bathroomkitchen
Second room to explore the Bruce Peninsula!
Second room to explore the Bruce Peninsula!


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

My place is good for couples and solo adventurers.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: £4
Weekly Discount: 15%

Description

The space

Please be advised that this is a single bed room with a couch. If two people are comfortable sleeping closely you'll be ok. If one of you like sleeping on a couch you'll be ok. Also be aware that the mattress is not new, there are three cats and one of the litter boxes is in the hall (the carpet has recently been deodourized). I also use to be a smoker. Being a bachelor working two jobs, I do my best to keep the house tidy and clean, however, the house is over 130 years old. I also consider it part of hosting to be friendly, provide information and help you enjoy your stay. Please let me know if you do not want any of this attention.

If this sounds too rustic for $35 a night, may I suggest looking into Red Bay Lodge? They have new mattresses, professional cleaning staff and you'll be in a cabin if you prefer not to be disturbed.

Guest access

You'll have access to the bathroom and the whole downstairs including the deck and yard.

Interaction with guests

I will try to greet you when you arrive. Then, if you have time and would like to, I will spend some time with you to see what I can do to enhance your trip. I work out my home office, so I'll usually be around.

The neighbourhood

Everything is within walking distance.

Getting around

Just a block off King's Highway 6, there is also a taxi service in town.

Other things to note

Did I mention it's a single bed, that there are cats, it was a smokers house and the house is over a century old? So if you're sensitive to smoke or allergic to cats you might not like it here.


House Rules
Not suitable for pets

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

20 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Laetitia User Profile
April 2017
Really nice host, super helpful.

Michael User Profile
September 2016
Dan was wonderful. He was a great host. Very inviting and an overall cool dude.

Neil User Profile
September 2016
My wife and I including our 2 kids had a great time spending our 2 nights at Dan's place. The bedroom has a decent size with 1 double bed and couch. The bathroon is clean as well as the whole house. Most of all, Dan is very welcoming and very warm person. For sure we will go back again.

Mark User Profile
August 2016
Place was described well in the comments section. It ended up pretty much as expected and for the cost benefit worth it.

Mark User Profile
August 2016
Dan's house is just as described. A great place to stay if you're on a shoe string budget but you want a bed for the night and a genuine host. Dan made us both feel really welcome, we had use of the kitchen, Olympic viewing if we wanted it but even better for us a beautiful outside area where we could have good conversation with Dan over a beer and wind down the evening. Thanks Dan!

Yumeng User Profile
August 2016
We arrived really late and Dan waited for us until midnight. The house is beautiful with a cozy backyard. It is close to the lake and downtown area. Very nice city to take a break before going to Tobermory.

Mardi User Profile
August 2016
Dan was a really good host. He forewarned any potential problems and tried to guide my partner and I towards attractions. The room was really good for a night and he offered a fan for the heat. Wouldn't recommend to anyone with cat allergies or who doesn't appreciate old houses. Would stay again for a weekend trip!

This host has 24 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Wiarton, Canada · Joined in November 2015
Dan User Profile

I like to travel and explore. I enjoy the summer more so I can go sailing & play golf.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.