comfortable king size bed
Cosy South Downs nr Newhaven Ferry/Lewes/Brighton
Hosted by Emily
Emily is the host.Emily is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful room in peaceful countryside but with easy access by car, train or ferry. Foxhole Lodge is in the South Downs National Park with a bridleway at the back door. Ideal for walkers/cyclists/writers or anyone who loves tranquility, great views, hills, gardens (1.5 acres!) birds, cats, dogs or the sea. Easy access to Seaford, Lewes, Brighton & Eastbourne. Great pubs. On National Cycle route 2, Avenue Verte & Vanguard Way plus bus routes. 5 mins to Newhaven Ferry. Continental breakfast.

The space

Your attractive room is separate from the rest of the house up a private staircase with its own tea/coffee making area and separate fridge. Lovely views of pretty front garden, and horses in the field beyond.
Cycle friendly house with room to lock bikes & bike wash.
Comfortable king size bed with good quality bedding, and two types of pillow (a firmer feather one and a softer down one) to suit different tastes. The ensuite shower room is a little old fashioned but clean and functional.

Guest access

Continental breakfast, often with eggs from our chickens or home-made bread.
Other than breakfast, we don't provide cooking facilities except by arrangement, but you have a private tea/coffee making area and use of a guest fridge, and there are lots of places to eat out nearby.
Foxhole Lodge is full of character, complete with dogs, cats and chickens, and you have full access to our beautiful terraced front and back gardens plus summer house (ideal quiet space for for writers/students) and a wildflower meadow, in total over 1.5 acres of land forming part of the South Downs National Park.

Interaction with guests

Your room is very private, up its own staircase separated from the main house.
We are a friendly family and there if you need anything. We can advise on places to visit, walking, sea swimming or cycling and lend you maps.

Other things to note

As we have our own dogs and cats we can't generally accommodate yours but this may be possible - ask for more info.


Amenities
Free parking on premise
Internet
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £12
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 11AM

A breakfast of tea/coffee/toast/cereal plus usually eggs from our hens is provided on a help yourself basis.
Other than at breakfast time we don't provide cooking facilities, but you have a private tea and coffee making area, use of a guest fridge and there are plenty of places to eat out nearby.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

27 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sean User Profile
September 2017
Really great place to relax and explore the country side in your stride and plenty of public transport to get about.

Rachel User Profile
August 2017
Pick this one!!! The room is immaculate, the family are lovely and the garden and countryside are stunning. With a private entrance you don't feel intrusive but are equally welcomed into the kitchen and garden with an array of delicious breakfast foods. Emily is full of information, maps and timetables and although tucked away in the countryside, amenities are close and public transport stops at the end of the road!
Emily User ProfileEmily is a superhost.
Response from Emily:
Thanks Rachel, so glad you had a good time, it was fab to meet you both :)
August 2017

Steve User Profile
August 2017
Great place to stay. Off the main road and perfect for walking over the downs or over the road to the beach, a nice walk into Seaford Y.ou need a car or use the regular buses. Good selection for light breakfast, especially if there are fresh eggs.

Nora User Profile
July 2017
Emily and her family hosted my partner and I during the weekend while we were attending the Love Supreme jazz festival. It was just 10 minutes away from the festival site. That allowed us to have a good night sleep instead of camping like in previous years. Emily was very flexible in terms of arrival and departure time, and we were allowed to come back at any time in the evening so we could enjoy till the last concert. Breakfast was fantastic. It had lot of variety and it was great as well for my partner who is saliac too. We were offered fresh eggs from their chickens :) the room was cosy, very clean, with everything we needed including soaps, towels, and side table with teapot. Lovely countryside views from the window and very comfy bed. It really made a difference to our festival weekend. The family has cats and dogs, and chickens as I said. Very lively but peaceful. Would definitely repeat next year when the Festival is on again :)
Emily User ProfileEmily is a superhost.
Response from Emily:
aww thank you for your lovely review Nora, look forward to seeing you again next year
July 2017

Emily User Profile
June 2017
Amazing place - beautiful room with lovely, helpful hosts. Very convenient for the ferry port - the perfect place for a peaceful stay on our first cycle tour. Thanks Emily and Martin!

Conrad A. User Profile
May 2017
Great stay. Very friendly.

Greg User Profile
April 2017
Comfortable room, great setting with loads of lovely routes to walk and run and of course a great host! Can't rate highly Emily enough, had a great stay

Joined in October 2013
Emily User ProfileEmily is a superhost.

We are a fun loving family with 3 children between 12 and 18. Emily works for a non-profit organisation working on local food and sustainability; Martin runs a plumbing & heating business

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Emily’s place.
Emily
Martin helps host.
Martin

The neighbourhood

Similar listings