116 West Morton on November 2, 2016Porch, front door in November 2016.
Simple and comfortable cabin in town

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

My cabin is half a mile from downtown Moscow, 5 minutes cycling or driving, and 15 from UI campus. It sits on a southwest-facing, sunny hillside on half-acre of grass, trees, flowers, and garden. When it was built in 1940, it was surrounded by residences and open space. Now it is surrounded mostly by businesses, but West Morton is a dead-end dirt road. Nearby is a big grocery store, drug stores, breweries, bars, and restaurants. Nothing is far.

The space

Typical of a rectangular log cabin, the main floor consists of the kitchen, eating area, living room (all connected), the guest bedroom, the bathroom, and a utility room. Upstairs are 3 big bedrooms a storage area. Heat is from a natural gas heater where the wood stove used to be. The guest bedroom is small but bright with natural light; it was my library and still has books and family photos. There is no closet. Immediately adjacent is the bathroom, which is large. The tub is an iron clawfoot that was enclosed in the '50s. A shower was added above the tub in the '80s. Be advised, if you have mobility issues, this is not the bathing system for you because you have to step in and out of the tub. The porch, with a couch, table, and chairs, is used as another room in the summer, as is the shady east side. The west side consists of two large weedy/grassy yards with bushes, trees, flowers, a big dog pen, and a shed. Behind everything is a grassy hillside with trees, bushes, and garden areas. When I say "cabin", I'm not being romantic; this is a cabin, not modern, not beautiful. Both the house and yard are in better shape now than when I bought the property in 1976.

Guest access

The downstairs is all common area except for, obviously, the guest bedroom. You can use my refrigerator and cook you own food.

Interaction with guests

I work part-time at the Moscow Food Co-op, walk the dog, go to the gym, have meetings and other commitments, but I'll be available to give you a tour of Moscow. I've lived in Moscow for over 41 years.

Other things to note

Park in the driveway, not on the road. The driveway is inclined and gravel. The walk to the front porch is an inclined, flowerbed-lined path with uneven surfaces. If you arrive at night, use a flashlight. A string of red chile lights on the porch and lights around deer antlers will welcome you. Be advised: if you have mobility issues, my residence is not the best place for you. There are 2 cats; one is very friendly and will do everything possible to get in your lap. There is also a very friendly dog, an Aussie, Border Collie mix. If you want to sleep in the big bedroom upstairs instead of the guest room, you may, but the bed is a mattress on the floor and obviously, you'll have to go up and down stairs. If you are staying for several days, I think you'll like the space and privacy of the upstairs room.

A light breakfast is included (ingredients are generally organic): coffee, bread, fruit, cereal.

I have collected a lot of information about the area which is in a notebook.


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 2PM - 8PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Heating

Prices
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 8PM

Guests of guests leave by 10 pm.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - There are two steps from the sidewalk to the porch, one from the porch into the house, and a flight if you decide to stay upstairs.
Potential for noise - There's traffic noise from Highway 95/Main Street during the day, not much at night. Some traffic on West Morton, but not much.
Pet(s) live on property - Two cats and a dog.
Some spaces are shared - Everyplace except your own room, of course. This is my home, not my business.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

19 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Christopher User Profile
September 2017
You will not find more accommodating people anywhere you go. Diana's place was perfect for me, as a solo traveller!

Kim User Profile
September 2017
First of all I love air b&b for the social aspect of it- you never know who you will meet and what interesting stories you will hear. Diana's home is full of love, friendship and interesting people. She was a perfect host, very good communicator and so welcoming. Her laid back style meshed wonderfully with mine and I knew from the get go I was going to have a great experience. She shared her knowledge of the local art and restaurantes and her recommendations were awesome. Great location, close to down town. I'm defiantly going to stay with her again next time I visit my WSU student

Tara User Profile
August 2017
Where do I begin? My experience was exceptional. I am a student and a lot of stress and anxiety comes from starting at a new school. Diana made me comfortable coming home at night and feeling like it's my own home. She has been diligent in responding to me as well as being very clear and friendly. She has lots of knowledge to share and makes her home your own. Think no more, this is the best airbnb experience I've ever had.

Chelsea User Profile
August 2017
Best airbnb I've ever had. Makes you feel right at home. Friendly and lovely home. Very close to food and shops in Moscow.

Lydia User Profile
August 2017
Diana was a wonderful hostess! She was responsive to requests and provided a lovely morning experience with breakfast, delicious coffee, and friendly conversation. The house/room was as described and had a great decorative motif. I would definitely stay here again. Just to note, there was no AC. This is apparently common in that area and was not a problem for me at all.

Caroline User Profile
July 2017
Awesome! Diana was super welcoming and helpful about things to do in Moscow.

Zachary User Profile
July 2017
If you are considering a stay at Diana's, stop hesitating and book your visit to Moscow, Idaho in her warm and inviting home now. When my girlfriend and I arrived, after driving for three days from Western New York, Diana greeted us at the gate of her front yard with a smile and hugs. She helped us with our bags, showed us around her home, and gave us drinks and some amazing stew. She was immediately interested in our lives, why we were visiting, and our plans for the week. She shared herself, opened up, and what could've been an awkward start to our stay, because we're quiet people and not super talkative, was very much enjoyable. The next day, Diana prepared coffee and tea then gave us a tour around Moscow and the University of Idaho. She pointed out all the best places to eat and shop during our time there, and with her expertise in mind, we enjoyed Moscow to its fullest potential. My main goal was to find a new residence in Moscow, which was quite a difficult task, but Diana helped us along the way. I am happy to say, though, I found the perfect home, with her help. One of the most memorable experiences of our whole stay occurred when Diana took us to the Palouse Caboose, a great restaurant just outside of Moscow in Washington. It was easily the best conversation and food we had the entire trip. The morning of our departure, Diana cooked breakfast: pancakes, yogurt, and fresh strawberries. We left her home with full stomaches and a new friendship. I couldn't recommend staying at her place more. I know it won't be long until we are back.

Moscow, Idaho, United StatesJoined in November 2016
Diana User Profile

I work at the Moscow Food Coop; previously I taught English (in Chile, China, and the US), and before and during that, was an academic editor and writer (UI and WSU). I speak Spanish as my husband is Chilean. I have lived in Moscow (and in this cabin) since 1976 except for time working and traveling in other places. I like to hike and backpack, I practice pilates and yoga. I am involved in environmental groups such as Citizens Climate Lobby and Friends of the Clearwater, I volunteer for the Washington-Idaho Symphony, and am a member of the Unitarian Church.

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings