room torelax and interactperhaps you play?
Large private room in beautiful flat
Large private room in beautiful flat
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

My place is close to Rhubarb, The Apiary, Aizle, The Edinburgh Food Studio, Holyrood park, Blackford HIll, the Old Town, the centre of town but not too close. You’ll love my place because of the neighbourhood, the light, the comfy bed, and the kitchen. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and business travellers.

The space

The apartment is very spacious, close enough to walk into the centre or to Holyrood Park but far enough that its quiet in the evening. I hope to give people an affordable but very comfortable option for staying in Edinburgh.
The master bedroom has a new king-sized bed with new linens, two towels, built in shelves, a large window, high ceilings, and two large wardrobes.

The large kitchen is newly renovated and please make use of any and all cookware!
The bathroom contains a bath and a powerful instant shower.
The large, shared garden is overlooked by Arthur's seat.

The apartment is located 15 min walking distance from Edinburgh's historic Old town.

Guest access

The guests will have access to all rooms in the flat, bar my bedroom. I will provide the guests with keys so they can come and go as they please

Interaction with guests

If I am here when you arrive or leave and I can be of any help to you please don't hesitate to reach out.

Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible

- Please take your shoes off at the door


18 Reviews

Check In
Gus User Profile
October 2017
Matt's flat is amazing! It's spacious, causal environment made us feel at home for the entire month that we spent there. Communication was excellent and Matt's friendly and outgoing personality was very welcoming. Highly recommended!

Julia User Profile
July 2017
Everything was great, lovely flat and good location. Matt was very helpful and friendly, would recommend to a friend :)

Chloe User Profile
July 2017
Great flat to stay in, very big and close enough to walk into town, and very close to bus stops going in and out of town if not too keen on walking. Great host, and flexible check-in times were perfect!

Daniel User Profile
July 2017
Our AirB&B venture started even before we arrived at Matthew's place. We booked with Matthew as he was one of the few places that we could book a room with that included free parking. Knowing that Edinburgh is a difficult place for parking, we were very happy to find a place close to the city centre with free parking facilities. Safe and secure parking was one of our main priorities so obviously Matthew scored high with us. However, during our email conversations, after committing and booking our place with him, Matthew emailed us to let us know that the 'free parking' space that should have been part of our accommodation/contract, was never his property to let out to people, and was therefore not available to us during our stay. As we had already paid for this place and alternative options were not an option, we decided to give Matthew the benefit of the doubt and go ahead anyway. During our journey to Edinburgh, shortly before arriving at Matthew's place, we received a text message from him saying that his 'alternative parking' (on-street parking) was busier than usual and that we may struggle to find a place. This was again a let down as not only did he fall through with his 'free parking' promise, but during the remainder of our stay it was indeed very difficult to find parking in the surrounding streets, adding extra stress and hassle that we were desperately trying to avoid. Additionally, on-street parking is not necessarily secure which was always a worry on our mind! The accommodation; the room itself was very basic - a very typical student flat. The view was nice and it is a central location. The bedroom had a double bed with bed covers which were old and frayed, and one duvet did not even have a cover. The bathroom was not clean and no real effort was made to clean it for his guests. Lastly, Matthew did not make any real effort to interact with us which made us feel more like (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) than guests. All in all, the room served its purpose by providing a roof over our heads but we will not be using him again. It was not worth the money. He is charging for false promises (free parking) and an unclean flat, which is just not worth it. I would recommend investing your money elsewhere for a more pleasant AirB&B experience.
Matthew User Profile
Response from Matthew:
I'm sorry that your trip and the flat were all that yo umighthave hoped. With regard to the parking space outside the flat, as I explained to you in our correspondence prior to your arrival this used to be available and only recently became unavailable due to my new neighbours (who don't have a car) not liking the drive way to be occupied with a car. This trivial detail of the advert has now been changed. If you had liked we could have renegotiated a different price, I did express my understanding at the time if you had wished to seek other accomodation. I'm sure that it was indeed very difficult to find anywhere else even nearly as cheap. The parking on the street is a mixture of marked (metered) and unmarked (free) space. I park there every day (safely) as do many others. I'm sorry that you felt the flat was unclean, I'd suggest that we have differing views on what constitutes 'comfort' in ones surroundings. The 'uncovered' duvet is sandwiched between a covered duvet and a heavy blanket so having no cover really has no bearing on its efficacy or the comfort of anypone using the bed as they would have no cause (heaven forbid!) to come into direct contact with it. The blanket is indeed frayed around the edge. I was up early and working most of the time that you were here then in bed fairly early. Given your use of the word 'student' as a pejorative term and the clear differences in our outlooks perhaps interacting with me would only have worsened the experience for you. All apologies guys happy holidays.
July 2017

Anthony User Profile
April 2017
Matthew is a warm, kind and generous host with a room and flat that is an absolute pleasure to stay in. Highly recommended

Andrew User Profile
July 2017
Matthew is an open and welcoming host with a very nice home.

Francisco J User Profile
June 2017
The host canceled this reservation 36 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Edinburgh, United KingdomJoined in October 2013
Matthew User Profile
Post graduate student, enjoys travelling, meeting new people, trying new things
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings