Skip to content
Living roomLiving room and dining table
Country Retreat, The Old Cowshed - Sussex
Country Retreat, The Old Cowshed - Sussex
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Unwind and relax at The Old Cowshed, a cosy sanctuary "away from it all". Situated on a farm down a long drive, the property is close to London but set in beautiful countryside right on the edge of the South Downs National Park. A quiet retreat for those who like the country; wildlife abounds and you can walk for miles straight from the front door. Bring wellies if it is wet! A great place for a couple (or a couple with a young child).

There is scope to do as little or as much as you want!

The space

The Old Cowshed has its own private entrance and car port for parking. Windows running the length of one side of the Cowshed look out onto the farmyard and a traditional Grade II listed Sussex barn. French windows leading from the living room area open onto a small enclosed garden with a stone paved patio (small BBQ provided).

Recently converted, The Cowshed is well equipped, spacious, comfortable and warm. An eco-friendly ground source heat pump supplies underfloor heating throughout and there is a wood burner for quiet evenings in (logs supplied). The property is very private with its own sunny little garden. It is a cosy home, summer and winter.

Accommodation is all at ground floor level. Entrance into a small hallway/utility area. Sitting room and dining room with wood-burning stove and sofa bed. Well-equipped galley kitchen. Separate bedroom with king-size bed. Shower room/wc with walk-in rainfall shower.

For couples with a young child we have a cot or a fold out single bed - suitable for a child up to the age of 7.

Fibre to the premises (FTTP) broadband has recently been installed with speeds of up to 150Mbps. There is Freesat TV (not Sky) with +200 channels and a DVD player and selection of films.

Guest access

You have use of the tennis court, so bring rackets and balls! There is also very basic 2km mountain bike track that winds through our woods.

Interaction with guests

The Old Cowshed is on a farm and we live in the main farm house. We are around most of the time but you will have your own key and be independent. The Cowshed is about 20 metres from the farm house.

Other things to note

This is a rural property and an understanding and respect for the countryside and the wildlife is appreciated.

In summer there are cattle on the farm and grass is cut for hay. In winter sheep graze the fields. Chickens and ducks are free range and fresh eggs are generally available!

There are ponds on the farm and young children should be attended at all times and kept away from farm machinery.

Amenities
Kitchen
Family/Kid Friendly
Pets Allowed
Wireless Internet
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed
House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM

- Slow driving speeds up drive and past farm house
- One dog only allowed, no cats or other pets.
- Dogs on leads around farm due to free range poultry
- Dogs not allowed in bedroom or on furniture
- No access to farmyard or farm buildings
- No feeding of farm animals or poultry
- Two adults maximum plus one young child
- No bedding provided for cot

Cancellations

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jo User Profile
December 2017
We had the most lovely stay here. On arrival the fire was lit so felt so warm. Rob was a great host and explained everything that we needed to know. The bed was so comfortable, the place was really clean and the shower was amazing. Everything was immaculate and felt really luxurious. The fresh hen eggs really were a lovely touch for our breakfast. We will definitely be staying again

Jessica User Profile
November 2017
Fabulous place highly recommenced it x

Annabelle User Profile
November 2017
We came to The Old Cowshed for a relaxing birthday weekend away and it was the perfect location. Robert made check-in very easy and we found the property hassle free, despite arriving in the dark. The log burner was such a great feature and we spent two and a bit cosy nights relaxing in front of it. There are lots of lovely touches around the apartment, such as really good tea/coffee, fresh farm eggs and lots of good films to watch. The walking books were also very helpful and we made use of the restaurant/ pub tips! We came back to London feeling refreshed and would love to return.

Oliver User Profile
November 2017
The Cowshed was a fantastic place to stay for a quiet get away. The place is spacious, spotless and beautiful with plenty of scenic woodland surrounding the property. Robert and Flora were excellent at communicating with me and made sure I found the cowshed without any difficulty. Will definitely be returning.

Sandra User Profile
October 2017
What an fantastic stay we have had. We even stayed an extra day and then had the bonus of some sunshine. Have enjoyed great walks and there's plenty to see and do in the area. Location is beautiful and acommodation is fantastic. The log burning stove was wonderful to relax by in the evenings. Robert and Flora are very friendly and welcoming. I would have no reservation in recommending this place to anyone for a stay at anytime of the year. Thank you Robert and Flora it has been a pleasure to stay at your lovely place. We look forward to coming back sometime in the spring or summer.

Jilly User Profile
October 2017
The cowshed is an amazing property. An excellent finish and cosy atmosphere, with the log burner, the open plan kitchen, amazing shower. The location suited us completely- great access for walking, wonderful views and it feels in the middle of no where- but is so close to London. We will be back.

Lorna User Profile
September 2017
Bright and cosy and easy to relax. Exceedingly helpful hosts. 100% recommend.

Plaistow, United KingdomJoined in September 2016
Robert & Flora User Profile
We first used Airbnb to book places on a trip to South America in December 2016. We were so impressed we decided to host! We moved from London to our farm in Sussex, England, 10 years ago and now enjoy our life surrounded by animals in the English countryside. We both travel …
Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings