Airy, comfortable room in charming terrace
Airy, comfortable room in charming terrace
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Charming old terrace house in Fitzroy occupied by queer chick with a weakness for hot chips and badass combat boots. My office is based in the front room; the rest of the house is open to guests.

I am queer-, poly- and kink-friendly. Let me know your pronouns when you book. My place is intended as a comfortable space where you don't have to present a straight or vanilla version of yourself for fear of what your host might say.

The space

Did I mention that this house is old, and has the quirks (features!) typical of old houses?

The bedrooms and bathroom are located on the second floor, which is accessed by a steep and narrow staircase. If mobility issues are a concern (or you're in the habit of traveling with serious luggage), this may not be a suitable listing for your needs.

The neighborhood is lively, particularly on weekends, and the soundproofing in the house is less than robust. You won't be trying to fall asleep with a live band by your ear... but it's not the right listing if you're after a silent retreat!

The bedroom in this listing has a queen bed, which sleeps two comfortably and faces south. I have another listing with a double bed if you'd prefer something smaller, or a northern aspect.

Guest access

You have use of the entire house with the exception of the front room, which is my office, and the other bedroom (unless you book both rooms, of course.) I don't mind if you rearrange the furniture so long as you put it back more or less where it was before you leave. Note that I will not leave you a nice review if the dining table ends up in the bathroom and I have to put it back by myself.

Interaction with guests

I spend time on-site (in my office) and in the neighborhood, but we won't be sharing living space. I'm available if any problems arise, and I'm happy to make recommendations if you're looking for activities or restaurants, but otherwise I'll leave you to your own devices.

Other things to note

The kitchen pantry contains the basics: coffee, tea, salt, sugar, cooking oil. There is a kettle and a Nespresso machine.


Amenities
Heating
Dryer
Laptop friendly workspace
Essentials

Prices
Extra people £31 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £6
Security Deposit £122
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

- No illegal activity
- No food in the bedrooms (avoiding a repeat of the Ant Infestation of '15)
- The bathtub has a plumbing flaw and is nonoperational. Please don't try to use it. (The shower works perfectly!)
- Please be mindful of your energy consumption and leave lights and heaters off if you are not home.
- If you have visitors over, please be respectful of the house and anyone else staying there. Your visitors must abide by the House Rules too.


Cancellations

Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Hannes User Profile
August 2017
I stayed at Claire's place for about three months, and it was fantastic. The location is one of the best you can get in Melbourne - if you like street art, bars, live music and food. Highlights include the Bimbo Deluxe ($4 pizza and cool bar), The Evelyn and Labour in Vain (live music) and Lune Croissanterie (NY Times says they make the best croissants in the world). Coles Supermarket is super close, and so are uncountable cafes and clothing stores/outlets (check Johnston St and Smith St in Collingwood). In terms of the house, you get all the amenities you might need, and everything is in a very good shape. Claire is helping whenever you have a question or any kind of concern, and she even organizes a cleaner who would get the common areas shiny on a regular basis. In summery, I really enjoyed my stay and I can recommend staying at Claire's place. Especially for short term students/interns at Uni Melb, RMIT or Monash Uni, this is the place to be :)

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Victoria, AustraliaJoined in November 2011
Claire User Profile

I'm Claire. If you're seeing reviews that refer to me by another name, it's because I came late to my epiphany that I do not have to stick with the name my parents gave me if I hate it!

I'm not on Fakebook, so you'll have to take my word for it that I'm a real person and not a bot sent from the future to kill the last hope of mankind.

I like hot chips and strong tea, good books and trashy crime procedurals. I'm queer, and while I'm not active in those circles, I identify as kink- and poly-friendly. I'm pretty damn unflappable, and I am actively working on being nonjudgmental, though I find that Crocs (outside of kitchens and hospitals) and Ugg boots (outside of the house) might be a bit of a hopeless sticking point.

As a guest, I'm a bit of a ghost - I leave the house early and return late. I am the world's worst tourist: all I want is to find the kind of cafe or restaurant or bar where the locals hang out, (pretend to) read the local paper, and then take a bus or a tram or a train and get hopelessly lost for a bit.

As a host, I am glad to welcome people to the heart of Hipsterville, aka Fitzroy, Melbourne. Come and discover a million cafes with complicated coffee, serious vegetarian cuisine, the handicrafts of the Rose Street Market, and my favorite watering hole: a half-hidden absinthe salon!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings