any local information you might need. We can help you find your way around while you are enjoying your stay with us and get the most out of this beautiful part of the world that we call home.

A cooked breakfast is usually available between 8.30am and 10.30am at a time agreed the previous evening. Otherwise you can have access to a kettle, toaster and stocked fridge and have breakfast when it is convenient to you.

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: £13 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: £45 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

- Guests to arrange arrival time by mutual consent (usually after 1pm)
- No smoking (even in the garden), candles or burning fragrances
- If two guests are staying and they would like the use of the single bed, this must be agreed with us in advance.
- Check out before 11am
- We like guests to be in by 11pm unless by prior agreement

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - En-suite bedroom on first floor
Pet(s) live on property - 2 friendly dogs
Some spaces are shared - Garden



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

Safety features
Smoke detector

2 nights minimum stay.
From Apr 9 - Jul 13, 2017 the minimum stay is 1 night.

26 Reviews

Check In
Maria User Profile
June 2017
Good location and parking on drive. Excellent communication from the host Derrick . Extremely clean bathroom and very comfortable bed. Especially a big thank you to the family for going out of there way to cater for my Dairy intolerance and purchasing Almond milk and yoghurt . Made very welcome . Nice breakfast, big selection and plenty of it . Nice patio should you wish to use it . Definitely would stay there again y

Carol User Profile
June 2017
I spent two nights in this comfortable house. The charming and interesting owners made sure one's every need was met. The spacious rooms and good bed meant I slept well and was ready for the painting course I was attending a few miles away. Breakfast included Duchy yoghurts, delicious bread/toast and a wide choice of cooked foods. This was a happy choice that I made for my stay in Abergavenny.
Derrick User Profile
Response from Derrick:
Thanks Carol, you were a breath of fresh air that blew through here. We enjoyed hosting you.
June 2017

Pen User Profile
June 2017
Derrick's home was very comfortable and welcoming. He and his wife went out of their way to accomodate our needs as a family of four with young children. The dogs were super friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

Mark User Profile
June 2017
Excellent roomy property with very friendly and helpful host. Good breakfast provided. The family has two friendly but well behaved dogs. Walking distance to the town centre (15 min) for a wide selection of pubs an restaurants. Similar distance to the railway station.
Derrick User Profile
Response from Derrick:
Hope you enjoyed your time in the Uk and your trip up to Snowdonia.
June 2017

Matthew User Profile
May 2017
Brenda and Derrick were fantastic hosts during our stay in Abergavenny and made us feel very welcome in their home. We also met the family and the dogs were delightful and enjoyed lots of attention. The room was lovely and quiet and has a good sized en-suite attached with bath and separate shower. Downstairs is a sitting/breakfast room for relaxing in and enjoying the cooked breakfast (with fried banana!) in the morning. Our hosts enjoyed a bit of banter with us and recommended some good walks and places to eat in Town. The centre of Abergavenny is about a 10-min walk from the accommodation, so within easy reach for restaurants, shops and attractions. This was a great experience and somewhere I would love to book and stay at again. Thank you for making our weekend a really enjoyable one!

Alex User Profile
April 2017
Well situated in Abergavenny. I bit noisy with nearby road traffic but not intolerable. I really appreciated the packed breakfast options they left for me as I was leaving early. It made for a great mid-morning break on a bike trip I was on. Derrick also gave some very useful guidance on traveling through the Brecon Beacons and throughout Wales. Recommend for a stop-over!

Caroline User Profile
April 2017
Very welcoming family with a superb breakfast !!

Abergavenny, United Kingdom · Joined in May 2016
Derrick User Profile

I am a South African who has fallen in love with the beautiful scenery in Wales. With my British wife and two young children, we have chosen to settle here after living in other countries and different parts of the UK. It is a great place to cycle and walk. We both enjoy travelling, meeting new people from different places and being involved in a local church. I love a good cooked breakfast!

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.