Bathtub and shower.  17 foot ceiling.Wi-fi and couch.
French Doors to Sunny Private Deck.
French Doors to Sunny Private Deck.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Academic offers a large private room with double bed near UCB and BART. A ten-minute walk from downtown, but in a family neighborhood. Quiet, comfortable home with all the amenities. Great for non-English speakers. Children welcome.

The space

High ceilings, views into large garden with fruit trees and vegetables, spacious. Easy-going host.

Guest access

Kitchen (fridge, stove...), living rooms, bath, deck, garden. Wi-fi. Off-street parking if desired.

Interaction with guests

We'll work out a comfortable distance.


Amenities
Washer
Laptop friendly workspace
Indoor Fireplace
TV

House Rules

No smoking, please.


Cancellations

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sebastian User Profile
August 2017
This place is perfect, the room is very comfortable. I like the big window in the room. Rondi is a very friendly host and you can speak to her every time. The house is big and you are welcome to use the kitchen. Bart stations and the UC Berkeley are near and you can walk in 10 to 15 minutes. I am very happy with my stay and would highly recommend it.

Prudy User Profile
January 2016
Rondi was great! She picked me up at the train station and took me to her gorgeous house. It was comfortable, near the BART which was important and the other guests were fun and very interesting to talk to. Rondi even took my laundry to the dry cleaners and back! Who does that?? Thanks a million! A great trip and I would certainly visit again.

Rc User Profile
January 2016
Rondi’s house is a unique piece of architecture that is worth visiting. It was unfortunate that I had to terminate this booking prematurely due to significant inaccuracy between the description on Airbnb’s website and my actual experience staying at this listing. During my stay, I experienced major flooding in the laundry room that has no dryer, drainage problem in the bathtub, and overcrowded use of one single toilet/bath with a Bolivian family of 6 (5 adults and 1 child) that I didn’t anticipate. Airbnb’s team of staff was helpful and efficient to assist me during this unexpected encounter. I very much appreciate that.
Rondi User ProfileRondi is a superhost.
Response from Rondi:
Yes, a washing machine less than a year old and which had been installed professionally did spring a leak in the hot water line (I ask guests to wash in cold and provide a specially formulated soap). This was resolved quite easily. The "Bolivian family" were visiting their daughter, an engineer, and I was told they'd only be 3 and would stay for 3 nights. (Why cite their nationality?) I'm sorry that they intruded upon your peace and quiet. Their presence en masse comes as a surprise to me.
January 2016

Simon User Profile
October 2015
A very comfortable room. Rondi is a friendly and easygoing host and really made me feel welcome. The rest of the house is also very nice and I was glad to use the kitchen. The location is convenient and Rondi did a great job at giving advice as to where to shop and run errands. Very happy with my stay and would highly recommend it!

Kim User Profile
August 2014
Rondi was an amazing host. I felt very welcome from the first moment I arrived. The room was clean and had everything I needed. I was very happy that I could use the kitchen. Rondi gave me advice where to shop and she even drove me to where I needed to be. Thanks for everything Rondi! :)

Guillermo User Profile
February 2014
I just stayed for one day but it was such a great experience. Rondi was really kind, friendly and helpful. Is a pleasure to stay with her. Lovely

Shinar User Profile
February 2014
I loved my stay at Rondi's. Rondi is a wonderful host. I felt myself at home and cosy since day one. The room is wonderful, big, so sunny, cosy, has a great view from the window, very comply bed. The house is very nice, beautiful house. The location is convenient and quite. the neighborhood is nice and safe. The breakfasts were delicious. I loved my stay a lot, enjoyed meeting other housemates and would highly recommend!

Berkeley, California, United StatesJoined in July 2013
Rondi User ProfileRondi is a superhost.
I have had a pretty far-ranging life, from teaching at Cal to being a single mom of 2 daughters, one white, the other black, one 44, the other 16. I'm a social explorer who loves people and aesthetics, social justice and fictions, Buddhism and rebellion.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings