The Room with Ocean View
Hosted by Taro
Taro is the host.
4 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Moments from a quiet swimming beach and famous fish market, this cozy fully equipped apartment sits amongst a view of Japan rarely seen by foreigners. Just outside Kitakyushu this area of Japan is quiet and beautiful, but convenient to public transport, local attractions and amenities.

The space

---Addresss---
842-9 Yamaga Ashiya Onga District Fukuoka Prefecture Japan (4F)
---Room---
The room is equipped with a large tv and beautiful Japanese wooden table.
Traditional Japanese styling mixed with western tastes, this one room apartment offers two singles beds & 2 single sofa beds.
---Beds---
The room has two semi single beds that can be joined and 2 optional futons, comfortably sleeping four adults.

---Kitchen---
All common eating/cooking utensils and items are provided for use in the kitchen.
---Washing machine---
A washing machine (powder too) is provided.

---Bicycle---
Rental Bicycles are available at 2,000 yen per bike.
We don't keep Bicycle in this apartment because they get rusty very quickly near the sea.
Please let us know if you need any bicycles before you come.
(Including Lock,Helmet & Torch)

---Mobile Wifi Device---
Mobile wifi device is free to use.
You can take this outside of the room as well.

---Surf board---
Two Stand Up Paddle boards are free to use.

---If you need something---
If you have further needs please ask us as we may be able to provide these items easily for you free or possibly at a small cost. (Baby cot, English Japanese dictionary e.t.c)

---About Us---
I will happily answer any and all questions via email throughout your plans and stay. As this is a family venture, my mum Kumiko and brother Jiro will be on site to help with your arrival as well.

---Attractions---
If just looking at the beautiful ocean view off your balcony isn't enough, the area has an amazing array of attractions to keep you entertained. Moments from your front door is a lovely swimming beach, round the corner is a great market with fresh produce and a great variety of fish. Local attractions include a big water park (summer only), horse riding club, SCUBA diving (summer only), many good fishing spots and a cycling course along with beach.

---Restaurant---
Toto ichiba (Infront of the apartment) is a good place to have breakfast and lunch.They have cafes, restaurants, and a BBQ area.
You can not bring food into their BBQ area but you can buy most anything for a Japanese BBQ on site. It is 300 yen to use the BBQ area per person.
Dinner - pre-purchase at toto-ichiba or the local stores or head into town a bit for a variety of foods.
You must try this once, it is very traditional and exciting. For dinner time I recommend you try the Japanese restaurant called "Senjyoujiki Gyoan"
It's 4.5km away from apartment so you would need to use a car or bicycle.
Once you get in the gate Kimono lades welcome you immediately. Full course starts from 4,000 yen.
Dinner is great but my favourite thing is their beautiful gardens and interior of the restaurant.
You won't be disappointed.
Taro's No 1 recommended Japanese restaurant around here.
You must go.

--- Ashiyagama no Sato "traditional tea pot museum"---
It is a small museum surrounded by a beautiful traditional Japanese garden including a large Koi pond and Japanese tea houses. Within your entry fee is included a cup of real Japanese green tea.
20min by walk. Entry fee 500 yen.
You must come here too. It is so close and well worth more than one visit just for the Japanese feeling. Make sure to bring your camera.

---Car Park---
Car parking is free and available if needed.
Please park anywhere on the sea side of the apartment building.
Please do not park in the formal front of the apartment (not sea side) as these are all allocated parking.

------ Access------
If you come from Fukuoka airport you can catch subway from airport to Hakata (Fukuoka)Station.(5min)
JR Hakata Station (Fukuoka) to Ongagawa staion (56 min)
You can catch a bus from JR Ongagawa Station to Natsuigahama (30min)
2 min walk to accommodation from Natsuigahama bus stop.)
Please note:
Only 4 bus are available a day.
Please check time table from here.

---Weekday---Infront of Ongagawa Sta to Natsuigahama Bus stop.

Ongagawa Sta 7:49 - Natsuigahama 8:17
Ongagawa Sta 10:46 - Natsuigahama 11:14
Ongagawa Sta 12:08 - Natsuigahama 12:36
Ongagawa Sta 19:09 - Natsuigahama 19:37

---Sat, Sun , Public holiday --- from Ongagawa Sta to Natsuigahama

Ongagawa Sta 9:50 - Natsuigahama 10:18
Ongagawa Sta 11:05 - Natsuigahama 11:33
Ongagawa Sta 19:09 - Natsuigahama 19:34

---Week day--- from Natsuigahama to Ongagawa Sta

Natsuigahama 6:18 - Ongagawa Sta 6:48
Natsuigahama 7:15 - Ongagawa Sta 7:47
Natsuigahama 9:29 - Ongagawa Sta 10:01
Natsuigahama 14:33- Ongagawa Sta 15:01
Natsuigahama 17:27 - Ongagawa Sta 17:59

---Sat,Sun, Public Holiday--- from Natsuigahama Bus stop to Ongagawa Sta

Natsuigahama 9:00 - Ongagawa Sta 9:32
Natsuigahama 12:13 -Ongagawa Sta 12:45
Natsuigahama 14:12 - Ongagawa Sta 14:44

----------------------------------------------------------

---Pick Up Services--
We also offer a pick up service from Orio station for your convenience at One way 3,000 yen.
Return 5,000 yen.

Guest access

Full access to the apartment

Interaction with guests

---About Us---
I will happily answer any and all questions via email throughout your plans and stay. As this is a family venture, my mum Kumiko and brother Jiro will be on site to help with your arrival as well.

Other things to note

---Extra local transport info---
Ongagawa Station to Kokura Station ( 33 min)
If you want to go to Pusan (Korea) you can catch a ferry from Fukuoka
If you would like to hire a car from Fukuoka or Orio, Please let me know i will send you more info.

---I can help you find things of special interest to you---
If you have a hobby or favourite things to do or are interested in attending any local classes or community activities please let me know and I may be able to find something for you .

For example; A local Judo or Kendo club, Horse riding, Sailing, Scuba diving, the Paragliding club or even the local stamp club.
I know it's hard to find that info in English especially here, off the beaten track.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people £17 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £24
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
2 single beds, 2 sofa beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

1.Please do not bring stranger in the room.
2.No Smorking inside the room.
3.Please use only specific rubbish bags to to take to out side rubbish cage. (For the short stay you can leave rubbish in the room.)
4. Please don't make loud noise.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Silvain User Profile
July 2017
It's a very nice place with all you need. I really enjoyed staying in this apartment.

Silvain User Profile
June 2017
Very nice apartment with sea view and everything you need for a good stay ! Taro is also very nice and always available for any question.

Noel User Profile
October 2016
Great little apartment with an ocean view. The host was quick to contact as soon as we booked and had clear instructions on where to park and get the key for the place. Highly recommended!
Taro User Profile
Response from Taro:
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are always welcome you again. Many thanks for staying. Taro
October 2016

Sven User Profile
August 2016
Beautiful spacious apartment with a great view! Everything you need and more is available in the room. They even had a surfboard! The pickup from the station provided by Tamako (Taro's mother) was perfect, even stopped at a supermarket. The bikes were very nice. At the market behind the apartment you can buy anything you need as well. They sell the best fresh fish! Contact with Taro was perfect and fast even though he is living in Australia. He was very helpful and considering. We would definately go back and relax some more...
Taro User Profile
Response from Taro:
Thank you very much for come to stay our place. I am really sorry about the Wifi. (We still don't know why it was not working well) Kumiko had a really fan to talking with you guys. We are hoping rest of your trip is fantastic one. We are always welcome you guys again. Taro
August 2016

基芳 User Profile
July 2017
美味しい魚が味わえるトト市場は目と鼻の先で便利でした。ベランダに物干し場が無くて不便でした。が、北西向きで暑くなく静かで快適に過ごせました。

Suguru User Profile
May 2017
海が見えるバルコニーが素敵で、室内も広くて綺麗で、とても居心地が良かったです。ポケットwifiが付いてるのも助かりました。設備にトラブルがあった時も、マンションの別の階にいたオーナーがすぐに駆けつけて対応して頂けました。とても気に入ったので、予約が取れたらまた泊まりたいです。

Maki User Profile
January 2017
海が見えるバルコニーが良かったです 夏なら最高ですね 市場がすぐ近くにありましたがお正月でお休みだったのが残念です
Taro User Profile
Response from Taro:
そうですね。市場が閉まっていて閑散としていたのが少しこちらとしては残念でした。 夏は本当に最高なところなので是非また寄ってくださいね。
January 2017

This host has 73 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in September 2013
Taro User Profile

--About Taro ---
Kitakyushu is my home town and I have always loved Ashiya beach.
I moved to Australia in 2007 when i was 25.
I married Catherine in 2009 and we have two kids (6 year old boy and 2 year old girl) now.

I am woking for my online business at home,
So I can respond to all your inquiries and questions within a hour over the internet from Australia but my mum Kumiko and brother Jiro are there to look after you.

I love reading lots of books and think about business, also i have huge curiosity for the spiritual world.

My next aim is to open Airbnb accommodation in Australia.

I have open mind to people who has different culture, religion , same-sex marriage

My hobby: Piano ,BJJ , Judo, fishing, skin diving
My respected musicians: Micheal Jackson , Beatles, Chopin, Mozart.
Favorite food: Vietnam noodle Pho, Udon, Pig trotters ,Ox tongue , Steamed Zuccini with rock salt, Cod roe pasta, fresh sea urchins e.t.c
Favorite Beer : Asahi Beer and Victorian better,
Favorite Authors : Robert Kiyosaki ,
My future dream: Sailing around Australia in a 45f Catamaran Yacht with my family.
Favorite Words: "Practice makes perfect"


---About Cat ---
I am from Ballarat Australia, near Melbourne.
I keep myself busy working as a child carer, playing in a brass band and serving my local community in the Volunteer rescue service (SES).
I love Japanese curry and my husband's slow cooked pork belly.
Our children keep us on our toes.

Languages: English, 日本語
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Taro’s place.
Taro
Kumiko helps host.
Kumiko

The neighbourhood

Similar listings