Breakfast NookKitchen/Laundry
20's Berkeley Bungalow off Solano Avenue

Entire home/flat

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

My home is a 20's Vintage Spanish Mediterranean Bungalow right off Solano Avenue on the northside of Berkeley. It was restored about 10 years ago and has hardwood floors, vintage lighting, newer appliances and tons of light. In addition, it is a great location in Berkeley: Minutes to hiking paths in the Berkeley hills,
literally right around the corner from transit to SF and downtown Berkeley, UC Campus, etc. There are great restaurants on every block with every imaginable type of food.

The space

There is one bedroom with a large closet, armoire, and chest of drawers at the rear of the house, very quiet, overlooking the rose bushes. The 2nd bedroom has a closet, chest of drawers, and shelves. Currently there is a large overstuffed sofa that sleeps one very comfortably, and an double aerobed. Many guests with children like this arrangement as the bed can be put away during the day, and the space used as a study of office for work. There are sliding french doors and a deck off this room.

Guest access

Guests have access to the whole property, minus the garage and basement, where access to heater and water heater are available.

Interaction with guests

I am often travelling when guests arrive, but I have a neighbor/friend who is available to all guests if necessary.


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 100
Security Deposit: 640
Weekly Discount: 21%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 couch, 1 air mattress
Common spaces
1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

1. Please remove shoes.
2. Park in the driveway to the left facing front. There is a small placeholder for a car:
Pull up and go over the slight bump
You are well-positioned. This will allow space to put the recycling containers out on Wednesday morning. Also the neighbors to the left need ti be able to get through.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Adam User Profile
November 2016
Jane's Bungalow is beautifully presented. It's on a lovely quiet street in what we would consider to be the very best neighborhood in Berkeley. Walking distance to many great places and parts of town and also easy to get to and from via car. The house itself is absolutely lovely and filled with beautifully restored details. It's truly an ideal Berkeley hideaway. And we most certainly hope to return there.
Jane User Profile
Response from Jane:
Thanks for your nice comments. I truly love my house, and it's always makes to happy to know my place was appreciated and enjoyed by guests.
November 2016

Christa User Profile
October 2016
A very sweet bungalow in a great residential neighborhood. Comfortable bed and convenient amenities. Great light and decor. Within walking distance to Solano, a street full of little shops and restaurants. Jane was flexible about check in, and was in the area during some of the stay, meaning she popped in from time to time.
Jane User Profile
Response from Jane:
The "bug" problem was a seasonal ant invasion, which happens every year around the change of seasons. As soon as I was notified, I delivered some ant traps to deal with the problem. I usually use "organic-non-toxic orange spray".
October 2016

Lauren User Profile
August 2016
There's not enough good things I could say about our stay here. Jane was very communicative during our booking and stay. We were getting to her place late and after she'd already left town, so she left very clear instructions for us, as well as numerous local contacts. We were staying at her place for a week - we are relocating to the area, but our new condo wasn't ready yet. It was nice to have a great home base all week. She's clearly hosted before, and thought of everything - there were rear instructions for any questions we might possibly have about the house, and she had cleared dresser drawers and closet space, as well as shelves in the fridge and pantry so that we could make it our own. But she was generous to share her things as well- I didn't feel like I had to bring the kitchen sink and could use basics like cooking oils and spices, etc., and she encouraged us to use whatever was there (out of habit I try not to unless I'm replacing it though). The heater was very quick to warm up the house on one night that was a little chilly, and the house was just overall very spacious and comfortable with lots of wonderful musical instruments. We don't play any sadly, but we enjoyed a nice sound system to use during dinner and relaxing. Her neighbors we so friendly, and the neighborhood was super safe and convenient. My husband and I easily walked to our bus stops, and there were great restaurants and coffee shops close by. My daughter liked walking the neighborhood as well- plenty of families, but it's not noisy or rambunctious. Everything was truly perfect. Thanks again so much Jane! If we have friends or family come visit, we'll recommend you highly - since our UCB housing is cozy and we don't have the extra space :/ .

Berkeley, California, United StatesJoined in January 2016
Jane User Profile

I am a professional musician and teacher: I play flute: Perform, teach, record in several styles--including classical, jazz, Brazilian, baroque Afro Cuban, symphonic music and more. I live in the SF Bay Area where I am an active teacher and performer. I have travelled many places to study and perform, most recently Rio and Sao Paulo.

Languages: English, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings