Beaches, Exmoor and Dinosaurs

Private room in residential home hosted by Sharon

  1. 2 guests
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 2 beds
  4. 1.5 shared bathrooms
Enhanced Clean
This host has committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Wifi
Guests often search for this popular amenity
Friendly, laid back family home on the edge of Exmoor and within a mile from the Wildlife and Dinosaur Park and our lovely local beach with kayaking, rock pooling and lots of nooks and crannies to explore. Kids very welcome. Additional rooms available. PLEASE NOTE: Currently parking is only available before 10am and after 6pm. Some roadside parking within 5 mins walk but not guaranteed.

The space
Victorian cottage style home right on village high street. In terms of decor I would say that on the shabby-chic scale it's leaning towards the shabby end but aspiring to the chic :-) Some nice original features and plenty of character. Numbers still on bedroom doors from when it was a proper B&B years ago and the family all slept in the kitchen!


It can be set up with one single bed and plenty of floor space, two singles or a double if you push the two beds together. There is one standard single bed and one smaller single that is designed to be stored under the bigger one if needed (but nice and sturdy all the same). There is a wardrobe with hanging space and small drawers in the two bedside tables. It is at the front of the house towards the street so does get some traffic noise during the day. The road is generally very quiet at night.


Having a young child at home and being quite laid back myself the house is warm and welcoming with plenty of tv watching, game playing and general relaxing. We have two friendly cats who are integral part of life here so be prepared for strokes and lap-sitting. We have a large slightly rambling gardening with lovely views that may well be overgrown but is ideal for all day sunbathing and clear night stargazing.

I work from home but if I don't have clients guests are welcome to use the sitting room. It has a lovely woodburner which I am happy to light for maximum cosyness even if it's not that chilly. I seem to spend most of my time in the kitchen though where you are welcome to join me - to cook or chat.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom
2 single beds

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free on-street parking
Washing machine
Dryer
Garden
Indoor fireplace
Luggage drop-off allowed
Children’s books and toys
Hair dryer

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.76 out of 5 stars from 119 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

Combe Martin, North Devon, United Kingdom

Combe Martin's a great little village nestled in a beautiful valley on the edge of Exmoor with a stunning rocky coastline. We are at top - quieter - end of the village on the main street. The house is a pleasant mile long walk from the beach with a number good pubs and restaurants within 5 to 20 minutes walk. It's at the quieter end of the village and nearby parking is readily available. A great starting point for walks into the hills, onto Exmoor or down to the coastal path. There are lots of community events that visitors are welcome join in with. A homely and friendly place to stay with character and quirks.


Our beach is a mixture of sandy, pebbly and rocky. Something for all tastes. Great rock-pooling and not bad crabbing to be had. At low tide the beach pretty much quadruples in size revealing an otherwise hidden pathway out to the 'camel's eye' via lots of interesting rock formations, small caves and rock pools. You can also get over to the village's second beach (Newberry beach) if you're willing to get your ankles wet crossing the river that divides the two. It's very popular for paddle sports (boards and kayaks can be readily hired near the beach) and is safe to swim from in calm conditions (awareness of tidal changes and wind conditions is a must though).

Being on the main road, the main village events pass right by the house - Friday and Monday night processions of the Hunting of the Earl of Rone over the second May bank holiday weekend and the Carnival procession in July. And more of this sort of thing to be had a mere mile away down at the seaside end of village with summer fireworks and more. Bingo nights, pub grub and quizzes nearby, best chippy in town and village hall with farmers markets etc just 5 minutes walk down main road.

Hosted by Sharon

  1. Joined in January 2016
  • 138 Reviews
  • Identity verified
I recently moved to North Devon from Surrey and am a total convert. I love this place and love sharing it's beauty, vibrancy, quirkiness and laid back vibes with others. I have a 7 year old son and we both enjoy beaches, spending time with friends, cinema, books and more. I practice yoga - of which I would like to do more - want to have another go at surfing and one of these days will get back into scuba diving. I enjoy accompanying my son in his surf lifesaving sessions which forces me to get IN the sea in the early summer instead of just gazing at it. I am a self-employed osteopath but have previously worked in variety of settings including have European Policy, Education, International Development and Local Government. I am very enthusiastic about health and wellbeing for all - and am keen to promote our local area as a place to connect with health and am enjoying networking with the vibrant community of conventional, alternative and complementary health practitioners we have down this way. I enjoy travel but even more so, I enjoy getting to know places and people. I have lived in and around London, France, Bruges, Brussels and Indonesia. Since becoming a mum I travel less widely than before - nowadays it's mainly camping around the uk and visiting friends in nearby European places. Still, we love to meet people from all over and enjoy hosting foreign students. Looking forward to having more guests from near and far.
I recently moved to North Devon from Surrey and am a total convert. I love this place and love sharing it's beauty, vibrancy, quirkiness and laid back vibes with others. I have a 7…

During your stay

My son and I are often at home, happy to leave guests to themselves or equally happy to chat, tell you about the area and share our home (games and toys too if you're lucky!)
  • Languages: English, Français, Bahasa Indonesia, Español
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: 15:00 - 22:00
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy