Front doorLiving room
Middles, a cosy stone cottage in Northumberland
Middles, a cosy stone cottage in Northumberland
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Middles Cottage is a little haven of peace in the (very) remote wilds of Northumberland, nestled underneath protected starry skies.

It's situated perfectly for lots of north-east attractions - Newcastle, Kielder National Park with the amazing Kielder Observatory, Hadrian's Wall, National Trust sites and is en route to Scotland.

You’ll love my place because of the cosiness, the location, and the views. It's perfect for couples on a romantic getaway, solo adventurers, and families (with kids).

The space

This is a two bedroom cottage with a large living room featuring sitting and dining area. There's a large coal/wood burning fire for you to get cosy, and lots of board games to enjoy. There's no TV (it's more relaxing that way!) but there is WIFI so if you bring a laptop you can watch TV/ films. You can enjoy watching the sunset through the living room window.

The kitchen is bright and cheerful, and has everything you might need to cook up a feast, or just enjoy a few snacks.

There's a conservatory which gets nice and warm in the summer sun, a perfect place to enjoy your breakfast while watching the huge variety of birds that come to the garden.

The bathroom is downstairs and has a bath and shower.

The two bedrooms are upstairs - the master bedroom is large with a super comfy king-size bed. The room also has a sink for your convenience.

The second bedroom is a smaller L-shaped room with a singe bed. Both rooms have nice views from the windows out onto the fields - lovely to wake up to.

There is a garden, however it's currently being worked on so it's not particularly impressive - although you're very welcome to use it!

Interaction with guests

I live in London but come up north a lot. I probably won't be around to meet you in person but I'm always available via email or phone if you need anything. My parents live in Newcastle nearby so they are also on hand should you need, and will be there to let you in and show you around the place.

Other things to note

There is no parking directly outside the cottage, but parking is available on the grassy verge just in front of the lane, adjacent to a field, with enough space for a few cars.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Indoor Fireplace

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £30
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 7PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Accidents happen, but if anything breaks please do let me know so I can replace the item.

If you go on country walks and get muddy, please take your shoes off at the door.

Please be mindful that this is our family cottage, so please take good care of it. :)


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sarah User Profile
September 2017
We stayed here for a week to get away from the rat run of work and only booked the week before. It was just what we needed in a small hamlet in the beautiful countryside of Northumberland. On arrival we were met by Jenny's friendly parents who were very welcoming and we were grateful for the welcome package!! There are so many places to visit within Northumberland and we really needed longer to explore. Places we would recommend are Kielder Forest, so many walks and beauty's to see- approx 40mins. Star gazing is a must in Northumberland but I recommend that you book the observatory well in advance as it sounds amazing but unfortunately we couldn't get in but recommend Otterburn Mill car park and download the star gazing app!! Approx 15-20mins.Bellingham is only down the road -5mins and we popped in for lunch at Carriages which we highly recommend even though it was a little pricey!! The Cheviot pub is also friendly and great to stop and refuel. And handy for the Co-op. We also came across a gin festival in Simonburn-Approx 20mins which was a lovely treat. Another fab place we visited was The Sill, which is near to Chollerford-approx 30-40mins it has a newly built Education Centre and Youth Hostel. From here is a walk to the Sycamore Tree within the hill dips which according to my boyfriend won the best tree award 2016!! This was about a 3mile walk which is leisurely enough for me and the scenery is out of this world, right next to Hadrians Wall. The tree features on many postcards and paintings. The cottage has everything you need and is lovely and relaxing. The no tv thing didn't bother us at all and the wifi has a great signal if needed. I am now converted to a Radio 2 listener after having Jenny's little radio on most of the week! The little sun that we had brightened and warmed up the summer room at the back making it very pleasant to sit and watch the birds and have a cup of tea. This is the first Air bnb we have used and absolutely loved it! We would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting quiet time away and Jenny's decor is fab and has even given me ideas for my own house!

Claire User Profile
August 2017
Lovely space to stay, relax relax and explore from.

Holly User Profile
August 2017
I stayed at the Middles for 4 nights with my Mam and husband while we went to an event at kielder observatory. The cottage is most certainly in a quiet and peaceful hamlet with very little traffic nose-perfect for relaxation!! The cottage is beautifully decorated and reflected well in the photographs. We loved that there were essentials in the kitchen on arrival and also loved the fire in the lounge (even in August we had it roaring!) Jennifer's parents met us on arrival and showed us how things worked and it was great to know they were on hand if we needed anything more. This cottage is perfect if you want a peaceful getaway with beautiful views. It is a little way from kielder on some steep and windy roads but at least it was free from midgies!!!

Jennifer User Profile
July 2017
Absolutely perfect cottage for a peaceful stay in a layover on my way to Edinburgh. I loved it. Smooth check in and out, all I needed was there, very strong and reliable wifi which isn't easy in the UK, and Jenny's parents were also a delight. I befriended a few locals and was able to watch their sheepdog working and pet their horses. All in all, my stay was so wonderful I cried when I left. Jenny is a great host. Highly recommended!!

Saul User Profile
July 2017
Fantastic little cottage to relax in, located in such a beautiful area.

Will User Profile
July 2017
Really lovely cottage in a secluded village with amazing scenery. The cottage is a nice size for a coupe or small family and the photos don't do it full justice! Jenny and her parents were vey accommodating both in organising our stay and when we arrived. Would highly recommend.

Jessica User Profile
May 2017
Had a fabulous time at Middles, the peace & quiet was a welcome alternative to our busy lives & we would love to visit this beautiful place again soon. Was very happy with all the little extras that were at the cottage which made it all the more welcoming & Jenny's style is perfect!

London, United KingdomJoined in September 2010
Jennifer User Profile

I’m a Geordie (from Newcastle, north-east England) now living in Hackney, London.

I work in the arts, I'm a veggie, I love to cycle, draw and do yoga. I also like to nest on the sofa under a blanket. And I adore dogs.

I love collecting tat from car boot sales and raiding charity shops for hidden gems. I have a cottage in East Woodburn, Northumberland, which I have filled with a lot of this said tat. It's really cosy and fun and is in a beautiful location.

I enjoy staying in Airbnb homes when I go on holiday, and I hope you'll love staying in mine!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings