Looking north east over the cottage gardenSkaw beach, Unst.
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

300 year old cottage, connected to our home, but completely self contained with own front door. 2 minutes from sea. Wonderful wildlife. 1 twin-beds bedroom, 1 single bedroom and shower room on first floor. Room for folding bed in sitting room.

The space

Unst is the northernmost island in the UK with a population of about 650.

Guest access

One bedroom has twin beds, the other has one single bed.

Interaction with guests

It's up to guests whether they want to be sociable - we are next door, but you have the cottage to yourself if you want peace and quiet.

Other things to note

There are three decent shops - the nearest about a mile away, including the post office and petrol station. But if you want fancy groceries or unusual fruit or veg, bring them with you! The shops are open 09.00-17.00 Monday-Saturday, so if you are arriving in the evening, please bring food with you.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 10AM
Check Out: 2PM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 15 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in is anytime after 10AM

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

96 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Peter User Profile
July 2017
Catriona' cottage has a big potential to become a very comfortable Airbnb. From the cottage you get a beautiful view over Baltasound and Catriona's hens and ducks give you a cosy countryside feeling. The cottage has a big kitchen where you can cook. Shops are only a short drive away. If you need a basecamp to explore Unst this is the choice! But some improvements have to be done to make give the cottage five stars. Two out of three beds are worn out and very uncomfortable to sleep in. The furniture in the livingarea are also worn out and need to be replaced. These improvements will give future guests a more comfortable stay and earn the cottage five stars.

J Mary User Profile
July 2017
The cottage has a beautiful setting on the southern shore of Baltasound and is in a good location for the local shop and for exploring all of Unst. The complimentary eggs from the ducks and hens made wonderful scrambled eggs for breakfast

Ruth User Profile
June 2017
Travelling by public transport would have posed a big problem once on Unst so i really appreciated Robs transport to Hermaness which was one of the most stunning walks ive ever made

Joan User Profile
June 2017
The house is in a great location and is spacious, warm, comfortable and well equipped. Catriona and Rob are great hosts - welcoming and friendly.

Karyn User Profile
June 2017
For the quiet of Unst yet still within easy reach of the main village of Baltasound this is a great location. Catriona & Rob were wonderful hosts & extremely knowledgeable about the island. The annex is well-equipped for a very civilised self-catering visit. I had a great time and would definitely return if ever the chance presents itself.

Ellen User Profile
June 2017
Quiet, secluded, picturesque. A quintessential Unst experience. The cottage is clean and comfortable, equipped with the basics. We especially enjoyed walking from the cottage along the coast.

Will User Profile
June 2017
This was a great spot for a short break in Unst. Rob and Catriona were very welcoming and event took our bairns to feed the chickens and hens.

Scotland, United KingdomJoined in August 2013
Catriona User Profile

Live at the very north of Scotland, like wildlife/nature, music and living with my husband/2 daughters. Have cats, chickens, ducks and resident ponies.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings