You'll also have two desks.  Ideal for interns on a budget
4-Castro Private room for 1-2 people shared home

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

You're renting a private room for 1 to 2 people in a large 6 bedroom shared house. It's located just off El Camino at the heart of downtown Castro Street. The home is unique in that it has 4 different levels-the main shared living area is on the second level. This particular room is located on the lowest level which is partially underground.

The space

LOCATION: Near downtown Mountain View Castro Street and El Camino. Easy access to 237 and 85 Freeways. Short walk to bus and shuttle stops on El Camino. I can't list all of the companies that are within a short drive or ride from here. Not far from G00gle, Stanford, Apple, L1nked1n, Yah00, Tesla, NASA, Y Combinator
PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION: The house is 5 minute walk to a City bus stop and a 20 minute walk to Cal Train. 1 hr, 15 min Cal Train ride to San Francisco.
CHECKING IN: You will receive a unique personal code that works for you on the front door and on your bedroom door. You'll be able to check in at your convenience.
OTHER TRANSPORTATION: Uber and Lyft are pretty popular in the area. A lot of my guests bike. G00gle has a shuttle stop nearby.
PARKING: If you have a car there may be driveway parking. Otherwise, there is plenty of street parking just outside the private court.
WHO ARE YOU SHARING THE HOUSE WITH?: This particular home tends to attract more mature techies, rather than the interns that the other communal homes attract. You'll likely be staying with new hires at the big tech corporations as well as business travelers in their mid 30s to 50s.
EXTENDED STAYS: If your stay is more than 30 days, there will be an additional cleaning fee that will help cover the weekly cleaning of the common area and a monthly room cleaning with a sheet exchange.
SECURITY CAMERA: Per Airbnb's requirement, we would like to disclose that a security camera may be in use in the shared living room or outside the house.

Other things to note

This particular room is located on the lowest level of the the level home. It is partially underground and tends to be cooler than the rooms on the upper level. If you tend to need higher room temperatures, this is not the room for you. Look at rooms 1 or 2.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 4PM - 1AM (next day)
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people £19 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £31
Security Deposit £229
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 1AM (next day)

GUESTS: No guests other than registered guests are allowed in the home at any time without direct written permission. It's for the security and comfort of all of the guests. If I don't allow you to bring other people in the house, it means I'm also not allowing others to bring random people in. You have no way of knowing who that person your fellow guest has over is. So for the security of everyone and their belongings, no one else is allowed in the house. I will require a photo ID of any guest that I allow to enter the house.
RULES: Nothing illegal. No underage alcohol drinking (CA drinking age is 21). No marijuana smoking. No file sharing--BitTorrent. (The internet service provider will freeze the account.) This is one that a lot of people don't seem to understand. It is illegal in the US to share copyrighted materials online.
KITCHEN USE: you can prepare simple meals. You have a personal responsibility to rinse your dishes and put them in the dishwasher immediately after using them. Please take a turn unloading the dishwasher too.

BIKES: Absolutely no bikes in the house. Bikes can be stored outside, not in the garage either, because it's already quite crowded and I need to have work space. You can keep bikes in back of the house on one of the patios.
GARBAGE: make sure you know how to separate garbage. We recycle in California. It's simple if you take a minute to learn it. Since it's a shared home, if you are staying more than a week, we ask that you help out with this one household task....PLEASE take out the kitchen garbage when it is full. There are large cans outside.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 1.5 flights-half a flight to get into the house and one flight up to the bedroom

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Oct 01, 2017 - Nov 30, 2018 the minimum stay is 5 nights.

12 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tyler User Profile
September 2017
The house was very nice and clean. Parking and entering the home were very easy and our bedroom was comfortable. Thank you Christina!

Prasad User Profile
September 2017
Overall I really liked the place. The price given the location was really good. Common areas like kitchen etc are a big plus. The only slight negative was the relative cleanliness of the carpets and the bathroom.
Christina User Profile
Response from Christina:
Thanks for the feedback. I actually plan to replace the living room rug, it's just an odd size and hard for me to find such a large rug--working on it though. Apparently, cream color does not work in a shared house, even though I ask people to remove shoes...I guess I knew that though :) We do have a weekly cleaner who comes on Monday (happened to be a holiday this week), but I do ask guests to clean after themselves also. I will figure out a way to put the cleaning supplies in plain sight, rather than under the bathroom sink.
September 2017

Randy User Profile
June 2017
Amazing host!

Bogdan User Profile
May 2017
It was close enough to my target location, so it was ok for me

Shrenik User Profile
May 2017
Nice place, an easy walk from the main street. Only issue was there was a lot of loud construction during the day, which prevented us from working, but otherwise, very nice accomodations.
Christina User Profile
Response from Christina:
The review makes it sound like a high rise is going up next door. We did have a last minute urgent bathroom floor repair two stories up from his bedroom. It was one day of removing an old tile floor and replacing it i(URL HIDDEN)bathroom. We found out the day before that the owner got someone to work this quickly. Shrenik's communication to me said that he was coming to the area for an interview, not to use the bedroom in a shared house as an office. Usually the home is empty during the day, so the work was scheduled during the day when everyone is gone--not anywhere near the quiet hours. It's definitely not a regular thing and was an urgent repair. If I knew he had planned to be in the house working during the day, I could have warned him, but frankly it wasn't anywhere near his room and who could have expected him to be in the house trying to work in the middle of the day.
May 2017

Longbin User Profile
April 2017
I have stayed for almost three months for the Internship at (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN). This place is very close to (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) and (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) shuttle at El Carmino, up to 15m walking, can be made in 10m. A great place to live, quiet, secure. Christina is always very helpful. A place that must recommend

Cynthia User Profile
January 2017
Second time staying in the house (different room). Great, as expected.

This host has 700 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Sunnyvale, California, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Christina User Profile

My listings consist of the following:
** 1-5 bedroom homes, rented out as a private whole home
** Private bedrooms with private bathrooms in a shared communal home
** Private bedrooms with shared bathrooms in a shared communal home
** Private bedroom with a dedicated bathroom in my family home
** Shared bedrooms with shared bathrooms in a shared communal home
** Private bedroom for 1-3 people

WHO STAYS IN MY HOMES? The communal homes attract young techies and interns. They are not suitable for families or couples. The whole house rentals are more suitable for families or people travelling together for business.

PERSONAL: I am a person, not a company or corporation. I happen to have a number of listings but I am the person who manages it all with the help of professional cleaners and handymen. I am a single divorced mother of two teen daughters that my ex husband and I adopted from Russia when they were a year old. I was a real estate professional before the adoption, but quit actively selling homes to stay with the girls. I began to manage the rental homes that we owned.
I've traveled quite extensively and understand what it's like to live in other people's homes and be a guest in a different country. I absolutely love being an Airbnb host. In the past I lived in Italy for 2 years and Russia for 5 years. I've been to Germany dozens of times to visit my mom's side of the family. I am fluent in English, Russian and German. I am on the big social networking site and on the career networking site (both of which have been verified here on Airbnb) if you'd like to see my connections my last name is Zima.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Christina’s place.
Christina
Sandra and Jim help host.
Sandra
Jim

The neighbourhood

Similar listings