Very comfortable living room and kitchen comboLarge sectional couch
Cape Cod in Locust Grove, C'ville
Cape Cod in Locust Grove, C'ville
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

In a quiet area, this warm upstairs bedrooms have a large bathroom with full bathtub and shower, and closed off access to a toilet. We have dog-friendly outdoor space, fenced in with moderate size dog door. Located 1.6 miles from downtown Charlottesville and next to Rivanna Trail. The bed's a full futon (orthopedic-type). We have bikes. We get multiple props on our decor. Must be pet and gay-friendly. WE DO NOT DISCRIMINATE against people of color or disability, just thieving and bigotry.

The space

Our space comes with an adorable French Bulldog Dash, who is a fun, enthusiastic and friendly dog. Our neighborhood is close to downtown but not on a busy street--in fact described as a quiet street. Walking trails and creek nearby. Please keep in mind if you are thinking of bringing your dog, the dog must be friendly to other dogs, cats, and furniture/belongings. We need to know about the dog prior to coming. We have a fenced in back yard. We have bikes. I don't usually offer breakfast, but can help with something modest if in a pinch, like cereal, a bagel, or fruit.

Guest access

Guests are welcome in the kitchen and living room. They will have mostly sole access to the upstairs, but sometimes we need to go into the office across the upstairs master guest room.

Interaction with guests

If we are here and the guest(s) comes downstairs, we will converse with guests, just check in with them and see if anything is needed. Otherwise we leave guests alone to enjoy their space.

Other things to note

Park wherever you like, that includes in the driveway (ours is the one on the left facing the house); in front of the fire hydrant parallel to the street (really, no one EVER tickets), or across the street along the wooden fence of our neighbors. If you do park in front of the fire hydrant, just pull into the grass parallel to the street as it is narrow.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people £27 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit £78
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price £59 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 couch, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

Turn lights and fan off when not using, especially if we appear to be sleep and lights have been left on for you for your late night return. *Exception: sometimes we will purposely leave a light on in the guest's bedroom (low wattage small light) to avoid stumbling in the dark to an unfamiliar space.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

133 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Stephen User Profile
May 2017
I stayed with Johanna, Amy and Dash for a month while I was a visiting Fellow at UVA. Their place is lovely. The room is nice, clean and private. The back yard is very relaxing and the kitchen facilities were great. Johanna and Amy are both fantastic and very attentive to their guests. Dash is adorable and really chill (although he is always excited to see you.) It was definitely 5-star accommodation. The only slight thing to be aware of is that the public transport links aren't the best. There is a bus stop into downtown about 3 blocks from their house but that bus only comes once an hour and you need to transfer to a second bus to get to UVA. It's still excellent accommodation even with those links, though, so it is well worth the hassle. It's just something to be aware of if you are looking at public transport.

Mergim User Profile
March 2017
Excellent host, excellent house, excellent experience!

Francesca User Profile
February 2016
My stay with Johanna and Amy was perfect! Johanna promptly answered my initial email enquiries, very kindly agreeing that I could use the washer and dryer on my arrival, even though my stay was only for one night. The house is just as lovely as it appears in the photos, and is situated in a friendly, quiet residential neighbourhood, within walking distance of the historic mall. I arrived on a very chilly afternoon and was grateful to find the house was beautifully warm. Johanna, Amy and their cute dog, Dash could not have been more welcoming and friendly! Their house felt very clean and cosy and I had a great sleep in the very comfortable bed. In the morning Johanna made me a delicious cup of coffee and I joined her and Dash for a most enjoyable walk along the Rivanna Trail before my departure. Johanna and Amy are great. Super friendly, fun, kind and considerate. I had a wonderful time here, and would have no hesitation in recommending this place as a great choice for a stay in Charlottesville.

Adam User Profile
June 2015
Fantastic airbnb experience. A beautiful home and the bed was soooo comfortable. It was also lovely chatting with Johanna (and friends) and she was such a great host. Nice quiet neighbourhood yet the centre of historic Charlottesville wasn't too far to walk to. Definitely recommended!
Johanna User ProfileJohanna is a superhost.
Response from Johanna:
Thanks Adam! Lovely you spent a hot second in historic Virginia!
June 2015

Jennifer User Profile
September 2017
Best air bnb ever, by far!!!!!

Kathy User Profile
August 2017
Very nicely decorated, clean and relaxing. My stay was wonderful. I felt very welcome and Dash is the sweetest dog.

Nicholas User Profile
August 2017
Amazing place to AirBNB! I stayed for a month and Johanna and Amy were incredibly hospitable and helpful. Rooms were modern and immaculately clean. Dash the dog is super cool and friendly. I would give ten stars if it were possible. Outstanding stay!

Charlottesville, Virginia, United StatesJoined in October 2013
Johanna User ProfileJohanna is a superhost.

I am a physician assistant, former musician and landscaper; lived in Charlottesville since 2003 but originally from WV. Dutch heritage, lover of outdoors, cyclist. My partner Amy and I have been together since 2005. She is primarily responsible for decorating the house, but occasionally I chip in with ideas (i.e. the outdoor space).

I can't live without some kind of physical activity. I yearn for good books, appreciate loyal friends and learning new skills.

Languages: English, Español, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings