Vail's Gate Ranch

4.88Superhost

Entire residential home hosted by Barry

4 guests, 2 bedrooms, 2 beds, 1 bathroom
Entire home
You’ll have the house to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This host has committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the lockbox.
Great location
90% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
Looking for a Spring Break? Come enjoy the blue skies of the breathtaking Hudson Valley! My place is close to public transport, Stewart Airport, art and culture, and parks. The easiest way to my house from NYC is the ShortLine Bus from Port Authority and is a 5-7 minute walk from the Vail's Gate/New Windsor bus stop. You’ll love my place because of the location, the casual ambiance, and the outdoor space. It's great for couples, solo adventurers, business travelers, and families with kids.

The space
My casual, comfy 1958 Mid-Century Ranch has all you need to feel at home, and you'll find my house very "easy to live in" for your stay. The open plan of the front entry, kitchen, breakfast area, and living room make relaxing, preparing meals and planning activities easy, especially with the ample light that comes from the picture windows. The casual atmosphere encourages unwinding, so you can rest and focus on your plans. The back of the house includes the more private rooms of bed and bath, while the simple floor plan and central hallway create an easy flow to move about. You'll find clean towels and linens in the large cabinet in the hallway.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free parking on premises
Pets allowed
36" TV
Portable air conditioning
Window AC unit
Bath
Patio or balcony
Garden
Hair dryer

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.88 out of 5 stars from 129 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

New Windsor, New York, United States

My sleepy little 1950s neighborhood is in Vail's Gate, a village in the town of New Windsor. You'll find everything you need in the village including three major grocery stores, Hannaford's, Shoprite, and Price Chopper, a U.S. Post Office, an incredible liquor store, Big Value Wine & Spirits, and other essential shopping and restaurants. Two of my favorite village restaurants are Brothers Barbecue (I'm a born-and-raised Texan) and Citrus, great Thai food. There's even a Dunkin Donuts (what can I say, I love their coffee.) There are also a couple of notable steak houses, sushi restaurants, and other chain restaurants on the more commercial side of town a short drive away.

The neighborhood is a quiet round-about community; you enter and exit on Marshall Street right across from the Vail's Gate Firehouse. Occasionally you may hear the firehouse alarm, but it has never awakened me in the night. My neighbors are diverse, working-class folk, and take evening strolls around the block while their kids ride bicycles. It's a friendly, family neighborhood.

Hosted by Barry

  1. Joined in November 2016
  • 129 Reviews
  • Identity verified
  • Superhost
I'm a theatre artist working in the professional field of Costume Design. I've worked some 20 years on Broadway, and in TV and Film. I am currently a design instructor at the university level, and travel often for freelance design work in Regional Theatre. I'm a native Texan, and I've earned the title of New Yorker. I'm a licensed motorcyclist, I love camping and the outdoors, ice cream, visiting art museums and historic places, ice cream, going to the theatre or ballet, great restaurants and coffee shops (I'm a caffeine and coffee addict), more ice cream (guess I'm addicted to ice cream too), working in my yard, and fantasizing about the incredible garden I will have some day -- I love digging in the dirt and watching things grow. I enjoy a nice glass of wine from time to time, and love grilling on my patio with a friend, especially if that friend is talented on the grill. I'm not a great cook, but I love "playing in my kitchen". I make good soups, really good chili, and a pretty good omelette -- I'm learning to flip an egg with just the skillet and a flick of my wrist. I love most all things vintage, from 19th Century antiques, to Art Deco, to Mid-Century Modern; I have an eclectic style. I can get lost in a Goodwill or antique shop for hours, and love it when I find a really cool treasure for a good price. Hallmarks that say "Made in Japan", "Swiss Made", or "Norwegian Steel" get me pretty excited. Pottery and glazed ceramics are considered fine sculpture in my world, and if there's a vase in my house, it's going to end up with water and fresh cut flowers in it. I enjoy restoring old furniture and antiques, and love to paint almost anything. I'm an artist at heart, and have been since I was a little boy. My easels are set up at my house, so I paint from time to time, but my busy career competes with my brushes and palette. I have an extensive fabric and textile collection, and though passionate about it, it's mostly work-related. My skills are far more advanced on a sewing machine than a computer, but I'm not a complete luddite. Truth be told, I've gotten much further in my life on an old Singer than a Mac. All of my family is in Texas, and most of my friends are in New York or scattered around the country. I am single, and though I have no kids, I enjoy being Uncle Bear to my two nephews and many of my friends' kids who also call me by the same term of endearment. I'm gay, and one of the nicest guys you'll meet. My friends and family are my life-line, and my rescue Staffordshire Terrier, Garbo is my heart. My students and many people say I look a lot younger than I actually am, but being in my late 40s I'm starting to feel a little older and beginning to appreciate the simpler things in life, like my home in New Windsor. It's where I go to "get away from it all", and try to slow things down from time to time in response to my very demanding, fast-paced career in show business. I hope you will enjoy your stay there as much as I enjoy living there. Welcome to my Hudson Valley home, the Vail's Gate Ranch. Mi casa es su casa!
I'm a theatre artist working in the professional field of Costume Design. I've worked some 20 years on Broadway, and in TV and Film. I am currently a design instructor at the unive…

During your stay

Typically, I am not around during reservations, so you will have the place to yourself.

Barry is a Superhost

Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
  • Language: English
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: Flexible
Check out: 12:00
Self check-in with lockbox
No smoking
No parties or events
Pets are allowed

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy