Freshly painted for the new year


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Welcome - Willkommen - Bienvenue
Private lockable room in my flat in the centre of the village. Zip'n'Link beds - can be 2 singles or a double. Basic but comfortable. Ideal for walkers - 1 step up from camping. Room only, shared bathroom, shared with cats also (litter trays). Please read detailed description under "The Space" and "Guest Access" for full description to avoid disappointment!

The space

** April 2017: there are currently building works going on next door, which extend onto the drive leading up to my garden gate. The workmen are very tidy, but you will be walking past a skip and possibly some other building stuff **
PLEASE READ DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS IN THE "DIRECTIONS" SECTION ON HOW TO FIND MY FLAT AND HOW TO CONTACT ME WITHIN WORKING HOURS
Located in the centre of Drymen, this is an ideal stopping point for people walking the West Highland Way or Rob Roy Way. It is also an ideal base for people wanting to explore the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. There are 3 pubs opposite the flat, and at the weekend it can sometimes be a little noisy at closing time when all come out of the pubs. But it doesn't usually go on for long and doesn't happen every weekend, and ear plugs are supplied for your use (on top of the bedside table).
The room is basic but comfortable, and it is lockable. The bathroom is shared with myself, my lodger and my cats (litter trays). I also have rescue cats and a rescue dog, so it is not suitable for people with pet allergies or dislikes. I don't include breakfast as I work full time and also do voluntary work for the charity Animals Asia. I simply don't have time to prepare breakfast for guests. But ingredients for a vegan continental breakfast can be provided at a small extra cost. Tea & coffee making facilities are in the room, with vegan milk. There is a cafe 1 minute walk away that provides cooked breakfast, as well as a hotel and an Inn both opposite the flat, that provide breakfast to non-residents.
Please remember this is not a hotel or B&B, it's a room in my home. I do keep it reasonably clean but it won't be up to hotel or B&B standards.

Guest access

Guests are welcome to use the kitchen for making up packed lunches etc. If you are staying for a longer period we can sort something re use of the kitchen for cooking as well. The lounge is private. It is also the dog's bedroom and my "Animals Asia office", so pretty full of stuff, and you probably wouldn't want to hang out in there anyway. But when I'm in and not working feel free to come in for a chat! There is also a garden with a 3-seater hammock which guests are welcome to use. The garden has planted flowers & trees, but also self seeded flowers & trees in it, which I am leaving there to attract bees. Most people would probably consider them weeds, but they are pretty and are good for bees :-)

Interaction with guests

I work full time, but in the village, so home for lunch. I am in most evenings, after I've taken my dog out for a walk.

Other things to note

There are steep stairs up to the flat, so not suitable for people with walking difficulties.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £5 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

I ask my guests to respect the other residents in the flat, including my pets, as well as the neighbours. Keep noise down, especially late at night and early morning. Smoking is not allowed in the flat. My lounge is private, but if I'm in and not working you are welcome to come in for a chat. Don't feed my pets please! 2 of them have very sensitive tummies and the other one is a little fatty under all that hair!
Please ensure the garden gates are always closed properly.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Lock on bedroom door
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

117 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katsumasa User Profile
June 2017
Silke is very kind not only for me but also for all the animals in the world. I am really moved by her support for Animal Asia. Very happy to stay with her, Eve,Felix and Lily ( a dg and two cats). I will definately stay at Silke's next time I visit Scotland.

Lee User Profile
June 2017
Great place for a pit stop after the first day at the West Highland Way. Her pets are simply adorable and Silke is a gracious host.

Drew User Profile
June 2017
A very handy location in the middle of Drymen

Imaginative User Profile
June 2017
Nice house in a pretty village, Slike is a very nice person !

Sammy User Profile
May 2017
Silke was a spectacular host and her place was perfect.

Ania User Profile
May 2017
Silke offers a spacious bedroom with a comfy bed in a lovely flat she shares with her friendly pets (two cats and a dog). Bathroom is shared with the cats :-) All clean and tidy. The room is equiped with kettle, tea and coffee and a table. We had a lovely stay and great night sleep.

Jan User Profile
May 2017
A nice place to stay.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Drymen, United Kingdom · Joined in May 2016
Silke User ProfileSilke is a superhost.

Animal lover, vegan, dreaming of world peace and a cruelty free world!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.