Your comfy bed with mattress pad warmer.Your kitchen with microwave, electric tea kettle and full fridge.
Traveling Nurse/Business/Couples Retreat
Traveling Nurse/Business/Couples Retreat
2 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

This light-filled, recently remodeled, private basement apartment with a separate entrance, large window well and shared garden, is located within one block of public transportation and 5 miles of downtown. We are near Mt. Tabor Park. It's a 5 minute drive to Division, Hawthorne, Foster-Powell and Montavilla restaurants.
Walk Score: 78 Bike Score: 90

The space

Enter the Garden Art Apartment through a separate gate. This is a newly remodeled sub level studio apartment which features a sleeping nook with a firm queen bed, heated mattress pad, bathroom, the kitchenette has a full fridge, sink, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, electric skillet and electric tea kettle - no stove. There's a standing writing/art desk for your convenience. The apartment is perfect for couples, visiting parents, business visitors, traveling nurses and people who just want to explore our amazing city.

The space is eco friendly; it features LED lights, many strategically placed USB ready wall outlets, wool carpet over felt padding, and comfy but quick dry towels.

Two oversized egress windows along with an extra single hung window for fresh night air show views into a single very quiet garden well. The original wooden beam structure is enhanced with some custom casing and there is a touch of early modernism in the glass wall detail above the bathroom wall. All in all, I'd say that it has a simplified post-modernist feel to the space.

Photographs from my ongoing Encyclopedia series project hang on the walls. There is a standing writing desk for either paper or computers and a bench that is easily moved to serve as a coffee/work table in front of the couch.

In the backyard there are a few small cafe chairs and tables to extend your relaxation space. There is a very nice succession of flowers that blasts off starting off in the spring and continues into winter. Raspberries can last into October and four varieties of blueberries grace the summer months.

Your breakfast nook is stocked with coffee, tea, and oatmeal. There is a sink, microwave, toaster oven, electric skillet and full fridge for your convenience. There is no stove.

The bathroom has a stall shower that comes supplied with toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body soap) a blowdryer and iron with board. Many supplied amenities are organic and earth friendly. We live upstairs with our dog and cat.

Guest access

Your apartment is 100% private for your enjoyment. We welcome you to enjoy the shared back yard with chairs to relax. (weather permitting). In the Spring enjoy bird watching in your spare time on our enclosed back porch, the crystal palace (see photo). You have heat and electricity out there. It's a perfect spot to relax outside of the apartment and read or work on your computer. There is plenty of street parking on the East side of 62nd.

Interaction with guests

We enjoy meeting new people and are happy to interact with you at your comfort level. One of us is usually around so don't hesitate to ask questions, if not email or text is fine too. If you have time, we'll challenge you to a game of backgammon. We'd love to know your favorite flower or favorite fruit. Summer raspberries and blueberries are yours to pick.

Other things to note

Fully permitted # 16-273582-000-00-HO

We have a friendly dog and cat that may be in the yard but not in your apartment. You may hear footsteps and sounds of water from the house above and an occasional dog bark. We are respectful of your presence, but we do live in a 1950's house, sounds may be present. We now offer air conditioning for the hotter part of the summer but there are few days that it is actually needed.

License or registration number

16-273582
Learn about this number

Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Breakfast

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Security Deposit £195
Weekly Discount: 9%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with smart lock and keypad

- No unregistered guests
- No firearms
- We live in a great quiet neighborhood. We ask that you come and go in a respectful manner.
- This is a basement apartment with shared walls. We ask that things quiet down by 10pm through 7am.
- This is a non-smoking space --- both inside and outside.
- No pets. We have a dog and a cat that may be in the yard during your visit. They may walk through a shared hallway but not in your separate space. Please keep garden gate closed for security and so the animals do not escape.
- We ask guests to take off their shoes when you are inside.
- Due to allergies no strong perfumes or scented lotions - thank you:)
- No more than two people.
- Kindly take care of your dishes - thank you.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 1 flight to a daylight basement
Pet(s) live on property - They are not in your space, you have a separate unit downstairs.
No parking on property - You can park across the street,there is plenty of parking.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Nov 28 - Dec 8, 2017 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

82 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jed User Profile
October 2017
We spent 3 nights here for our mini-moon, and it was wonderful! The space is well planned and was a sanctuary for us in a big, confusing new city. We grew to enjoy Portland and the residence is very drivable to anywhere we wanted to go. We really appreciated the honeymoon card, champagne, chocolate too! We really enjoyed our Portland minimoon and Allen and Darlene were a big part of making it great.

Kenny User Profile
October 2017
Allen's place was great! It is so clean, spacious, and you can tell that great thought has gone into all the details. Everything you need is there, the gardens in the back are so welcoming each time you return, and there are some decent places to eat within walking distance. Allen and Darlene were both so kind to receive a package I had delivered for my girlfriend's birthday while we were there. They even threw in their own card to her as well :)

Timothy User Profile
October 2017
Allen’s home is open and clean. All the amenities you would expect, and more, are provided. The neighborhood is quiet with easy access to downtown Portland, but you don’t need to go far from the home to find great food, shopping and Portland icons. We really enjoyed the proximity to Mt. Tabor. We were able to run and hike the former volcano, twice, during our visit. I would recommend Allen’s home to anyone looking to experience Portland like a local.

Michael User Profile
October 2017
Extremely clean. Lots of USB outlets everywhere. Heat lamp in bathroom major plus.

Nicholas F. User Profile
October 2017
Allen's description and rules were very accurate, made a point to follow them to the letter.

Eloisa User Profile
September 2017
Our stay was very relaxing! My boyfriend and I decided to go for my birthday and we couldn't have picked a better location to stay. Allen & Darlene's place is in a residential neighborhood far enough from the downtown hype to relax and check out local faves but close enough to get into the downtown scene when we wanted to go out and explore. We used public transportation to get around everywhere and it was super convenient. We really enjoyed and appteciated everything that Allen & Darlene had to offer. They made our stay a wonderful experience! :)

Jason User Profile
September 2017
This is a great place to stay at when you want a little getaway vacation. The location is great with the bus stop minute away from the house. The area seems like it has a lot of great places to eat. The hosts were nice and great.

Portland, Oregon, United StatesJoined in August 2016
Allen User ProfileAllen is a superhost.

My wife and I love traveling and meeting people. We have a passion for pets and have a rescue dog and cat. I’m a career artist, creating in photography and video; you can check out my work by googling my name. My wife is a writer. We look forward to sharing what we love about Portland and why we moved to the Pacific Northwest from NYC. Hint - my show at Blue Sky Gallery had something to do with it. There is so much to explore in the Portland area. When we are not out camping, we grow our own food, play guitar and actively pursue a healthy lifestyle.

Now that we've been hosts for almost a year, what we've really enjoyed seeing how happy everyone is. We've had couples of all ages staying with us, we've had father's and son's, mother's and daughters and families with young ones. Being hosts has brought a lot of joy into our lives.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings