Skip to content

House Featured in Ideal Home Mag

Entire house hosted by Sarah
8 guests3 bedrooms4 beds1.5 bathrooms
Entire home
You’ll have the house to yourself.
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the smartlock.
House with three double bedrooms on a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea. Can accommodate 6 (plus two more using air mattress). Free on-street parking, wifi, garden and study. 12 page feature in March 2015 Ideal Home magazine.

The space
Stylish three bedroom house on a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea. Flat screen television with Apple TV, Netflix, DVD player, etc. Small private garden with a large comfortable outdoor sofa.

The house has been tastefully decorated with a good mix of antique, designer and second hand furniture and decorations. There are lots of great period features throughout the property including high ceilings, original picture rails, coving, ceiling roses, stained glass windows, fireplaces and wooden floors.

Please note that as described above, this is an old house so if you are looking for an eclectic house with bags of character this is the place however if you are wanting something immaculate and uncluttered you may prefer somewhere else.

Upstairs there are three bedrooms. The master bedroom has large bay window looking out over the tree-lined street and a modern four-poster bed. The second bedroom is a bright and sunny room at the back of the house overlooking the garden. It has a very comfortable double bed and armchair. The third bedroom has a zip-link bed system so can be set up as either a double bed or two singles. Please advise of your preference at time of booking.

Also upstairs is the main bathroom which has a deep double-ended bath and overhead shower.

Downstairs there is an entrance hall off of which is the living room which boasts a large fireplace (currently not working), comfortable seating, high ceilings (with original coving and ceiling rose), wooden floors, stained glass windows and a large flatscreen HD television, DVD player and AppleTV.

Off of the living room is the study where there is a large desk should you need to do any work during your holiday. There are a LOT of books in the house which you're welcome to read during your stay and a good selection of board games and movies.

The downstairs hall has a music area with a large collection of LPs and a stereo. There is a small downstairs WC and then at the end of the hall is everybody's favourite part of the house - the kitchen! It's a large open plan kitchen with exposed brick walls and lots of great period features. It's fully equipped with gas hobs, electric oven, Dualit toaster, Bosch kettle, Smeg fridge, etc. The dining table has a bench and two dining chairs that can comfortably seat 4-5 however there are extra chairs in the study and folding chairs in the conservatory to accommodate extra guests.

The kitchen opens out into the conservatory where hidden under the countertop is a washing machine, dish washer, microwave and a second freezer.

The garden is small but functional with a comfortable three seat outdoor sofa and small firepit on a raised decking area. There is space down the side of the house at the back to safely store your bicycle if you have one.

The house is located on a beautiful tree-lined street of gorgeous Victorian terraced houses. It is blocked off at one end meaning it's not used as a thoroughfare and therefore there is hardly any traffic. It's conveniently located just a 5-10 minute walk from the many shops, bars and restaurants on Albert Road, a 15-20 minute walk to the seafront and has a Co-op, greengrocers, Spar, Lidl, Tesco Extra all within 5 minutes walk. Fratton train station is only a 10 minute walk from the house and from there you can get direct trains to London in just 90 minutes. There is no permit parking on our road and there are always parking spots on the road outside the house.

I hope that's covered most things but if you have any questions please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Guest access
Guests will have full access to all areas of the house. It will not be shared during their stay.
House with three double bedrooms on a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea. Can accommodate 6 (plus two more using air mattress). Free on-street parking, wifi, garden and study. 12 page feature in March 2015 Ideal Home magazine.

The space
Stylish three bedroom house on a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea. Flat screen television with Apple TV, Netflix, DVD player, etc. Small private gar…

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 double bed

Amenities

Wifi
Kitchen
Hangers
TV
Hair dryer
Laptop-friendly workspace
Heating
Washing machine
Essentials
Smoke alarm

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.60 out of 5 stars from 200 reviews
4.60 (200 reviews)

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Location

Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Frensham Road is a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea which due to it being closed to traffic at one end is very quiet and peaceful. You can normally park on the road directly outside the house (for free).
There are 5 supermarkets (Co-op, Tesco Extra, Lidl, Kwiki Mart and Spar) within a 3-5 minute walk from the house. Albert Road, where there are a large number of shops, cafes, pubs, bars and restaurants, is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk or there are a number of pubs located closer.
Frensham Road is a beautiful tree-lined street in Southsea which due to it being closed to traffic at one end is very quiet and peaceful. You can normally park on the road directly outside the house (for free).…

Hosted by Sarah

Joined in February 2012
  • 468 Reviews
  • Identity verified
ABOUT ME: I have lived in various spots around England, America and Canada but at the moment we are in Vancouver, Canada. I travel a lot and enjoy visiting new places and meeting new people. We've used Airbnbs and homestays in Asia, North America, Europe and throughout the UK so I am well aware of what guests need and appreciate while travelling and having been a host myself for so many years I know how to take care of other peoples' homes when we are the guests. My parents ran an education travel company for most of my life so I travelled a lot throughout my childhood and teens and have continued the tradition through adulthood both travelling solo, with friends and with my partner on everything from weekends away to months on end exploring new continents. I've travelled a lot throughout Asia, North America, Europe and a handful of countries in Africa but I'd love to find some time over the next couple of years to visit South and Central America. I have a strong interest in books, music, design, architecture and film. I love cooking and am a vociferous reader of recipe books and food blogs. I enjoy reading and usually have 5-10 different books on the go at any given time. I'm open to house exchanges and have done several with my family in the past. Not only do I have my home in Southsea but also a house in the beautiful town of Staunton in Virginia, USA which I am happy to exchange also. MY HOUSE: The house has three bedrooms so when renting individual rooms you will either be sharing with other guests or on the odd occasion may have the place to yourself! When renting the entire house it is yours exclusively.
ABOUT ME: I have lived in various spots around England, America and Canada but at the moment we are in Vancouver, Canada. I travel a lot and enjoy visiting new places and meeting n…
Co-hosts
  • Emma
During your stay
I am currently living in Vancouver, Canada so please note that although I can be contacted by phone, e-mail and message there is an 8 hour time difference. There is a list of back up contact numbers in the property as well as a comprehensive house manual.
I am currently living in Vancouver, Canada so please note that although I can be contacted by phone, e-mail and message there is an 8 hour time difference. There is a list of back…
  • Response rate: 88%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules
Check-in: After 16:00
Check out: 11:00
Self check-in with smart lock
Pets are allowed
Safety & Property
Security camera/recording device Learn more
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm
Security Deposit – if you damage the home, you may be charged up to £100