Large country kitchen has everything you need to cook for 9.The kitchen was renovated in 2016 with new cabinets, countertops, flooring, microwave, paint and stove. We kept the summer cottage feel but made it user-friendly.
Spacious Summer Cottage on Pristine Long Pond

Entire home/flat

9 guests

4 bedrooms

6 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
9 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Set in the middle of conservation land, this old-fashioned (circa 1915) four-bedroom summer cottage has its own private waterfront on pristine Long Pond. It's country kitchen (newly renovated!), big living room and screened porch accommodate up to 9 people. Eagles fly overhead, there are miles of sandy trails around cranberry bogs and natural ponds where eagles fly overhead. The swimming, fishing and boating are great.

The space

This summer cottage which we call Apley House, has been in our family for four generations. We've left the original classic wood interiors and updated the kitchen (new cabinets, counter and floors in 2016), bathrooms (new shower in 2016) and laundry while keeping the rustic charm. It's a great house for mixed generation families or groups of friends.

There is a queen bedroom downstairs and three bedrooms upstairs (three twins, one double and one queen). The downstairs bath has a shower, the upstairs bath has an old fashioned clawfoot tub with hand shower. The kitchen has all the basic appliances including dishwasher, microwave and new washer and dryer. The house has a large yard. The private beach is just across the two-lane sandy road and down the hill -- about a one minute walk. The waterfront is shady with some sand and some pebbles. There is a small dock and floating raft. A canoe is included in the rental. You can access miles of wooded trails right from the parking area. The trails lead to scenic cranberry bogs and more quiet ponds.

Apley House is a non-winterized summer cottage. There is no heat or air conditioning. We do supply fans and space heaters (we ask you to use these only while you are awake and present in the room).

Guest access

Guests have access to the private beach with dock, raft and canoe, house, large yard and nearby trail system.

Interaction with guests

We like to give you privacy and you probably won't see any of us during your visit. There might be some of our family members staying at our other property on Long Pond about 1/2 mile away. You can always call us if you need anything or have questions.

Other things to note

We supply bed linens for all beds. Please bring your own beach and bath towels.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
Bedroom 4
3 single beds

The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 4
Beds: 6
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £114
Security Deposit £381
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No smoking. Pets are not allowed. We require a signed rental agreement to complete the reservation.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
5 nights minimum stay.
From Sep 1 - Nov 30, 2017 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

6 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
F User Profile
August 2017
This is a good sized house for many guests. Please note that the title says it's on the pond but it's really not. You have to walk across a dirt (not sand) road and down and embankment to get to a very small area next to the lake. It's a good size dock for a couple of kids and the lake is very clean and shallow, but do not expect to be able to see your kids from the house! The wi-fi is reliable and the kitchen has everything you would ever need for entertaining. The water is hot and you can expect a nice bath and a hot shower back-to-back. Because the road is right next to the house, whenever someone drives by a huge mass of dirt/dust puffs up from the road. This leaves a constant film of dirt on the floor in the kitchen and living room. I guess this was only an issue for us because our 1 year old was crawling all over the floor and was dirty the whole time. But bring some flip flops or slippers if that feeling of dirty bare feet makes you cringe. While we liked our stay I do not recommend this house for anyone with kids under 2.5-3 years of age. There are exposed nails in the walls in one bedroom and on the walls going up the stairs. There are a lot of wires just hanging around, so you have to watch your young ones like a hawk. We knew it was a cabin and what to expect. The canoe's seats are broken, so we only used it once. Susan responded quickly when I sent her a note about this, but nothing was done to fix it. Since it's in the listing we thought you should know that as of August 2017 you really can't use the canoe.
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Thanks for your thorough review. The canoe seats are now fixed -- it took us a few days to find the correct materials and help to get that taken care of. By that time, the guest's stay was done. We clean our cottages and cabins thoroughly prior to every stay. The road does get dusty in August -- something we can't control. If you have young children and are concerned about staying in an old space, we agree, this is probably not the cottage for you. Our two-bedroom cottage is well suited for young families.
August 2017

Ian User Profile
August 2017
Very spacious cottage for large families. Nice fresh water pond for swimming and paddling. Our kids loved their time in the water and at the cottage. Good place to stay for venturing out to explore the Cape on day trips. Nice updated kitchen that's well supplied with cutlery, dishes, etc. 1 shower and 1 tub not really adequate for large groups. Not well insulated so you'll hear everything going on in every bedroom on every floor.

Daniel User Profile
June 2016
The house was very accommodating and beautiful. The location was great, just 1 hour from Boston, Providence, and Cape Code. The lake/pond is immaculate and really hard to leave.

Katya User Profile
September 2015
We had a great at Susan's house. She was helpful, accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. The house is next to a charming lake and even beach chairs are provided. Highly recommended!

Ben User Profile
July 2015
We spent a wonderful weekend at the Apley House, just off of Long Pond in Plymouth, MA. This rustic cottage was spacious, tidy and perfect for a relaxing weekend with friends. The access to Long Pond, via a short trail just across the road, was spectacular. Beautiful views at sunrise and sunset and even a floating dock to spend the afternoon swimming and lounging in the sun. Full kitchen and barbecue meant there were plenty of oysters and lobster to go 'round. Susan's communications were prompt, welcoming and informative and the house binder has additional information about hiking trails and nearby attractions. Highly recommended.

Ana User Profile
September 2014
This house is absolutely spectacular. We couldn't have been happier. The owners have excellent taste and it is the perfect mix of rustic with modern amenities. We spent most of our time swimming and hanging out by the pond, which is lovely. When you book Susan sends you documents with all the information and directions that you would need. Cannot say enough good things about our experience here.

This host has 34 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United StatesJoined in April 2013
Susan User Profile

The Cornish Point Cottages are owned and managed by the Conant family. Four generations of Conants have summered on this property. We love its historic, rustic nature and work hard to keep it that way. The family photo in our profile is of Gerda Conant and her 5 children. The "kids" now own and manage the property as Cornish Point Cottages. We all pitch in. Susan lives farther away so she does the reservations, Peggy manages the cleaning staff, Donald does the plumbing repair and David is our carpentry expert. It takes a lot of work to keep the place going but we love it.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings