Single bed in shared room at my super chilled home
Hosted by Clem
Clem is the host.Clem is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
6 beds
2 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
6 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

We love it here in my relaxed, comfortable house with balconies and rooftops, right by the sea, the shops, the bus stop and the fast-boat to Valletta. A budget place for easy-going friendly people with socialising or adventures in their holiday plans.

The space

This is my social, friendly place for open minded stress free people to get to know each other and explore small but beautiful Malta.
I've opened up my always-changing and easy going home for ten months now and life couldn't be better, we have met some really amazing people and had some awesome times.

Travellers take note; this house is a place for people who want to meet other backpackers and open up, even though it's so cheap the price shouldn't be your only reason for booking. People share food, drink wine, leave crumbs and make friends here - siestas and fiestas are highly recommended, so in your booking message let me know that this is your scene and you'll be welcome here.

We have a really amazing location, just by the sea and the 1.5euro fast ferry to Valletta (our tiny stunning capital city) just ten meters from the bus stop to the main hub and an easy walk to cheap food, cold drinks and fresh baked bread.

The house is a big one! Six floors including the rooftop, and this is the layout from the top down:

Top roof with 360* view
Second to top roof with my room/BBQ area
Shower (small and simple)
Lounge and Kitchen
Toilet (shared)
Mixed dorm room (sleeps 6)
Toilet (shared)
Mixed dorm (sleeps 4)
Basement (has one wall painted purple)

Cool things to know:
Most things here are recycled, reclaimed or home made.
The 6 bed dorm and kitchen rooms have a balcony.
All beds have mosquito nets.
Your room will be shared with five others maximum!
All beds are bunk beds.
There are 96 steps from basement to the highest roof.
The toilets are not attached to the rooms.
We have a guitar.
There is a large free car park.
You can see the sea from the roof.
The kitchen is pretty simple*
The convenience store is open every day.
We have no pets, vampires or air-con.
Sometimes we all cook together.
Sometimes we BBQ together and invite friends.
The WIFI reaches like everywhere.
You can walk to some amazing places from here**
People leave shampoo a lot so help yourself.
Apparently I like lists.

*The kitchen is very simple, with a food prep area, sink and seating. We have a hot plate, kettle, fridge, microwave, sandwich toaster, blender, cups, plates, bowls, spoons, knives, maybe some forks and like eight chopping boards.

** From the front door you can walk for 5 minutes and find yourself in Birgu (Vittoriosa) Malta's oldest and one of the most beautiful 'cities'. Go 15 minutes further and find the open sea to the East for an amazing sunrise.
If you head South from the house, one and a half hours hike will bring you to St Peter's Pools (find some photos and see why it's my favourite summertime swimming spot) and Marsaxlokk for the famous Sunday morning fish market (while everyone else doesn't fit onto the busses trying to get there before it closes)
So maybe you guessed, I like to hike. But the busses are cheap too, 2euros for two hours of use on any bus (Malta is less than 2 hours from top to bottom) - or you can buy a 12 trip ticket for 15 euros.

What not to expect:
Silence throughout the house
Everything scrubbed clean, Malta is made of dust.
Piggy backs up the stairs

What to expect:
Clean sheets
Unlimited wifi
Tea, coffee, milk, sugar
Music on the roof
A chilled atmosphere
Other people in the house, being awesome.

What else?...

I have a pile of things by the door, they are for everyone to use; there is a snorkel and mask with fins, beginner slack-line, practice fire Poi, acoustic guitar, rock climbing harness, board games, cards, island maps and some other stuff.

The entire house is open to everyone, if you need something just ask, if you break something it's okay and if you lose the key it's fine. We are a community of good people making the most of the summertime and you are super welcome to join us.


Amenities
Free parking on premise
Kitchen
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people £9 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
3 bunk beds

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Everyone has to be nice to my neighbour Katie, she is lovely!
Smoking is allowed on balconies and rooftops but not in the rooms please.
Take it easy and ask me anything :)


Cancellations

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kitti User Profile
June 2017
It was very easy to communicate with Clem, he helped me with anything I needed. The atmosphere at the flat is pretty relaxed, and just as depicted in the pictures. Good public transport, and a beautiful harbor is 3 mins away from the flat. The view from the roof was amazing.

Bartek User Profile
July 2017
Place with soul :) 5*

Friedrich User Profile
January 2017
Staying at Clems place was really nice. He welcomed me and my friend very warmly, showed us some cool places in the neighborhood and gave tips where to go for every need. We enjoyed the time a lot and hope to come visit, soon. Propably in the summer when it's a little warmer ;) Thanks Clem!

Daniel User Profile
November 2016
Boar, this guy. We love him, we even tried to marry him cuz we just came back for the second (actually third!!) time to Malta. Yeh, he loves chicken and beer strange dude. BEST PLACE IN GREECE but bring mosquito-spray with ya ;-)

Lena User Profile
October 2016
We spent a week in Cospicua at Clem's house. From the first moment we felt very welcome. We got a lot of tips what to do around, which was very helpful for us. It was also really nice to sit together on the rooftop in the evening. You have an amazing view up there. So we enjoyed our holidays and had a great time.

Ksenia User Profile
September 2016
Clem is very friendly, helpful and nice host. I'd like to mention a cute atmosphere and nice views from his roof. We missed so much only one thing - hot water)) Anyway, thank u very much for this great experience!)

Katie User Profile
September 2016
I was sitting on the roof with my boyfriend and Clem a couple of days ago trying to write this review and I said to Clem that I didn't think I could find the words to describe just how amazing our time in Malta has been. I'm still not sure I can do this but I will try my best. Clem is one of the most genuine, caring, funny people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He is always down for an adventure and has endless stories about the fantastic things he has done and seen in his life. He introduced us to so many of his friends and now they are our friends too :) when we decided to extend our stay by a week Clem offered us his own room and stayed in one of the shared rooms. This is just the type of person that he is. Malta would not have been the same without him. The location of Clem's place is perfect. Five minutes from his front door you can take a short boat to Valletta where you can connect to everywhere in Malta. The rooftop is absolutely beautiful and an excellent place to start the day with a coffee and end it with a drink. The atmosphere of the house is really relaxed and is the closest thing you will experience to coming "home" on a long trip. I can't recommend his place enough. We will never forget our time with Clem in Malta :) Thanks for everything! Team Canada loves you!

MaltaJoined in January 2016
Clem User ProfileClem is a superhost.

Hi, I'm 27, Irish/English and very easy to get along with.

I spend my days in pursuit of freedom and sunny shores - I'm new to hosting here but had to share my place as it's in the best location in Malta and I have made it a fun but cheap place to stay. I love an adventure so please visit me and I will make sure you don't miss out :)

I write a lot and am finishing a book at the moment but travel is my passion; I spent a lot of my teens around Europe, and four of the last fix years in Asia.

I enjoy listening to people's travel tales, learning, having a good time and making sure everyone around me has a good time also. Airbnb is relatively new to me but I'm excited to meet some new faces.

I love my work, and photography. Living light and staying active. Muesli and red wine. Slackline and rock climbing. Fajitas and blue cheese (I know right!). Teaching and learning. Surfing and scuba. Cooking and movies. Fire poi and languages. the list goes on...

My 8tracks listening history has some deep house saxophone, a bit of Latin folk, Florence + the Machine and a lot of acoustic guitar. A bit of music around the place is a must, feel free to play what you're into (unless someone is sleeping) and join me for a beer on the roof.

Counties I've visited include; Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand - so maybe we will have some experiences in common. I grew up in Cornwall but have also lived in Thailand, Indonesia and now Malta.

So that's me, in plenty of detail I think - and now I look forward to meeting you!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings