Living Room with breakfast nookLiving Room opens to patio/deck

Entire home/flat

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our 2 bedroom cottage is custom built and PERFECT for a romantic get-away or family vacation. With a stunning ocean view, it's a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, and a short bike ride to town. If you are a nature lover, this place is perfect as it is nestled in a tranquil cacao forest. You will wake up to sounds of wild parrots and howler monkeys. You will go to sleep to the sounds of the ocean and our nocturnal friends, and occasional fruit falling on the roof.

The space

Our home sits on an ocean view mountain top on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, near Playa Cocles. We are located 300 meters from the beach on a working cacao farm.

Guest access

You must have a 4WD car or be able to climb a moderate slope for certain parts of our road. Our guests are welcome to walk the grounds of our private road to a private waterfall. We just ask that you respect our neighbors who are trying to do the same. We do conduct chocolate tours during certain times of the day, so we ask that you be mindful of the short time that the tour is next door.
Because we are a vacation rental home and not a hotel, there are no permanent residents on the property and as such it is of vital importance that you coordinate your check in several days before your arrival. The property manager will organize her day to make sure to be at the property at a time that is convenient for you. and for this to happen, there must be plenty of communication well ahead of time.

Interaction with guests

We have a wonderful property manager who has a wealth of information and solutions for any needs you may have.

Other things to note

It becomes very dark after 6:00 pm therefore having a flashlight is highly recommended for evening walks.

For our beach lovers: snorkel, mask, fins and two body boards are available for a small fee. (Much cheaper than the daily rental in town)

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: 9AM - 6PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Host greets you


Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 63 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 9AM - 6PM

- No unannounced overnight guest are allowed.
- If you are expecting another guest, 24 hour notice is required and an additional fee may apply.
- We kindly ask you to respect the quiet hours between 10:00pm and 6:00am. (Please note there is a late check in/out fee)
- Please don’t wear shoes inside of house
- Keep in mind, in the jungle, ants and insects are not far away, so please keep kitchen surfaces clean unless you want to share your food with them.
- On the day of check-out, we kindly ask that you rinse the used dishes before you leave.
- Like everywhere in Costa Rica, toilet paper and sanitary products must be discarded in the bin and not flushed down the toilet.
-A flashlight is a necessity if you are returning to the property on foot at night.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

2 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Check In
Raphael User Profile
July 2017
We love Puerto Viejo this is the fifth time we went there... The place is nice, with a amazing view... But this is more a hut than a house. It wasn't clean, even if the person who welcome us, says "the house cleaner came this morning" There is hot water but only a trickle of water, so it's really hard to take a shower, mostly for my wife with her long hair :-) And there is not a lot of cooking tools.
Seer And Michelle User Profile
Response from Seer And Michelle:
Hello Raphael. Our home has two bedrooms, a bathroom and living room, dining area, a kitchen and a balcony; much bigger than a hut. I am sorry that you felt our house was too small for you, but for most of our guests, it is adequate. As for the cooking utensils, we feel the photos are very accurate in depicting the type of kitchen we have available. Regarding the water pressure, unfortunately our property manager informed us that our water pump was not working at the time of your visit and you were experiencing the gravity fed pressure instead. We apologize for that inconvenience.
July 2017

Benjamin User Profile
May 2017
This is a really nice place to stay, close to the beach and downtown. This is not a four star hotel but this was enough for us. You have a beautiful porch where you can chill and have an amazing view of the sea. You are in the forest so that mean a lot of bugs (hands, spider, mosquitoes...) at night if you light on and you can hear and see toucans, sloths, gecko... Nina, the guard dog is reaaaaaally nice, don't worry about her. You can also visit the chocolate making 10 meters from your house for 20 something dollars and have 10% discount on chocolate (quite expensive but reaaaaaaaaally good !!!!). We had the opportunities to taste it, thanks to Susanna ! Definitely a good place to stay !!!

Rebecca User Profile
April 2017
Absolutely beautiful! We saw an anteater, multiple dart frogs, and more toucans than I could count.

Shawn User Profile
March 2017
We had an amazing stay at Seer and Michelle's home. It really provided exactly what we look for when traveling outside our home country. It we set back in the jungle, yet walking distance to all the local restaurants, shops, and bars. The views into the jungle and beaches, were absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for giving us the chance to see Costa Rica while staying in your home.

Kelly User Profile
February 2017
A beautiful view of the sea in an open, airy home. Definitely bring a flashlight or headlamp if you plan to walk up or down the road!

Brian User Profile
September 2016
Very airy and beautiful ocean view. Great place for nature. There is a sloth that hangs out on a tree in front of the patio. Lots of Toucans and dart frogs.

John User Profile
September 2016
The home is located a couple hundred feet above the ocean with a nice view of the ocean per the photos. Another home is located about 75 feet away from the property where they conduct chocolate tours approximately two times a day but this wasn't an issue aside from the occasional banging of pans. The home has two dogs on property, bark when I arrived via vehicle, but were not an issue during our stay and didn't bark at night. The main issue I had during my stay was surprisingly, noise! The home is built underneath a large tree that drops fruit onto the corrugated sheet metal roofing, creating a very large and startling noise like a gunshot approximately every 15 to 30 minutes. During our stay, it was difficult to relax and sleeping was interrupted by the noise created by the fruit (I resorted to earplugs). I suggested to the owners to put a net up to divert the fruit or perhaps a carpet on the roof to attenuate the noise. Once they solve this problem, the house will be a very relaxing place to stay. The beds are very, very firm, almost like concrete. The two rooms are separated by a wall but not totally private; conversations can be heard between the two rooms. The bedrooms are equipped with mosquito nets, but I didn't have an issue with mosquitos and slept without the nets. Temperature in the evening was warm; a fan for both bedrooms would be appreciated. As per the listing, 4x4 is highly recommended. The road leading to the house is short, but very steep. The location is good for being close to town, and perfect if you have a 4x4 vehicle. Close to Cocles - 15 min walk. There is great wildlife viewing from the deck including a sloth, toucans, birds, red and green frogs, and the sounds of howler monkeys (at 5 am!). The home has a kitchen with pots/pans/dishes, hot plate, and toaster oven. A new coffee machine was purchased the second day we stayed. The caretaker for the facility lives in town and is super friendly and helpful and attentive via e-mail and phone. She is there to assist with any problems guests have while staying. The wi-fi cut out often during my stay and I had to re-set the booster several times in the laundry room to make it operable. The home's electrical system was poorly designed, not functional in many places, and several of the lights in the main house and deck do not work. The shower /bathroom is located in the first bedroom. Note: the hot and cold handles are reversed per the usual arrangement. The water has a strange sulfidic smell (rotten eggs) to it. First time I experienced this in Costa Rica. This could be a very good/unique AirBnB once some bugs are worked out, namely the issue of the fruit tree and the noise created by it.
Seer And Michelle User Profile
Response from Seer And Michelle:
We appreciate your feedback. Although fruit does drop on our roof from time to time, no other guests have said it happened every 15-30 minutes. (Being that light of a sleeper, I am glad that you travel with earplugs.) Yet, it is true our place is best enjoyed by the true nature lovers out there! Since we are uniquely located close to the ocean and in the jungle, it's best for people who appreciate all that the location has to offer, along with the unpredictability of it. People wanting to enjoy viewing sloths, toucans, wild parrots and other wild life from our balcony will have a spectacular time. People wanting to avoid the inconvenience of fruit falling and howler monkeys, than this is not the place for you. Regarding the shower, perhaps you are unaware that "C" does not stand for cold as it does in the states. "C" stands for caliente, which means hot in Spanish. Regarding the rotten eggs odor of the water you mentioned, I am not sure what you were smelling because our water is spring fed directly from the mountain and filtered twice before it even gets inside the house. We are one of the very few houses here that you can enjoy drinking the water directly from the tap.
September 2016

Costa RicaJoined in July 2016
Seer And Michelle User Profile

Seer was first introduced to Puerto Viejo, 22 years ago and lived here for 2.5 years. (Although in his heart, he never left). He is now considered a local. Michelle has been coming here for 9 years and enjoys the serenity and slower pace of living. It has been a lifelong dream of theirs to have a home in Costa Rica. The plan is to retire here when they are older but until then, they are excited to share their home with you. The design of the home is truly unique. They made sure to include the true Costa Rican style living experience, infused with modern upgrades to make sure that everyone is comfortable here.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Seer And Michelle’s place.
Seer And Michelle
Susan helps host.
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings