View over the squareView of the outside of the house
United KingdomLondon
Great dble bedroom, great location

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed
United KingdomLondon
Great dble bedroom, great location


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
143 travellers saved this place

About this listing

Beautiful, large Victorian double bedroom overlooking beautiful Victorian square. Almost exclusive access to own bathroom. Our house is very close to multiple underground/overground stations, and 25 minutes walk to St Pancras Intl.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 9AM - 10PM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cancellation: Moderate
Weekend Price: £74 / night

Description

The space

This is a large double bedroom with traditional furniture in a lovely family house.

Guest access

You can make use of the kitchen for breakfast: you can probably use the large sitting room to watch TV although we do occasionally use the room. The bathroom immediately next to your bedroom is essentially yours, but our 13 year old son sleeps on the same floor and does use the room, but only briefly, and he leaves it tidy.

This is a family home and we tend to go to bed early and get up early - so ideally we would like you to be able to check in before 10pm.

Interaction with guests

We live in the house, and Selina runs her business in the basement. There is a lot of space, and our large sitting room is normally unused. We hope you will find us helpful but not intrusive. We do tend to get up around 7a.m., but we know you may well be on holiday so we'll try not to be noisy.

The neighbourhood

We're in Barnsbury, which is part of Islington. The square is very quiet, but very close to busy Upper Street which has plenty of restaurants of all standards, and very close to excellent transport links. It is convenient for the West End and the city while being a typical London 'village' neighbourhood. A large Vue cinema is less than 10 minutes walk, and the renowned Almeida theatre is even closer: both are marked on the guidebook on this page. We have marked some of the restaurants too, including some very good ones, but there are far too many to include even a small fraction. Many of the main UK restaurant chains are within 10 minutes walk - Pizza Express, Nando's etc.

Getting around

20 minutes walk to Kings Cross/St Pancras - so easy access to Paris! 10 minutes to both Angel and Highbury & Islington Underground/Overground stations. (Times per TFL website, fast walking - we're over 50 and their fast walking = walking). Plenty of buses.
To give you a sense of how convenient this location is, a 40 minute walk would take you to St Paul's Cathedral in the City, or to the British Museum if heading towards the West End.
If you just fancy a walk in the local area you can walk along the canal in either direction, although it goes under the centre of Islington through a tunnel. To the west this takes you to the urban development around Kings Cross including Granary Square (15-20 minutes). If you keep along the canal you will get to Camden market (c 40 minutes): to the East is Broadway market (also c 40 minutes). For a walk in open space take the Overground from Highbury & Islington to Gospel Oak and walk on the Heath - fine views all over London from Parliament Hill.

Other things to note

The room is up 2 flights of stairs.

The room is not suitable for more than 2 adults.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 9AM - 10PM.

Consideration to all.

Non-smoking household.

You may not bring non-airbnb guests into the house, especially if we are away!


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

48 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 7 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

London, United Kingdom · Joined in June 2013
Selina User ProfileSelina is a superhost.

I'm a Londoner through and through. An acupuncturist and medical herbalist. A mother. Someone who likes to travel to the mountains, who likes to walk ... and who likes exploring new cities.
We've been hosting airbnb guests in our house in London since the start of 2015 and we've been airbnb guests ourselves in several European cities already.....

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet