Separate table for working / studying
Spacious double rm/private bathrm/heart of Dalston
Spacious double rm/private bathrm/heart of Dalston

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A tucked away E8 terrace in one of London's most vibrant districts, this house is a warm homely quiet space with social, cultural and multi-ethnic vitality (Hipster, Kurdish, Afro-Caribbean, Nigerian, Vietnamese) + street market on the doorstep. This 3-storey haven offers a private bedroom & bathroom, use of kitchen, lush garden and parking. I have a working knowledge of 4 European languages and I'm happy to help with practical queries about London/Dalston or to leave you to your own devices.

The space

[It seems that in some locations Airbnb doesn't list reviews in chronological order, which is strange. In this case, for all 2016-2017 reviews - see further down the list :)]

This is a secure gated Crescent with a healthy mix of Hackney and diverse East London locals: it's safe, well maintained and set back from the main road behind a row of houses, so it's unusually quiet for Dalston. Your bright and airy double bedroom is on the 1st floor of this '80s town house, equipped with a quality memory foam mattress (probably one of the most comfortable in London), snug new IKEA armchair, MUJI clothes storage and use of your own modern bathroom with shower. There is high speed wifi throughout the house as well as free parking should you need it. It's a quiet location, especially during the day, but then walking out of the Crescent, Dalston and Hackney offer most visitors all that they need for an excellent night out.

There is space for a fold out single bed in the room if you need to accommodate an extra person, at a charge of £10 per night.

Please help yourself to breakfast with cereal, bread, toast, jam, fruit, fresh coffee, juice and different teas. Other breakfast and lunch options at independent coffee houses / cafes, including for vegans and those with other dietary requirements, are within 2 -5 minutes walk; as is a large Sainsburys supermarket. Try the local Turkish Food Centre (TFC) for its fresh daily flat bread and bewildering array of olives, the 24 hour Bagel Bakery or the fast Indian / Turkish food stalls on Ridley Road market.

Guest access

I work in central London as a researcher / educator / lecturer, and am mostly out during the day - apart from Fridays, when I mainly work at home. You are welcome to use the lovingly created hide-away of a garden, the living room and kitchen should you need to spread out a bit.

Interaction with guests

In terms of contact, I'll be sensitive to your needs: whether you require total independence, privacy and a quiet life, or an upbeat supportive host with advice and practical tips, and anything in between, it's fine by me.

Other things to note

You will find these available to you: a table for studying, a dressing table, a comfy armchair, a music system, towels, hand soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hairdryer, full length mirror.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 10
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price: 45 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

38 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Hamish User Profile
July 2017
Michelle was a great host and her apartment was exactly as described. I stayed with my fiancée and the room was very comfortable for both of us. We didn't make use of the garden, but it looked like a great spot to enjoy some sunshine. The apartment is centrally located near bus stops and two train stations. We'd happily stay again the next time we're in London.

Jess User Profile
July 2017
Michelle's place was absolutely great -- it is truly a warm home. It is in a convenient, lively neighborhood which has plenty of affordable options to eat if you're going to come home a little on the later side. The market was one of our favorite spots. Transportation was excellent, with the Overground & buses going directly to central London. Highly recommend for all of these reasons, but mostly because Michelle was a really awesome host. Thank you for having us!
Michelle User ProfileMichelle is a superhost.
Response from Michelle:
Thanks Jess and Jonah. I love the fact that you really got around London and explored the local area too. Hope you enjoy similar trips around the globe!
July 2017

Roxanne User Profile
July 2017
Michelle was a great host! Very easygoing and responsive!! The room with the private bathroom are clean and cozy! We had everything that we needed! Hackney (the district) might seem a bit odd when you arrive but it's a safe district! It's near the train/tube stations and if you walk 10 mins toward London Fields you have a great park and great area with lots and lots of people and restaurants. Thank you Michelle !!

Malte User Profile
June 2017
This was our first trip with Airbnb and it was great. We had a very nice stay in Michelle´s house. The room was comfortable and clean. Moreover we could us(URL HIDDEN) the kitchen and the living room. The house is close to an overground station and 2 supermarkets as well. Michelle was a really friendly host, unfortunately we didn't see each other that much, because we we´re both so busy during our stay. We would definitely come back. Thank you very much for everything.

Kaspar User Profile
June 2017
Michelle's place in Dalston is in a great location and a really cool part of London with lots of cafes, pubs and parks in the neighbourhood. It's also really close to two tube stations and buses which is very handy. We really appreciated that Michelle let us check in early and she was a great host with lots of suggestions and advice.

Cindy User Profile
May 2017
Very nice place! Close to the tube station, and there is also a great market just few steps away from the house. We had our own bathroom, which was awsome. The room was nice and clean. Michelle was also super nice, although she's been busy and we didnt get to talk much, but overall she is very welcoming. Would stay again in the future!

Klára User Profile
May 2017
My stay in London was really perfect! As I travelled alone I wanted to have a cosy place with a nice host and that I experienced by Michelle more than I could have wished! I had a nice room with a private bathroom, I could use the other spaces in the house like kitchen, livingroom and very nicely done garden where I liked to have my meals. In the kitchen I was welcome to have tea&coffee, cereals, toasts and fruit for breakfast. Moreover, I have never slept in a more comfortable bad :-) Michelle is a very nice person, is there when you need and want to have a chat, and in the same time leaves you your privacy. Thanks Michelle again, I really enjoyed my stay! If I were to come to London again, my choice is already done!
Michelle User ProfileMichelle is a superhost.
Response from Michelle:
Thanks for your kind words Klara! Come again any time!
May 2017

London, United KingdomJoined in February 2014
Michelle User ProfileMichelle is a superhost.

My work involves film-making, production and editing with young children and researching this area. I taught English abroad and worked freelance in primary schools for many years as a creative media practitioner. I now work as a Lecturer/Researcher in digital media, culture & education at a London University. I enjoy languages and have done a lot of travelling in the past. I own a house in Ibiza so I understand the processes of hosting. Just know that I'm reliable, trustworthy and enjoy hosting folk in my house.

Languages: English, Español, Français, Italiano, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings