sun-filled living and dining areasun-filled alcove with views of neighboring gardens
SUN-filled brownstone retreat
SUN-filled brownstone retreat
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A gorgeous and sun-filled brooklyn overlooking tranquil gardens

The space

Hello there!

Beautiful and private room available in a gorgeous brownstone on a tree-lined Brooklyn block. Plenty of sunshine and windows throughout, hardwood floors and a beautiful brick wall. This bedroom has generous bay windows which overlook neighboring gardens, creating the feeling of being absconded away in a hidden treehouse. A cozy alcove with a desk is a lovely extension of the bedroom. The utter silence of the still gardens that surround the room make for tranquil sleep and a gorgeous streaming of morning light to awaken you. The bed itself is queen-sized. It is the perfect retreat after a day of exploring.

The apartment is smack dab in the midst of other brownstones, and a super friendly block, featuring the best block party in Brooklyn in August, and front stoop bbq's every night of the week. Think about the movie Crooklyn or the Cosby Show and you've got the picture. A fully stocked kitchen with everything you may need for cooking, a spacious living room and full bathroom are shared. It is a lovely sanctuary to come home to after a day of exploration.

You will be sharing the space with me and my 35 year old partner who works in the service industry, loves to cook and travel, meeting new people, yoga and dance. We have a 4 month old baby boy and he's is delightful and tranquil. Our room is far removed from yours so there will be plenty of privacy.

I recently returned from opening a taqueria in London, so if ceviche and guacamole are your thing, you are in luck! I love this neighborhood and apartment and have been here for over six years, and in New York for 11 years. I have explored so many nooks and crannies, and have many city treasures, and adventures to send you off in search of. If it's a food-centric adventure you are after-you will not be disappointed with my recommendations. This I promise.

Apart from friendly neighbors, the neighborhood features plenty of coffee shops, restaurants, and bars within walking distance. A bakery around the corner serves delicious flatbread sandwiches and fresh squeezed juices. Decadent doughnuts and craft cocktails are also at your fingertips as are tacos, salami pizza and chicken vindaloo. If you would like to do your thing in the kitchen, there are several grocery stores and three wine shops within three blocks. If thrifting is what you are after, an awesome vintage shop is right at the end of the block. Absolute shopping heaven can also be found a 20 minute stroll away at Brooklyn Flea on Saturdays. This market features vintage clothing, antiques, jewelry, bikes and yes, more food.

I am located two blocks away from the G subway station which whisks you away to other Brooklyn and Queens neighborhoods such as Williamsburg, Greenpoint, Park Slope, Bushwick, Long Island City and Fort Greene in 15 minutes or less. A quick transfer has you in Manhattan in 25 minutes. A Citibike dock is located 3 blocks away, and is the perfect way to explore all of Brooklyn and Manhattan. A 20 minute bike ride has you soaring over either the Manhattan or Williamsburg bridge.

This apartment is truly special, and I look forward to meeting you!

Guest access

Hello there!

We are currently seeking a roommate with whom to share our spacious apartment. We have one sunny, tranquil and private furnished bedroom available in our 2.5 bedroom brownstone apartment. The space features a white brick wall, and bay windows overlooking adjacent backyards, ample morning sunlight, and peaceful respite from street sounds. You would be sharing living/bathroom and kitchen spaces with us, two 35 year olds and our 4-month old baby. Our space is in the spacious large front half of the apartment, allowing plenty of space and privacy. We realize the living situation is unique, but we are friendly, warm, non-smoking, social and creative and looking for a great person to live with. We are open with regards to time frame needs.
There are plenty of great bars and restaurants nearby, and the G train at Bedford Nostrand is a short two block walk away.

Interaction with guests

We would like to interact with our guest since it will be more of a housemate situation since it is long term stay.

Other things to note

Please note, that contrary to the photos depicted, the bed is elevated on a platform frame. Rent includes all utilities. Room is available April 1st, although there may be some flexibility with move-in date if needed.

We prefer someone who will bring little to no furniture.


Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £35
Security Deposit £234
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Please no smoking or loud parties.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
30 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Akari User Profile
January 2017
Mariyamのお部屋は愛に溢れたとっても幸せな空間でした!素敵な時間をありがとう。

This host has 9 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
New York, New York, United StatesJoined in June 2011
Mariyam User Profile

A dancing yogi who teaches hip hop to kids and loves pistachio ice cream.

Response rate: 40%
Response time: a few days or more

The neighbourhood

Similar listings