De-stress in your sunny upstairs double bedroom with aircon., built-in cupboards and deskEnjoy your bedroom (lockable) with adjoining bathroom
Great 'apartment', minutes to city
Great 'apartment', minutes to city
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Much more than just a bedroom and lounge room with private bathroom in a great location. You can enjoy an apartment - beautiful, quiet and modern!

The space

These beautifully furnished upstairs rooms consist of a bright, sunny and stylish bedroom (lockable) with a comfortable double bed (and the option of a sofa bed in the separate upstairs lounge room) plus your own bathroom, toilet room and kitchenette and a breakfast/sitting room downstairs. Please feel free to ask any questions you might have before you try to book it.


This accommodation is part of a little private cottage but is separated from my own living space. This is a modern, architect designed house which sits happily in a quiet, leafy street within the inner-city village of Forest Lodge. It is surrounded by heritage houses and parks. You will be staying almost in the heart of the city but with the added benefit of lots of trees and minimal traffic. You even have a private spot to sit out in the garden. A perfect location!

Everything you are likely to need is available close by including a supermarket. A permit to allow unrestrictedstreet parking is also available if you need it.

I am an experienced traveller and enjoy helping visitors find the best way to enjoy this beautiful city. Guests will have the pleasure of well appointed facilities and I think I've supplied almost everything you will need including a hairdryer, small fridge, microwave oven, good WiFi access and extra linen and towels available whenever you need them (including beach towels). Just let me know if I've missed mentioning something you might need.

Guest access

Guest have their own private suite of rooms with a private entrance and with use of the kitchen/dining area down stairs. And there is a small garden to sit in if you want to enjoy the outdoors.

Interaction with guests

You can be as private as you like or knock on my door if you need something. The apartment space is totally yours for the whole of your stay and your bedroom can be locked if you wish.

Other things to note

It is easy to get here from the airport by train then a bus (Lilyfield bus 470 from Central Station is easiest). A taxi will cost between $45 and $55 depending on traffic (train/bus is cheapest for one person and taxi or Uber/GoCatch from airport is usually cheapest if more than one). I can send more detailed directions, if you want them, once your booking is completed.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Air Conditioning

Prices
Extra people £9 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £21
Security Deposit £122
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

You will be able to cook light meals in the microwave and there is a toaster, sandwich maker and a kettle to make tea or coffee so you can be independent without sharing the main kitchen. By special arrangement you can use laundry facilities in another part of my home.

There is a sitting area in the breakfast room so you can have visitors but you would need to minimise noise after 10 pm. No additional guests are to sleep here unless by prior arrangement with host.

I prefer that you leave your street shoes near the front door and that food is only consumed in the breakfast/dining room. No smoking is allowed anywhere inside (but outside is ok).


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

61 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Patricia User Profile
May 2017
We loved the neighbourhood with all its quaint little houses. Tramshed restaurants and shopping area within 15 minutes walk. Well worth a visit. Regular buses to Sydney harbour and CBD. Merrilyn very unobtrusive host but had left plenty of literature and helpful information. Would recommend.

Laurence User Profile
March 2017
Merrilyn is everything these other reviewers are saying and more, delightful. From being flexible with our uncertain check in times to being a fantastic host when we were there. Merrilyn left us fresh water, gave access to our own fridge, bathroom and three rooms all to ourselves separated from the rest of the house. It really was like a home away from home and way more hospitable than I have ever encountered on air bnb. Merrilyn is what this platform is all about and you won't regret staying with her.

Julie User Profile
November 2016
We arrived late as didn't arrive from UK till 20.30, and Merrylin gave us a v warm welcome. The apartment was perfect for our needs, our son lives nearby so we knew the area from a previous visit. This was our first experience with air bnb and it was 5star. Friendlier than larger hotels, Merrylin was the perfect hostess. Thankyou for helping to make our stay so memorable.

Bahadur User Profile
August 2016
I booked this last minute for my sister who was in Australia and didn't like her hostel accommodation. Merrilyn was very helpful, friendly and made my sister feel at home. She loved the accommodation which was cosy and had everything she needed for the 4 weeks she was out there. Thanks very much Merrilyn! Highly recommended.

Laura User Profile
January 2016
Merrilyn was really helpful and friendly from the moment I contacted her. The apartment is really clean and private, just what you need for a city break. The space was bigger than it looks on the photos, it has clean towels with the use of beach towels and an iron if needed. It was my birthday when we visited and Merrilyn was so lovely and thoughtful for remembering, she left me a note and a flower. Merrilyn is happy to advise you the best way into the city, we found the bus super easy as the stop is only a few minutes walk away. We hired a car for our stay but barely used it, it spent most of the time parked up outside. If we were visiting again we would not hesitate to return here. Thanks Merrilyn! Laura & Jonny X

Jane User Profile
November 2014
Merrilyn was a friendly and welcoming host. She was very helpful by suggesting places to visit to help me make the most of my time in Sydney. Merrilyn was happy to chat and discuss my trip , but was also very respectful of giving me just the right amount of privacy. The apartment was clean and tidy and very comfortable. having the use of a microwave and kettle was great because I could make my own simple meals. I would definitely recommend Merrilyn as a host!

Fabrice User Profile
March 2014
Merrilyn is a very nice and friendly person, I've spent a very good sejour in sydney. She gave me lot of good advices, feel free to spend some time in her lovely home.

Sydney, AustraliaJoined in February 2013
Merrilyn User ProfileMerrilyn is a superhost.

My pleasure is to travel and to help other travellers.

I'm one of those fortunate people who have travelled a lot and lived on several continents. That means I have extensive personal experience of what is needed to make a stay enjoyable for guests and for hosts.

I spent the 5 years to 2012 living part-time in Sicily and in Australia.. In this next 5 years I'm focussing on volunteer work as my travel model and have recently returned from working as a volunteer zoo keeper in Belize - a great adventure.

I'm an outgoing person and seem to always have some new project underway. My past includes being an academic in Australia, studying in the U.S., setting up a not-for-profit bookshop in Italy and managing a horse farm in Canada. My range of interests is just as diverse, especially if you add in my being a parent to grown-up children.

I live by myself, am currently in the middle of an occupational course on community service, work as a volunteer at a radio station and happily socialise in my other moments. I'm reluctant to describe myself as 'retired'.

I genuinely look forward to meeting you.

Languages: English, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings