Skip to content
hallway entrancekitchen
Private room in apartment

Cozy Room In A Friendly Apartment

Jay R. User Profile
Jay R.

Cozy Room In A Friendly Apartment

Private room in apartment
2 guests1 bedroom1 bed1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
Self check-in
Easily check yourself in with the lockbox.

I am an attorney. This is my room within a three bedroom apartment in a East Harlem brownstone. My home is a 5 minute walk away from the 4,5,6 train and near cafes and markets. 15 minutes to midtown/grand central. Both of my roommates are friendly young professionals, one a writer and another a teacher. The room is cozy and situated in the middle of the apartment and comes with air conditioning and heat depending on the time of year. Sheets,towels upon request.

Amenities

  • Kitchen
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Laptop friendly workspace

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules

Not suitable for children and infants
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

Accessibility

Step-free access to common space

Availability

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Lukáš User Profile
Lukáš
April 2018
Place was in close location to subway buses or even bicycles. Everything was more or less good I can't have any complaint :)
Shreyas User Profile
Shreyas
April 2018
Well I can’t comment much because it was unclean, the whole building had a typical odour dunno what was it The host cleaned the room after 2 weeks if my stay because someone else was also coming to stay in that period of 2-3 days. It’s unclean and unkempt. The living room had be…
Jay R. User Profile
Response from Jay R.:
Shreyas, a successful doctor, came from Mumbai, India to spend a month in my bedroom. He was attracted to the space because it is near a hospital and cheap. My relationship, however, with Shreya sadly got off to the foot from before he even arrived. He tried to cancel the reservation, at the last minute, without any penalty, after I already had prepared for his arrival. I refused his request saying to him that if he cancelled, I'd have to uphold my cancellation penalty. I told Sheyras he was able to cancel the reservation along the lines of our normal cancellation policy. Instead of losing money, he decided to still come and I thought the matter was settled but when he arrived he called up AIRBNB and started to make false complaints about the apartment. He sent these "photographs" he claims to have as evidence in support of these complaints along the lines of what he said in this message. He requested that AirBNB cancel the reservation, without the penalty, beacuse of all of these alleged issues. AirBNB investigated the matter and found that Shreyas' complaints were without ANY basis and REFUSED his request to cancel the reservation. One of the complaints that Shreyas made to AirBNB was that the room was not clean. The room, however, was cleaned before his arrival. As we have been having happy guests, for years, without any prior incident, we immediately hired a cleaning service to come into the room. The cleaning lady spent significant time cleaning up his mess. The room had two different lamps (one by the bed and another by the desk) and a heater. All of these could be turned on without leaving the bedroom. It's suprising that Shreyas did not know how to turn on the lamps nor know how to turn on the heater which was present in the room. The claim that the bathroom lock doesn't work is simply false. Finally, there is no room partition but rather a full wall (floor to cieling) built adjacent to the livignroom. This is very normal for NYC and in no way unusual. I think he complained about this because he is not familiar with how housing in NYC works. I think that the source of Shreyas disappointment comes from the fact that we offered him middle-class room instead of a ritzy room "downtown" as he says. We did not host him in the style he is use to---he is use to luxury living. However, to get that he would have had to pay three times the amount of the price of a room than he did for my room. Our apartment is a great deal for backpackers, and middle-class travlers looking for an affordable, safe and CLEAN place to stay. Shreyas is a man of high standards and is used to having an army of maids clean, cook for him in luxury conditions. That isn't our apartment. We offer a cozy, friendly, small room right near the subyway, in a safe and clean apartment.
April 2018
Boris User Profile
Boris
August 2017
The place is great, roommates are nice people and it's a fast commute down to midtown

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hosted by Jay R.

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in May 2014
Jay R. User Profile
15 Reviews
Verified
I am a dreamer, traveller and seeker but an attorney and real estate professional. I am a curious person and I love reading, learning, and working out. I prefer to host only internationals or those not from NYC. Live long and prosper!
Languages: English, עברית
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
About the home
When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.
This is Jay R.’s place.
Jay R.
Jack helps host.
Jack

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings

Things to do near this home