The Eucalyptus trees growing around our home.Front verandah for enjoying the view, alfresco meals or a cup of tea
"The Bunyas" - Rural house 40min ex Brisbane's CBD
"The Bunyas" - Rural house 40min ex Brisbane's CBD

Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The name of our property - The Bunyas - comes from two Bunya pine trees which produce edible nuts every 3 years.

One double bedroom & one single sofa bed in an adjacent room.
Traditional timber house on a 1 hectare rural property, 16 km from the center of Brisbane.

10 minutes by car from the nearest bus stop and shops. Easy access to rural southeast Queensland. 45 minutes by car from Brisbane Airport.

We are located equidistant from Toowoomba, Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast.

The space

Two bedrooms - one double bedroom with direct access to garden, and one single bedroom.
Set in a traditional timber style house on a 1 hectare allotment with mature eucalyptus trees.
Under cover parking for 1 visitor car.

Guest access

Home-stay style access including use of laundry, kitchen, family room, verandah, garden, and swimming pool.
We provide bread & spreads / cereal, milk, tea & coffee for breakfast.

Interaction with guests

Hosts Jim and Lauren Stephenson live here.
We welcome guests who would love to join our family for a few days.

Other things to note

We have pets - a horse (not for riding), a dog and two cats.
We will help you with ideas for sightseeing, and we can provide custom 3/4 day guided tours around Brisbane, or into the countryside for very reasonable cost - please inquire if interested.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 2PM - 6PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people £12 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £12
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price £33 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 6PM

Please respect our home.
Please refrain from smoking, unless in garden (dispose butts into rubbish bin).
3 P flush toilet (pee, poo & paper only).

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 3 nights.

18 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Norman User Profile
September 2017
James & Lauren were very friendly and hospitable hosts and we really enjoyed our week with them. Their house is an amazing experience with a range of beautiful birds attracted to their feeders (including the butcher bird who uses the cat window to steal from the cats' bowls!). They were always willing to provide information about a wealth of topics, including brumbies (wild horses) and Japanese culture. They welcomed us into their house and put themselves out to make us feel comfortable.

John User ProfileJohn is a superhost.
July 2017
This place is ideal for a couple who like a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are friendly and so are the golden retriever and the cats. Highly recommended.

Dom User Profile
October 2016
We stayed with James for a week in their lovely place in Anstead recently. James made sure we arrived safely, ensured we felt really at home in their lovely place and provided everything we needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Early breakfasts were a highlight on the outside deck – delicious food in the company of parrots, butcher birds and cockatoos! My young daughter was particularly delighted when our hosts brought out many toy horses complete with a stable for her to play with! I would recommend anyone who wants to see a lovely piece of proper Queensland to stay with James, and I hope I can do so as well on my next trip.

Barbara User Profile
September 2016
As a host, Jim made us feel really welcome and even offered to pick us up at the airport if we needed it. After meeting Jim's family, it felt like we had been friends forever. I'm quite hoping we might meet again. Jim is an architect and his house and gardens were really fascinating. They spent a lot of time cultivating a semi-tropical environment around the house and pool in what seemed to be a cordial invitation to many varieties of birds and parrots. It was a lovely experience seeing all of the birds feeding and Jim regaled us with his knowledge of the ornithology of Australia. We felt right at home in their house and cooked our own breakfast and an occasional dinner too. The double bed was warm and cozy and there was a private entrance off the driveway also surrounded by lovely lush gardens. Australian hospitality is very relaxed and happy. It felt as if our needs were attended to and being so far from home (U.S.), this made us feel right home. Jim was also great at giving any directions that we needed. So if you're planning a trip, Bunyas is a great place to stay as it is only a 1/2 hour from Brisbane and about 20 minutes from Ipswich across a very charming 3 minute barge!

Steffen User Profile
July 2016
Thanks for two wonderful weeks at your place. We had some very nice chats with James and Lauren, they helped us out when we had questions, helped us out with their local knowlege. We felt as part of the famely for that time. Best regards

Antje & Pascal User Profile
February 2016
We stayed with Lauren and James for four nights and had a great time. You don't even have to leave the property to explore the culture of Japan, listen to Jazz classics, have some great chats about very interesting topics, enjoy a glass of wine, get an introduction to the local architecture, see the Australian wildlife, enjoy a healthy breakfast, relax by the pool and pet the most lovely dog. In case you still want to leave now, there is so much more to explore that we are already planning to come back.

Yan User Profile
February 2016
Thanks so much for this gorgeous place and great hosts,James+Lauren+Elise,plus with the friendly Remy + the horse+the two cats,as well as the peaceful garden+trees+fresh air,not mention to the convenient facilities and wonderful afternoon tea! All of these make us stay like just at home! Everything here proves as, even much more than what you expected.

Anstead, AustraliaJoined in June 2013
James User Profile

I am an architect, and can speak Japanese as second language. I like travelling around Australia, and in Japan. My hobbies are photography, jazz, technology. My wife and I live in the Anstead home which is on 1 hectare of land. We have chickens, visiting parrots, and horses, as well as a dog and two cats.

Languages: English, 日本語

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is James’s place.
James
Lauren helps host.
Lauren

The neighbourhood

Similar listings