Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This newly built house with a spacious - not yet finished garden - is located in a friendly Tanzanian neighborhood just a few minutes walk from the most beautiful beaches in Dar-es-Salaam.
Only 5 minutes walk to the main road, you will find all means of local transport and a variety of shops and restaurants.
The Blue Roof is ideally located to relax on the beach, explore the Tanzanian neighborhood or to dip in the bustling city of Dar-es-Salaam.

The space

My house is quite simple, but very comfortable, with a little veranda and a big garden with coconut, orange and guava trees. If you happen to come with your own car I can offer you a parking space within the premises.

The house is located in Maweni/Kigamboni only 5 minutes walk to the next beach, a 10 minutes ride to ferry and 15 minutes to the new bridge.
There is a fan in your bedroom and one in the living room. Big windows - all with mosquito nets - allow the sun to come in. Your bathroom comes with a European style toilet and a cold water shower...but who needs hot water with these temperatures anyway?
Feel free to use my living room, the kitchen and the fridge. There is coffee and tea at any time. And if you want to have a nice breakfast (not included in the room) in the morning, just let me know.
Also, my dada can take care of your clothes for just a small amount of money.

Interaction with guests

I spend some time of the year in Kigamboni. When I am here, I would be happy to show you around or to organize some tours, e.g. city tours in Dar-es-Salaam, safaris to one of our national parks, a boat trip to a nearby island etc.
I can also arrange pick-up from the airport, Zanzibar ferry terminal or ferry in Kigamboni and bus terminal. Please contact me for up-to-date prices.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Kitchen
Free parking on premise
Essentials
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

- I would like you to feel at home! Nevertheless I ask you not to smoke inside the house and to leave the place clean and tidy.


Cancellations

Safety features
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Antony User Profile
September 2017
Elke was the perfect host in every way, if I could leave more than 5 stars I would. Elke went out of her way to make the couple of days I stayed in Dar as perfect as possible, helping to sort out a tour of the city as well as a few other things. If you are in Dar, like the beach then Elke is the perfect host and the destination you should choose.

Jana User Profile
January 2017
Elkes place is really nice, it is not far from the main road, where you can get daladalas to the ferry or one of the near beaches, but in a very quiet area right in between of banana-fields and few other houses. We had our own bathroom and could share the kitchen with Elke. Elke was really nice and gave us many tips about how to get to nice beaches and phone numbers of bodaboda-, bajaji-, and taxidrivers she knows well. We really enjoyed our stay in a pleasant environment and felt very welcome.

Fritz User Profile
December 2016
I arrived very late at Dar airport but Elke had done everything possible for me to find her house in Kigamboni. As there is little sign posting and / or streetlighting, to find a specific house is always a challenge but I was shown the final few hundred meters by a piki piki driver whom Elke had sent. Her welcome was exceptional and we didn't go to bed until the cock started crowing ;) Her knowledge of the area is second to none and I felt very much at home. For that reason I decided to stay a second unplanned night.

Dar es Salaam, TanzaniaJoined in September 2016
Elke User Profile

Hey, I am Elke and I am German. Since 2009 I am in and out of Tanzania.
I love living on Kigamboni and I love my swahili neighborhood. I speak some swahili and I am very happy to show you a bit of my second home.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings