King's Cross in central London: single/double room
King's Cross in central London: single/double room


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Just a few minutes from King's Kings and St Pancras International stations. 24 hour shops, extensive nightlife. Double-size top-floor bedroom with private balcony and private wetroom. Shared use of large kitchen and dining room (shared only with the husband and wife who own the house).

The space

The house is owned by me and my wife, who live here.

Your bedroom and bathroom are on the top floor. The bedroom is a large room with a queen size bed with windows at the front and a private balcony at the back.

Bedroom also contains a TV (freeview only), a Bosch Tassimo Vivy Hot Drinks and Coffee Machine (and a supply of coffee pods - but let us know if you have a preference and we'll try and have these available for you), a kettle, your own private fridge, an iron (ironing board available on request), and a table suitable for a laptop.

Please note that the guest room is on the top floor, which is reached by three flights of stairs (the third being a spiral staircase). The stairways are quite narrow. Our room may not be suitable for those with mobility difficulties.

If you are staying for longer than a week, your room can be cleaned by our cleaner weekly at no extra charge.

We have WIFI. Please see the Guest Manual or ask Phil for access details.

The bathroom is a small "wetroom", essentially a shower room also containing a wash basin and WC. The shower has hot water 24/7.

Kitchen and dining area (and access to the roof terrace) are on the 1st floor. The key to the roof terrace door can be found in a small dish on the cabinet in the dining area. The kitchen and dining area are shared with the homeowners. Our kitchen has a large fridge, a chest freezer, fan assisted cooker, dishwasher, gas hob etc - this area is shared with the homeowners but please feel free to use any of its facilities or our plates, cutlery etc. Please note that because the kitchen is a space that is used by the homeowners, it isn't always tidy to the same standard as the guest room when you first arrive.

The washing machine is in the utility room in the basement, along with an additional room with a WC and basin, and a sink. This area, too, is shared with the homeowners.

Please note that, although the guest room is on the top floor, we are in central London and there will be occasional noise at night. Occasionally it can be loud, so earplugs are recommended if you prefer to enjoy continual quiet :)

We also sometimes have a single guest staying on the ground floor. That guest has shared access to the kitchen and the laundry room, but does NOT have access to the top floor containing your area.

Guest access

You'll have a key to the front door and can come and go as you please during your stay.

The top floor contains your private bedroom and bathroom.

You also have shared access (with my wife and I, who live and work in the house) to our kitchen and utility room. We sometimes also have a guest in another part of the house and they also have access to the shared kitchen and utility room (but NOT to your private areas).

Interaction with guests

My wife and I live and work at home, but it's a large house and we'll be out of your way. However, we also won't say no to a friendly chat if you're in the mood :)

Other things to note

We are in the process of selling the house, with view to moving by about 15 August. This means that at times we may cause some disturbance while we pack and do other preparations.

Because of this, your room doesn't have a lock. However, my wife and I will respect your privacy, try to avoid disturbing you, and will never enter you rooms without knocking.

In addition to the days shown as available in my listing's calendar, some nights are available for night-only stayovers (which can be useful when travelling). Please message me on here if you have a night when you wish to do this. Generally it is possible when I know in advance that there is sufficient time to fully clean the room and change the linen etc before and after your visit.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 10
Weekly Discount: 12%
Weekend Price: 60 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

- Check-in is flexible, but please let me know your approximate arrival time so that my wife or I can be here to let you in and give you your key.

- You acknowledge and understand that the toilet, wash basin and shower are in a fairly small "wetroom".

- You acknowledge and understand that the kitchen and dining area is shared with the home owners (Philip and Josephine) and that, while we keep these shared areas as tidy and clean as possible on an ongoing basis, these are part of our our own living area and thus not always at the same standard as the guest room. The same applies to the room containing the washing machine, toilet and wash basin in the basement.

- We are currently in the process of selling the house. There is a possibility that we may be moving out as early as late August. The process can be slow (and may in reality taken months), but there is a small but finite possibility we may move out as early as August 15. Therefore, if you book the room on or after August 15, you need to be aware that there is a chance that the room will not be available. If you book for after August 15 I will keep you up to date of any developments so that you can make an informed decision as early as possible.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - The kitchen is up two flights of stairs, and guest area is on the top floor which is up three flights of stairs. Laundry down half a flight of stairs.
Potential for noise - We are in central London, which never completely sleeps! There is sometimes noise both from the street or from nearby residents having parties.
No parking on property
Some spaces are shared - Kitchen and dining room, and also the washing machine, are shared with the homeowners (and sometimes other guests).

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

24 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Andrew User Profile
July 2017
This is an excellent location in London, both for arrival/departure from St Pancras Intl, Heathrow or King's Cross, and not bad from Puddington, Victoria or London City. You can get most places in London quickly by tube (Victoria, Piccadilly and Northern lines 100 ft away) or cab. Good coffee and food, 24 hour groceries, all manner of shops very close on. Owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful, and provides coffee, fridge, access to kitchen and washing machine. Shower/toilet is a bit quaint but great water pressure and hot water. Room is comfortable, clean and private. In a heat wave it might be a bit warm but there is cross-ventilation. Price is right. Overall a great find.

Katherine User Profile
July 2017
This is an excellent value -- I don't think you can do better in such a location. It's a comfortable space to sleep close to King's Cross, with the most gracious and accessible host. It was quite hot in London when we visited, and Philip immediately helped me fix the fan late at night when it had a problem. He was exceptionally available and never intrusive, which is a very difficult balance to strike as a host, I'm sure. He was friendly, helpful, and made us feel at ease. He was patient and accommodating when my arrival was delayed, helped me print my boarding pass, and even let us leave our bags on the day we checked out, as we had an evening flight. A great place to escape to after a long day running around London -- even a little fridge, kettle, etc. if you need one. Perfect for our weekend away!

Gim User Profile
July 2017
Philip was excellent on communication, making sure we were well informed of the ins and outs of our stay. Philip was also extremely accommodating during our stay. He made extra effort to ensure we were well settled into the place and accorded us the privacy we desired. Highly recommended place and host.

Bryan User Profile
June 2017
This was ideal for my short stay-over. The house was very close to the station and was clean and comfortable, and was completely as advertised. Philip was a helpful host and was there waiting to let me in when I arrived. I highly recommend his place.

Manfred User Profile
June 2017
Phillip was very kind to us during our stay. He is very accommodating and made the check in rather smooth. His hospitality made us feel just like home. The location of the house is very accessible as the nearest tube station is just a mere 5minutes walk away. We had a great stay at phillip's house and we would recommend it to anyone who is visiting London!

David User Profile
June 2017
Second time of using this accommodation and it was up to full standard once again. Fantastic for transport and local shops.

Aria User Profile
June 2017
Philip is soooooo nice! We got late for about 40 minutes since the train delayed, he still waited for us without any complain. He even provided us a fun! We are very very grateful in this amazing hot summer.. And the room is very clean and cozy, everything is convenient. Thanks Philip a lot.

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

London, United KingdomJoined in April 2017
Philip User ProfilePhilip is a superhost.

I'm a 52 year old married guy who runs a video production company. My wife, who lives with me at the house where we have the room, is a translator and author.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Philip’s place.
Philip
Josephine helps host.
Josephine
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings